We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow Victorian B&B-perfect Village Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Headlands Inn is a gem a very relaxing and quiet spot. A special period home, decorated with lovely antiques, wonderful featherbeds and special touches. Afternoon tea and Mitch's fresh baked cookies are served in the 2nd floor parlor and plenty of games, books ,magazines etc available for your pleasure. The Inn is just on the edge of the Mendocino Village. You can walk everywhere with ease. We stayed in the Bessie Strauss 2nd floor room with the bay window. A dreamy kingsize feather bed with a zillion pillows, a wonderful fireplace, great sitting area and the special baywindow to view the ocean. Each morning a fabulous breakfast is delivered to your door. I am used to B&B's having a dining room for guests so was not sure how this would compare. What a treat! You dont have to be dressed for breakfast --on your breakfast tray is a fabulous gourmet delight. Coffee, tea, juice, muffins or mini bread loaves, a fruit course, unique hot dish, linens, fresh flowers etc. The food is delicious and the presentation is exquisite. Each day a different surprise. Denise and Mitch are special hosts! Its a hard place to leave, everything was so special.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank luv2travelwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We had a great time here with friends we were with on a trip to the coast. I would recommend the second and third floor rooms that have a view of the coast. However, all rooms are nice and include breakfast brought to your room! Jenny was a great host and gave us great tips for our interests.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luke_in_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Headlands Inn in Mendocino, California is a welcoming, comfortable, gracious place to stay. It offers a most accommodating staff, beautifully decorated rooms, half with ocean views, bountiful breakfasts, each with a different variation on egg dishes plus fruit and very good coffee, and afternoon tea, homemade cookies and sherry. And the best part, everything in the town is within walking distance. I highly recommend a reservation if you wish to take advantage of this special hostelry.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 1983, and this was our first time back to Mendocino since. We thought it would be fun to stay in the same place, and after reading the reviews on TA, I happily booked us. I got a great off-season deal (three nights for the price of two), but the prices are pretty competitive all the time.

Best things, in order:
(1) The breakfasts are AMAZING. Delicious & beautifully presented. Imagine having breakfast in the fanciest hotel restaurant you can think of. Now imagine it sitting at your own little table at a bay window looking out over the ocean. That's our experience.

(2) The location is perfect. You don't even need to move your car.

(3) The service and hospitality are topnotch, everything you would want and then some. Besides the breakfast, there's tea, cookies, nuts, and such in the afternoon (homebaked cookies!), sherry in the parlor, cold drinks in a common fridge, etc. All the thoughtful little touches. In our room we had a nice fire laid everyday, a mini-fridge, and excellent WiFi (no TV, though).

A couple of notes: You can ask for coffee to brought a bit earlier if you can't wait until 9:00 when breakfast is come. They deliver a coffee service along with the SF Chronicle. If even that's not enough, there's an excellent coffee bar that opens at 6 a.m. a short block away.

If waiting for breakfast is a problem for you, just bring along a few granola bars or get some yogurt to put in the fridge. But don't eat too much because the breakfast is absolutely worth the wait.

We were in the Bessie Strauss room, and we agree with others that the sloping bed took some getting used to. We managed, but I think they will remove the feather bed mattress cover on request if you're fussy about the bed.

This is really a wonderful place, and all the other rave reviews in TA were spot-on.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leftydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We celebrated our 20th Anniversary by staying in the Switzer Room at the Headlands Inn. It is worth the walk to the third floor for the 2 window seats and great views plus a king size bed that is like a cloud. Denise and Mitch always make sure we have a wonderful time with great breakfasts and amenities. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed one night in the Wilson room, and are longing to go back!

We were greeted by a talkative and charming hostess upon our arrival Saturday afternoon, and to my delight the house was decorated with a few frogs (I am an avid collector). It only went uphill from there. We had a deal which included a complimentary bottle of wine, which we enjoyed by the fireplace in our room. There were also a lot of other complimentary goodies, including afternoon tea and cookies (4-7 pm) sherry (all night long) and breakfast (served to your room around nine). The wifi was also complimentary, but didn't work very well. Cell phone reception is also a hit-or-miss here, but this wasn't a big problem for us.

I really felt at home during our entire stay, the Inn was so cozy, comfortable and relaxed.
This was our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast, but with our experiences there, it was not the last.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ymseduria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We just got back from a two night stay and had a marvelous time. Mitch and Denise just knocked themselves out - the place is so clean, cozy, friendly and well-run. They are excellent cooks and really top-notch hosts. We were on the first floor next to the kitchen, and I would periodically wander in and visit with them while they were baking cookies or whatever. Super friendly people. I'm glad they served breakfast after 9:00 because we woke up at about 9 each morning! And the breakfast carried us straight through to dinner. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in Mendocino.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are a little more noisy due to people walking overhead. The P. Stoefel room h...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank M_traveler483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.2 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
629 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
155 reviews
3.9 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10453 Howard Street, PO Box 132, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $192 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Headlands Inn is a distinctive Bed and Breakfast in the heart of picturesque, coastal Mendocino village. Casual elegance awaits you at this historic New England-style Victorian saltbox, where personalized service, charming accommodations, and tantalizing breakfasts ensure a perfect getaway! Ideally located, the Inn is only a short stroll to Mendocino's wonderful shops, galleries, restaurants, and the mighty Pacific Ocean. Come to relax, to reconnect, to celebrate -- Come and fall in love with Mendocino, and the Headlands Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headlands Inn Bed And Breakfast
Headlands Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing