We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet relaxation - like staying with old friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Driveway Entrance Driveway approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Driveway Entrance
Driveway approach
Welcome Bear
Guest apartment entrance from parking
Entrance balcony
View from Patio
Covered Patio off of entrance balcony
Barbecue Area
Covered Patio & Guest Apartment
Garden Patio
Garden Patio
Second Sleeping Area
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Cooking Area
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
TV-Video Center
Bathroom with Shower
Floor Plan
16' Above Ground Pool
Pool Area
Aerial view of pool and patio areas.
View from the Pool Area
Yosemite Juniper Crest Sunset
Spring in the Front Meadow
Poppy Path to the Cabana
Summer bloom in the front planter
Winter in our backyard
December Snow 2013
Front Yard View Winter 2013
April Poppies on the Merced River
Yogi Coyote
Backyard Visitor
Hosts/Owners Rickey & Gary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Midpines, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MamaMays
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxation - like staying with old friends”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband, 19 year old son, and I stayed at JuniperCrest for 4 nights, while visiting Yosemite. We had a wonderful time. Gary and Ricky are phenomenal hosts. They've lived in Midpines for 17 years and have a wealth of knowledge to impart about the park and local area. We thought they were great and felt like we had known them for years. I even choked up when it was time to leave. They are that special.
The unit itself is an extension of their home. You have your own private entrance which leads directing into the kitchen/ sleeping eating area. In this area, there is a bunk bed, which was long enough to handle my 6'3" son, and another single, which we used as a couch. The kitchen is small, but had a full sized refrigerator, apartment stove/oven, microwave, sink, coffee maker and all the cookware/dishes you will need.
The second room was very large and housed a full sized dresser and a queen sized bed, which was comfortable. A large walk in closet and a nice bright bathroom completed the space. You have use of their above ground pool, their grill, which we took advantage of two nights and the rest of their outdoor living space. The grounds are part of a hillside and the owners have made use of ground steps to make the most of their property. I would not consider this rental a good fit for the mobility challenged.
JuniperCrest is about 45 minutes from the park entrance. The ride along the Merced River is beautiful, and we did not have an issue with long lines to get in, however, we did leave each day by 7 am and were out of the park by 3 pm. It gets really crowded there as the day progresses. If you are planning long exhausting days, you might want to take that 45 minute drive home into consideration. We found JuniperCrest to be a great jumping off point to Yosemite. We did the valley floor and falls on day one; Glacier Point and Mariposa on day two and Olmstead Point/Tenaya Lake on day three. We packed a lot into three days, and were very happy to have a nice quiet refuge to come home to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gary & Ricky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: prefer king size bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marseille, France
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EllieJHam...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place!”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and our 8 and 10 year old boys stayed here for 4 days. It was perfect for us! Super clean, wonderful hosts, close to the park, great kitchen. We hiked Yosemite during the day and relaxed here in the evenings. Gary and Rickey are wonderful and have created a cozy place for guests! We'd definitely come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally9811
Fountain Valley, California
1 review
“Perfect for a couple & family with children”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We chose this rental after reading the reviews and understood the reason why its rating were perfect. We spent a great time at Juniper from Nov 23 to 26. Our sons (11 &8) were very happy to play at the huge beautiful yard. We could be relaxed in VERY CLEAN and ORGANZED room, did not see any stain or dust. We enjoyed watching DVDs at night. The owner Gary and Richey are wonderful hosts. They were very friendly, gentle and kind. My husband broke a coffee pot when he is cleaning. So we told Gary about it and charge for it but he didn’t. Also, when we leave there, our children received a nice gift from them. Thank you so much! We felt that we stayed at our grandparents house . The location is very convenient to Yosemite, grocery and restaurant etc. Yosemite Juniper Crest Vacation Apartment is the best place to stay for a couple and small family. We will be back in summer for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and organized room
Liked least: A small kitchen & dining room
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie17...
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem close to Yosemite - no kidding”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

If I had a place near the mountains it would look like JuniperCrest. Gary and Rickey were so helpful when we got there. They got us acquainted with the lovely apartment and above all gave us helpful hints, maps and directions in and around Yosemite. Ask Gary and he will be more than happy to share his secrets on some Yosemite trails. He even let us use the grill for our Thanksgiving BBQ! Wish we could rate this place six stars. We would also rate Rickey's pumpkin pie a 10/10. Will definitely return in the near future. Best wishes for the Thanksgiving great grand kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohwellikn...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Piece of Heaven near Yosemite National Park”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Unfortunately, due to our schedule, we got there by midnight and we really hope that wasn't an issue for Gary and Rickey. They kindly provided the outside lights for us so that we could find the parking lot easily. Gary and Rickey welcomed us warmly into their home. Gary showed us the apartment and all the essential things. The place provides more than you need: there were even snacks for our hikes and some pasta for a dinner. Rickey also helped us with the laundry which was offered for a reasonable fee. The place was so quite and so scenic: a cat here, a deer there. Though we had to drive more than an hour to the park itself or another spot to hike from, it was worth in the end, because we would return to this peaceful place and have our dinner and watch a nostalgic VHS. We would also like to mention that the email-communication was very friendly, efficient and super helpful. We would definitely be the guests of Gary and Rickey, shall we happen to visit Yosemite for another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing