We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price that cant be beat... try to get room 114.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Riviera
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Phoenix, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and price that cant be beat... try to get room 114.”
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This was my 3rd trip to Palo Alto and longest stay of the three. Prices vary in almost every hotel by day and time of year. My previous two trips, I've moved between the Best Western Riviera and the Westin (Palo Alto) to get the best stay for the money but in this case I spent all 6 nights at the BW Riviera. Of the 5 different rooms I've stayed in over 2008-2010, Room 114 was by far the best of the lot for the following reason... the street traffic noise along with the BART can be easily heard from every room except this one... Its tucked away in the corner and is blocked by the northern most block of rooms as well as the main lobby bldg. I'm not sure but I'd think the room directly above this may be slightly louder cause it sits higher than the lobby bldg but is probably a good second choice.

Rm 114 has a comfortable queen bed, a couch/chaise and matching chair along with an office desk & chair. Cable and Wireless internet worked just fine. It has a fabulous bathroom (travertine floors and PERFECTLY CLEAN tiles), and new clean carpet (as of this writing). IF it had a flat screen TV, I'd put in on scale of a much higher end hotel. I've posted pics if your a skeptic.

Now for the (few and minor) complaints of this room... Digital alarm clock was broken, dorm fridge fan was noisy, and in all rooms, there's a 1 inch gap at the bottom of the entry door. Either unplug the fridge or do what i did and place a bar of soap under the front of it... that quieted it down (and its probably still there :-) I also covered the door gap with a towel and threw two pillows over it to help reduce the noise as much as possible. Frankly, I would've enjoyed staying another week if I could. Good luck on getting this room!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WileEToyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thak you so much for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback and strive to improve based on what our customers tell us. Please note we will be looking into the issue with the alarm clock and noisy refridgerator. Thanks again for your comments!

Best Regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    61
    31
    10
    12
See reviews for
50
15
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma WA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

This is my first time staying in Palo Alto so I didn't know what value hotels were in the area. I went straight to Best Western's website, as I was confident that if a BW hotel was avaliable in the area, it would be very good. I wasn't disappointed! The Riviera is a great value for this high-end part of the Penninsula. Next door is the Stanford Shopping Center, restaurants are within a block, and it is central to our needs. The Riviera itself is absolutely lovely. It has a bistro look with a small patio table and chairs in front of each room, ivy climbing the walls, and charming wrought iron railing all around. The rooms are what I've come to expect of BW - clean, spacious, and well appointed for its price range. Well worth the stay! Oh, there's a pool, small gym, substantial continental breakfast, PC, and wireless!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW_Riviera, Manager at Best Western Plus Riviera, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. We here at the Best Western Riviera are glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We thrive on feedback and are glad to know we've met the standards you've come to expect from Best Western. We hope to see you again if you're ever back in the area!

Best regards,

Beto Flores
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were in Palo Alto to visit family & decided to go with a less pricey hotel since we wouldn't be there that much & we figured we could spend the money we saved on the grands. We have always had reasonably good experiences at Best Westerns & so chose this hotel (also closest to family.) One absolute must for us was wireless internet (preferably free.) This hotel advertised free WIFI but we couldn't get it to work, it seemed not to be turned on. So partner went to the front desk & was told they would send someone to look at it. When no one had come 36 hours later, he called the 800 number for the provider on the equipment & was told that they had not yet been connected - maybe in another 3 weeks. So their claim of Wifi was a flat out lie. They have a free continental breakfast from 6:30 to 9:00 but the food tended to run out about a half hour early. It appears that they have set a limit on how much food they want to provide &, when that limit is reached, no more food. Housekeeping ignored our do not disturb sign & tried to enter our room while we were dressing (the "deadbolt" lock didn't work - we were reduced to putting a chair under the door knob to ensure our privacy.) When they did clean, it was very cursory - fresh towels & maybe cleaning the bathroom & "making" the beds (ie throwing the top sheet & blankets up over the bottom sheet - not even smoothing them out) - no vacuuming & only occasional emptying of waste baskets. The sheets were not fitted, did not stay in place very well & had small holes in them. We generally showered toward the end of the time when the business travelers were showering & on 3 occasions we had to wait over ½ hour for hot water (really ice cold). One evening, we had the grands spend the night with us & one wanted to shower before bed - there was no hot water at 8:00 at night! We had asked 2 days in advance if it was OK to have the grands stay & if we could get a cot. We were assured that it would not be a problem & that the cot would be placed in our room when they cleaned it. Nothing further was said & 2 days later, when we returned with the children, NO COT! When we asked about it, we were told it wouldn't fit! No explanation for why they didn't know that when we had originally asked (& provided our room #) or why thay hadn't said anything in the meantime. Fortunately the children are small & could sleep in our beds with us. The parking is located under the building with one very steep ramp leading to El Camino Real (a very busy street). There is a bush located (on hotel property) at the top of the ramp - making it almost impossible to see the stream of traffic you are about to enter. The elevator from the parking area to the rooms is very tiny & smelled very strongly of mildew - the inspection certificate had expired on 02/05/08. The info about the hotel in the binder in the room indicated 2 free bottles of water but that happened only on 2 of the 9 days we spent there. The fruit in the lobby was sporadic also. The hot tub was not working. The room itself was OK & the water pressure in the shower was good (not always the case even in fairly expensive hotels) but the heating/cooling unit was under the sinks - right next to the bathroom which meant that often one walked into a blast of icy air as upon leaving the shower. Not enough to make up for all the shortfalls. Positives were a good location (right across from Stanford Mall) & the washers were only $.75 & the dryers were free.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma_dst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menlo Park hotels

Redding, Cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Stayed there for three nights while going to Stanford Hospital, not too bad.. told them that I would be coming back to hospital in two weeks and they said that we could have the same rate. When I returned they raised the rate $20.00 a nite. I reminded them of our conversation and that I would be returning every other week for two months. They did not care a bit and told me not to use the internet as the prices change dailey,,what? I went down the street to the Creek Side and got a better place for less. Won't stay at Best Western Riviera again. Don't count on getting the posted price.

Helpful?
Thank olfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

In an area bereft of sanely-priced lodgings the BW Riviera may be the best choice in a limited lineup. Absent nearby Hampton Inns or Marriott Courtyards, this may be the best place --albeit an overpriced one-- to spend a couple of nights. The adequately refurbished rooms can't hide their 60s-70s vintage. Self-serve breakfast right off the reception desk is the usual for this level of hostelry --wannabe bagels, hard-boiled eggs, fruit juice, yogurt, cereal, etc. Internet connections, available in rooms, is fast and desk chairs are comfortable. All in all, OK but hardly worth more words.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kaibab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I stayed in this hotel for one night prior to a meeting at Stanford. Previous reviews had me a bit worried, but I found the hotel to be very comfortable. It was the best price I could find close to Stanford. Check-in was fast and efficient, even on a night when they were sold out.

It is like an "upscale motor lodge". Rooms open to the outside. My room (standard 1 King) was clean and on par with most business hotels I have stayed at. Rooms have a small microwave, fridge and sink. The bathroom had clean tile and appeared to have been remodeled within the last couple of years. Two complimentary bottles of water were provided.

The room and linens were very clean. It was quiet and I had no problems with noise.

The pool is pretty small, you won't be swimming laps but it is good to cool off after a long day. Kids would probably find it adequate to splash around in.

The breakfast spread is continental, as advertised. Donuts, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee, plus some pre-packaged items you can heat up, like breakfast burritos.

Internet access worked perfectly. I had dinner at the Stanford Shopping Center (one block away) and the next day went back to the shopping center and caught the free Stanford Shuttle to get to my meeting on campus (visitor parking on campus requires you to feed quarters into meters--ride the shuttle). The shuttle picks up on the opposite side of the shopping center, so it's a 2-3 block walk.

In all, a pleasant stay. It's not a five star hotel, but my experience here was great; no complaints.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable, easy walk to shopping center
  • Disliked — Room was a bit pricey, but still the best rate I could find near Stanford over my dates.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ed2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Faciltiy is nice; staff smiles ... But, during my entire stay (3 nights) had no internet access ... at the heart of Silicon Valley!

Within 15 min of my arrival, I told the front desk I had no internet access (LAN cable) in the room. Eventually, they had me talk to their provider (conclusion "probably the wall jack"). Meanwhile another guest also found he had no internet access. The next morning, the front desk told me they would have their provider come out and get everything working. In the evening, the evening staff knew not hing of the problem, nor anything having been fixed and it wasn't. Same drill the next day. On the day I left, there was still no internet access (the staff was aware of 6 rooms without internet access).

My point is not that something didn't work (stuff happens). But, after 4 days, there was (still) no acknowledgement of the continuing problem ("Try it. see if it works now"). Meanwhile, the front desk had internet access the whole time, but never offered to string a cable or something. It was as if they didn't care. Bottomline: If you need to do work using the Internet, don't stay here.

  • Liked — The facility
  • Disliked — Internet access (there was none)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NoInternetAccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menlo Park
0.0 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Menlo Park
894 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Lucent
Hotel Lucent
#3 of 10 in Menlo Park
141 reviews
4.6 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Epiphany, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 km away
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
Sheraton Palo Alto Hotel
#15 of 27 in Palo Alto
748 reviews
1.6 km away
Menlo Park Inn
Menlo Park Inn
#4 of 10 in Menlo Park
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Riviera

Property: Best Western Plus Riviera
Address: 15 El Camino Real, Menlo Park, CA 94025-5232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Menlo Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Menlo Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Riviera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Riviera Hotel Menlo Park
Best Western Menlo Park
Menlo Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing