We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Last time we stayed at the Sea Gull Inn was wonderful, and this time it was even better! We had 3 relaxing days at the Inn to celebrate our anniversary, and our stay was perfect in every way. Jim and Ayla, the owners, were kind, thoughtful, helpful, and extremely friendly, as always. Their beautiful breakfasts are consistently tasty, and lovingly presented. It’s definitely a treat to stay at the charming Sea Gull Inn. Highly recommended! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was our second stay at the B&B and we love it! It is a great historic house with each room having its own special character! We love the Sand Dollar room with views of the ocean (no tv, but it wasn't missed!!) It was a great place to welcome in the New Year of 2012!
The gardens are beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious, and Ayla and Jim were so welcoming! We can't wait for our next trip there- we will,without a doubt, stay at the Sea Gull Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We felt this B&B was overrated in TripAdvisor. Walls very thin; some rooms tiny. If you are expecting a TV, be sure to request a room that includes one (ours didn't). Our window shade didn't work so we had to safety-pin a blanket over the window in order to have any privacy from nearby neighbors. When I mentioned it upon checkout, the response seemed apathetic. Breakfast service begins at 8:30 (late, we thought) and is brought to the room. We were disappointed at the quality of the meal. On a positive note, the bed was quite comfortable and the inn is conveniently located right in town, with ample on-street parking in front. We will try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boatyard_Langley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is our third time here at the Sea Gull Inn. Have enjoyed it each and every time. Thank you Jim and Ayla for wonderful service, delightful and delicious breakfast, clean room, and overall great thoughtfulness. If we had any problems they were more than helpful to solve it. Looking forward to our next visit, hopefully this next year. We were over there for my husbands birthday. Best coffee in town is at the Sea Gull Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesLovsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is our third time to Sea Gull Inn in Mendocino. We love staying there. Excellent value, wonderful breakfast, very good service, and kind and caring innkeepers. Who could ask for more. If we had any problems Jim and Ayla were right there to accomdate us! Thank you Jim and Ayla for another wonderful time. We were there for my husbands birthday. Hope to be back again next year! : )

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesLovsU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We spent the first night of our California honeymoon at Sea Gull Inn in The Shed. The room was very cute, if a bit small, and we appreciated the "stand-alone" nature of it (no shared walls or people walking around above us). We found the bed to be comfortable and were not bothered much by noises from the restaurant next door. We were given fair warning upon check-in that some noise could be expected. We stayed earlier in the week from someone who mentioned the smell of skunk in their review. We did not smell skunk, but I did wake up in the middle of the night to what sounded like a small animal scuffling around in the bathroom -- there was nothing there so it must have been outside, maybe the skunk that was hanging around. We were up early the next morning and walked down to Big River Beach and the views were just amazing. We came back for a delicious breakfast and did some more hiking around the trails near the water afterwards. We would have loved to spend more time in Mendocino, and would definitely stay at Sea Gull Inn again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband and I enjoyed the Mendocino area for the first time at the end of October 2011, and we will definitely be back. The drive was awful (from the San Francisco Bay Area), but it was soon forgotten after our arrival. Since we were late, we didn't meet the innkeeper until the next morning (she was quite gracious when we did meet her), but she left us advice about where to eat dinner and it was merely a walk next door. We had a great meal at the Mendocino Cafe!

Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I don't always sleep well when I'm away from home but I had no problem with the comfort of the king size bed we had! It was a bit too perfumy for us, but we kept the windows cracked open when we were in the room, and even opened the door for a while to air it out. It's an older place, and the floor isn't level, but that's how old buildings are sometimes and I wasn't bothered by that. The bathroom is very small, and the shower is tiny, and I was surprised there was no blind for the window (I could see up to another place's window on their 2nd floor, so I'm assuming they could look down and see me if I wasn't careful!). They don't list amenities so I will report here that they DO provide a hair dryer.

Do take time to walk around the building; the flowers are beautiful!

I read a review where someone complained about no TV. Who NEEDS one?! We went there to escape noise and having no TV was just fine by us!

The breakfasts were lovely. Hearty proportions ... more than I could finish, really! Breakfasts are brought to your room, so it doesn't have the feel of a typical B&B, and there's no indoor sitting area where people congregate, nor is there the early evening wine or tea serving that I'm used to, but perhaps that's not typical in the town of Mendocino (?).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
0.3 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
630 reviews
0.1 km away
Blue Door Inn
Blue Door Inn
#9 of 25 in Mendocino
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,175 reviews
1.3 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 44960 Albion Street, PO Box 317, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: $142 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mendocino CA and Sea Gull Inn, one of the original B&B Inns on the scenic Northern California Coast. The house was built in 1878. A giant Holly tree shades the front porch. The private garden has several secluded sitting areas. Meticulously maintained, the inn and its grounds are very much a part of Mendocino's charm. All bed and breakfast lodging guest rooms have private baths and some have views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing