We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked a room here for a friend and myself to spend the night when visiting another friend from Modesto. Our room was a nice size, the beds were comfortable, the TV worked fine, the bathroom was beautiful, and we really enjoyed breakfast. There was a pancake machine, and like little kids, we had to try it. The pancakes weren't great, but it was a fun novelty. I always enjoy the cinnamon rolls at HIE, the juice was good, and the eggs were delicious.
We asked for a room upstairs to avoid noise, and I'm glad we did. Our room overlooked the pool, but we heard no pool noise. We noticed there were 1st floor rooms that were right next to the pool, and I think those would be noisy. The pool and hot tub were great. They even have a lift to help guests with disabilities into the pool and hot tub.
There's a Boomers amusement area right across the street, with an arcade, mini golf, and other fun activities for young people. There are also several casual chain restaurants close by, so if you are looking for a place for a mini-vacation, this hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, preferably not by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESModesto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear dwheatl,

We are so glad you chose our hotel to have your “mini vacation” while you were visiting your friend. We are often complimented on the comfort of our beds and the contemporary design of our rooms, and loved hearing that you agree! Our rooms were custom designed for guest comfort, from the layout of the room, the cushiness of the desk chair to all the furnishings. Not to mention, our bathroom with all of its custom fixtures and special touches added to enhance the guest’s stay, it isn’t any wonder why we are the number 1 preferred hotel in Modesto.

I have to admit, the entire staff share in your child like wonderment with the pancake machine! It is really hard to resist, and we couldn’t wait to try it out when they came out. Overall, the breakfast experience here is a touch above the rest, offering that sweet cinnamon icing on the cake.

Having Boomers! right across the street is definitely a HUGE plus to any family vacation – plus you can always check with the front desk for any specials that might be running (and this isn’t just for younger guests either). The same goes for the local restaurants, and if you are feeling slightly adventurous, our front desk staff is always willing to help you find a local place to experience some of the amazing food Modesto has to offer.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to visit Modesto!

Sincerely,
Nikki Hoffman
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    57
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
72
53
24
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I have stayed at this motel often in the past and always have been pleased with the facility and the service. Conveniently located adjacent to HWY 99. The afternoon reception is a real treat.
The rooms are up to date and attractive. And their hospitality is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GritsIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESModesto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear GritsIowa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! It is nice hearing that you know you can trust that you will have an excellent experience every time you come to Modesto when you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Nikki Hoffman
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Check in was fast/friendly/informative. Room was on first floor and very clean, and appointed, as was the entire property. Bed was very comfortable and outfitted with thick threaded cotton sheets, along with comfortable pillows. Although property is located adjacent to Hwy 99/Sisk Rd/Bangs Ave, you could not hear it from our room or inside the hotel. However, being on the first floor facing the parking lot we did hear repeated car startups, stops, trunks, doors, etc. Next time I will try for an upstairs room.
Breakfast was pretty normal continental fare, prepared eggs with cheese, meats, toasts, cereals, muffins, bagels, coffee, tea, fruits and juices, in large quantities and it was pretty good too.
My only complaint was that when we checked in we were told breakfast was served from 6am-11am. We showed up at the breakfast area at 9:55am and the hostess was just closing the door advising us breakfast stops at 10am. She let us inside and have breakfast but had we been one minute later we would have been out of luck. I am sure it was a simple misstatement by the check in person but I would think they would know their breakfast operation hours.
Other than that I would highly recommend this place if you need a place in the Modesto area. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be had if you get one upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hook026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESModesto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Hook026,

Thank you for your thorough review of our property, it is great to not only hear the things you enjoyed, but the areas in which we can improve upon.

Our housekeeping and maintenance staff are very diligent and take great pride in keeping the entire property looking immaculate! In that same regard, our breakfast staff takes great care in making sure that a variety of amble breakfast items are available throughout breakfast.
I want to ensure you that we have undergone training with the front desk stressing the importance of providing accurate information at every check-in.

As far as the room request, please feel free to contact our front desk to make your reservation and you can request a higher floor at that time. We are always here to accommodate any need or request you might have and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Modesto!
Please, stop by the management office so that we might be able to thank you in person for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel!

Sincerely,
Nikki Hoffman
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

My immediate and extended family spent 3 days 2 nights at mentioned location for a funeral. I would like to say that the hospitality and special service extended to us was much appreciated and well beyond "normal" expectations. Of particular note Nikki Hoffman; Director of Sales, defined the best in Customer Service for our family in time of grieving. Her understanding and go the extra mile should not only be noted but given consideration of what it is all about on providing a stay experience that wouldmake her a valuable asset in managing all Holiday Express inn the same.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESModesto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Gina,

Thank you for your touching review, I am glad I was able to help your family in their time of grief. I appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you, on better terms, the next time you come to Modesto, or when I make it back to Sparks.

I wish you the very best for the remainder of 2012. Please let me know if there is every anything I can do for you or your family in the future.

Sincerely,
Nikki Hoffman
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Have to say Bonnie and Nikki were both just super nice and helpful to my family and I. They were so nice and geniune a very rare thing these days. I have stayed at a bunch of different hotels in my day for work. And this was great pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESModesto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Eric,

I am pleased to see that Bonnie and I, as well as the rest of our staff, were able to make your stay such a pleasurable one. Our entire staff genuinely cares about our guests and we all strive to make sure each guest, and the level of customer service they receive, meets the high standards we have set for ourselves.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!!

Sincerely,
Nikki Hoffman
Regional Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Nice room, comfy bed & good breakfast however 2 cars got broken into and items stolen. Park your car in front of hotel where it is most visible, not on the side of the hotel where there are no room windows. This happened the day after xmas! Hotel parking had big signs stating "hotel not responsible..." however we were informed that cars get broken into frequently. Be careful!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room. Freeway nearby. Not end room because stairwell doors seem to slam shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Overall, good hotel. Probably the top choice in the area. Nice, newer rooms. Descent free breakfast. One warning - Modesto is one of the highest cities in the nation for car theft. We stayed here three nights at Xmas. The morning after Xmas two cars had been broken into. They were parked on the east side of the hotel. Be sure to park close to the lobby. From talking to Modesto police, this happens a lot at area hotels. Don't leave anything visible and think where you park.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rpmotocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modesto
9.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
5.9 km away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
5.0 km away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
0.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Modesto-Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Address: 4300 Bangs Ave, Modesto, CA 95356-8707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Modesto
#1 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Exceptional New Hotel in Modesto, CA Nestled in the heart of central California, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Modesto-Salida welcomes you to our outstanding hotel in Modesto, CA. Here, amid the lush San Joaquin Valley, you will discover a warm and hospitable atmosphere. When you are looking for a terrific vacation hotel in Modesto, you will find that our hotel offers you an ideal location to serve as your home away from home. Big League Dreams, the Gallo Center for the Arts and Boomers! are all near by. Corporate guests will appreciate this location when they schedule meetings with nearby companies like Kaiser Permamente, E & J Gallo, Del Monte and the Almond Board of California. If you're flying, our Modesto hotel is close to the Modesto Airport (MOD), only ten miles away from our hotel. No matter what reason brings you to Modesto, this entirely smoke-free hotel will provide you a memorable stay. The beautiful rooms and contemporary style create a personal haven. You can start each day with the complimentary hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and other hot items. Other hotel amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a big outdoor pool with a spa for relaxing. So the next time you're in Modesto, Stay Smart with Holiday Inn Express Hotel of Modesto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Modesto-Salida
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida Hotel Modesto
Holiday Inn Express Modesto
Holiday Inn Modesto
Modesto Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing