We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“such a pretty place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agate Cove Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
374 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“such a pretty place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

we had chosen a less than perfect time to travel - Christmas week, but we love Mendocino and wanted to spend a night there on our way south. The weather was terrible; foggy and rain blowing sideways. After checking several places with vacancies (not many) that would accept our standard poodle, we settled on the Agate Cove. It is everything the ads state. There is a view of the sea (a bit obscured by the weather on our visit), the private cottage is cozy and comfortable, the breakfast excellent, the grounds beautiful. The owners are charming and hospitable. The only negative I could give this pretty place is that the housekeeping could have been a little more thorough for the price. Because we had our dog, we had to dive under the bed to retrieve her ball and saw dust that really shouldn't have been there for the price of the room. It was a very busy time, and I believe that this place has high standards so the housekeeping lapse was probably an anomaly. We will certainly come back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    52
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
36
311
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first getaway weekend in three years, in mid-November. The inn's location is awesome. Just gorgeous. We woke up every day with a beautiful view from our bedroom window. I did not look inside any of the other rooms, but I did walk around the property and it looked to me like our spot, Sunstone, was the best for the view. The breakfast was very delicious, and plentiful. Our view from breakfast was just out of this world. The innkeeper was very nice and helpful.

I think if you are picky you might be disappointed with a few things. Mendocino is very small and there is not much to do. There is an excellent grocery story with a wonderful selection of wines and cheeses and other things. We were just happy to be away from kids so it didn't take much to make us happy! The restaurants were okay. We ate at Ukiah 955 and Mendocino Cafe. The meal was good but way overpriced at Ukiah. The room we stayed in could use some new carpet and a proper shower curtain, as water was everywhere. Other than that we loved the complimentary brandy and the fire. It was cold and rainy for much of our time there but we still had a nice time.

The best part was walking out right to the edge of the cliffs over the raging sea. This was absolutely fantastic and would be enough to make me go back. I do recommend this inn, as long as you are not expecting perfect luxury. Even though it's right on the road you still feel like you are right at the water/cliff edge and there is really no road noise at all.

I'm sure we will be back one day!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MendocinoLaraine, Owner at Agate Cove Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our inn.
We ordered new carpeting for the Sunstone and Garnet cottages in December.. We just had to wait until January 2012 to have it installed because the rooms have been reserved so heavily during the holidays.
Sunstone is one of my favorite rooms. It just keeps getting better all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

A breath of fresh air after the pace of our metro Detroit home. The room was more lovely than we could have hoped and the views utterly breathtaking. The delightful hosts were the icing on the cake, with marvelous breakfasts and a welcome that made us feel instantly at home. Can't wait to be able to return for another trip!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The title says it all: "Perfect site with Perfect Innkeepers." Roger and Loraine should be cloned. They treated us as if we were their HOUSE guests, not PAYING guests. Everyone was welcomed to a spectacular breakfast (with binoculars at the table) beside that jaw-dropping view of the waves crashing into the cliffs. And, that's after sleeping like a baby in a stylishly-appointed room with a great mattress. What more could one want in a B&B? Nothing. Nothing at all. It was, the perfect site with the perfect innkeepers!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WingingHereToThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Great location wonderful room with view of ocean. I was able to take a soak in the bathtub while enjoying the view. Easy walk to town and headlands. Breakfasts were very good and the hosts most welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcbicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The property, lovely managed by the owners, provided an unforgettable experience.
It is the best ocean front view hotel on the Mendocino Coast.
I recommend the Moonstoone or Zircon single cottage, although overpriced, which have water ocean views, spacious bathroom, deck, fireplace, refrigerator and microwave.
The gorgeous homemade breakfast is served seating with an amazing ocean front view. Every day the breakfast changes and consists of an appetizer and a cooked-to-order entrée, accompanied by tea and coffee.
Unlikely they don’t provide dinner. The lodge is outside the town of Mendocino and main restaurants. You can easily walk there in 20 min but there are no sidewalks and it's a narrow road into town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY/LA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Agate Cove served as our home base on our first trip to Mendocino. It was a really special property with lovely rooms and cottages and a breathtaking view of the crashing waves among the ocean cliffs. It's 2 minutes outside of the town of Mendocino - could be easily walkable but there are no sidewalks and it's a narrow road into town.
Overall we had a great experience there and highly recommend it and Mendocino!

If you go to Mendocino - check out the Casper Inn - it a great little rock club with live music occassionally.

Room Tip: I think just about any room is great - we had the Diamond room - no ocean view but really nice whirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
1.2 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.6 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sea Rock Inn
Sea Rock Inn
#2 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.1 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.5 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agate Cove Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agate Cove Inn Hotel

Property: Agate Cove Inn Hotel
Address: 11201 Lansing Street, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Agate Cove Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agate Cove Inn provides a luxurious and private oceanfront getaway coupled with spectacular views of the Pacific. Perched on a bluff above the coast, Agate Cove Inn delivers a breathtaking view of the sea and rugged headlands. Our Farmhouse and cottages are set on two acres of beautiful coastal gardens, and 100-year-old cypress trees frame the property. Whether you're here on business or a family vacation, Agate Cove has a relaxing environment you'll love. Wake up each morning and enjoy a beautifully prepared breakfast along with fresh brewed coffee, an assortment of fine teas, hot chocolate, and juice! Indulge in our variety of extra features, from our homemade baked goods to our spa services, free movies and popcorn or simply watch the sun set in our outdoor hot tub. Check out our special offers such as the Mendocino Romantic Getaway Package and the Mendocino Wine and Dine Package, an entire day experience with luxury transportation and gourmet meals. We are located close to a whole host of activities like golf and tennis, fishing excursions, kayak tours, along with regular festivals happening all through the year. Take advantage of our concierge service for planning your activities. An innkeeper is on site 12 hours a day. We'll be happy to discuss routes for getting to Mendocino, area attractions, and restaurants. We also make reservations at restaurants, the Skunk Train, horseback riding, whale watching, wine tours, and many other local activities. For the finest oceanfront lodging experience in Northern California, be sure to stay at Agate Cove Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agate Cove Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing