We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Malabar Cuisine”
Review of Red Chillies

Red Chillies
Ranked #44 of 368 Restaurants in Milpitas
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

We had lunch and enjoyed Malabar Cuisine It was buffet and had good variety It was authentic Kerala food You can order online Do book table before hand to avoid waiting Paratha were specially great

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank sorabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2017

Indian restaurants are dime a dozen in the Bay area. However, Red Chillies is a cut above the rest. They specialize in South India cuisine with an emphasis on Kerala. You can find a bunch of stuff that are typically not found in other Indian restaurants such as cutlets and beef fry. The place can get crowded by 7.00 pm and that can increase your wait time for the food. The food was not too spicy and very flavorful. The breads were much nicer than the usual naans served in most other Indian restaurants. The prices were a bit lower than other Indian restaurants. We were 3 of us and we ordered a lot of food and boxed some, the total check was around $ 70.00 . I would stay away from the Biriyani ( if you have a high benchmark for biryani ) The parathas and kerala beef fry were excellent.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MohammadFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Restaurant with Kerala food. Everything was perfect, recipe not too spicy and really good. Kind waiter and beautiful experience!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dpizzuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Food was good especially chicken mappas and paratha but biriyani was a not that great. Overalls the food was good.. it's the only Kerala restaurant in this region so hop in wen u miss Kerala !!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank NBJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2017

You are Indian in the Bay Area and you are homesick. You must visit this place. One of the few best meals which I had during my trip was at this restaurant. A decent size non discrete place serves good wholesome meals. The seating is limited and of course the place is packed with South Indians (as it is south Indian cuisine) and of course a few locals who come to experiment. The service was quick, the food took time to come I guess it is made to order and not pre cooked which makes it all the more better. If you are more homesick they serve Indian Beers too (Kingfisher was sitting proudly on one of the tables). I had Appams, yes Appams in the heart of Bay area with Vegetable Stew and it was yumm. We tried a few more dishes but I cannot remember their names. In short I left totally satiated. Must Visit!!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeepakB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Chillies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing