We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not if you plan to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not if you plan to sleep”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had 2 rooms; somehow both faced the freeway. The noise was awful. We heard every truck and therefore didn't sleep much. Will never stay here again. Hotel personnel were very nice in general.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron_in_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear ron_in_dallas,
Thank you so much for your feedback and for staying with us. My apologies that you did not experience a good night’s sleep while staying with us. I only wish we had known about your complaint while you were still in the hotel. We offer a couple of sleep tight kits to the occasional guest that hears the freeway noise. This might have assisted you. I am glad you found our team to be friendly but I feel badly your were not completely satisfied with your stay. If you would like to email me I would like the opportunity to follow-up with you. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Janice M. Vande Steeg
General Manager
janice.vandesteeg@cymonrovia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    73
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
48
42
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel over two consecutive week-ends. Although we were not traveling on business, I couldn't help but notice the hotel was designed with the business traveler in mind, complete with newspaper, gym and pool, and restaurant on the premises. The room also suggested a business traveler. The desk area was large, and could easily accomodate a computer and papers. There was a couch in our room (which had one queen bed). The room itself was quite comfortable and well appointed, though not beyond expectation. The bath was gleaming, though a bit small. A slow-draining shower was corrected promptly when reported to the staff. The location, close to the 210, was convenient. Our windows overlooking the San Gabriel Mountains. The staff was eager to please. My only complaint was soundproofing, which was weak, and could be a problem. There were noises in the middle of the night that apparently came from upstairs.

Room Tip: north side for view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offandrunning4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and providing your feedback. I am so glad we met your expectations. We greatly appreciate your coments and suggestions and will be sure to implement what we can to improve your next stay and the stay for other future guests. We look forward to your next visit. If I can ever do anything to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Janice M. Vande Steeg
General Manager
janice.vandesteeg@cymonrovia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A standard adequate hotel. Clean rooms with large window which unfortunately do not open. No freeway noise, however we could very clearly hear the guy next door coughing, snoring and watching TV. There is a very small pool and a small gym, which was well-maintained with towels, water, and a fruit bowl. Central, practical location to the 210, plenty of restaurants and stores around for anything you need.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank via2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. I am new to the hotel so feedback such as this is very important in assisting me in identifying our priorities. We hope to be able to see you again very soon. If I can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Sincerely,
Janice M. Vande Steeg
General Manager
janice.vandesteeg@cymonrovia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at the Marriott in Monrovia to drop our middle son off at Azusa Pacific. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and the property are immaculate. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent and the service was great. The rooms are clean but dated and the bathrooom is somewhat small.
The bartender in the lobby bar is hilarious and very customer oriented.

There is a lot of noise from outside traffic but we were so tired at night it really was not an issue.

Very easy access to the 210 and a quick shot over to the 605 south into LA. If you time it right there is no traffic.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and providing your lovely comments. We will be sure to share them with the entire team. We will especially pass on your comments regarding our bartender, Henri and do some special recognition for him. He consistently receives many wonderful comments from our guests. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Janice M. Vande Steeg
General Manager
janice.vandesteeg@cymonrovia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Won this hotel in the 3-star category on Priceline at $72/night for 4 nights (Monrovia-Duarte region). Easy access to the 210 freeway and right at the border between Monrovia and Arcadia. Both towns are upscale comfortable towns next to big brother Pasadena - you can get there in about 10 minutes.

Pros to this property:

1. Front desk (Loretta) was wonderfully cheery, professional, and helpful during check-in. All of the other staff were welcoming when you walked by the desk through the lobby.
2. Free parking and free internet (both wired and wireless).
3. Warm modern furnishings and room decor, including mini-fridge. LCD TV and built-in electrical panel was a wise addition. Great bed linens. The A/C unit worked wonders to keep my room frosty after a full hot day of touring in the August heat.
4. Housekeeping was on the ball in taking care of my room - and handled my special requests easily. A little Spanish is helpful since the ladies are more comfortable conversing this way.
5. Views of the mountain made a great thing to see out of the big window. The double-pane was awesome at minimizing the 210 freeway noise - if you live in a big city, you won't even notice.

Cons:
1. Bathrooms are a bit small if you aren't traveling solo but they are functionally well laid out. Touches of granite and everything is new. Water pressure is good but the shower head must have been installed for a midget. Standing at 5 foot 7, the shower head was right at my forehead.
2. Slight musty smell in the halls - but just hurry up to your room and you'll be fine.
3. Hotel keys are prone to deactivation. Loretta warned me about that but they were quick to re-key it when prompted during the one time it happened.

Overall, the staff were excellent, friendly, and professional. The decor is modern and well-kept. Room upkeep is at a superior level. And, love the free parking and free internet. For the price, this hotel is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Odd numbered floors have the ice machines. Ask for a room facing the mountain, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajorMarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morin-Heights
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Great friendly staff,
Clean
Large lobby and breakfast area
Clean pool and Gym
Bathrooms a little small
Lousy internet !!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice V, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments. I wanted to let you know that we are currently in the process of upgrading our internet and it will be complete by the end of next week, October 14th. Would love for you to visit again very soon to experience it and provide additional feedback. We look forward to seeing you.

Sincerely,
Janice M. Vande Steeg
General Manager
janice.vandesteeg@cymonrovia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calif.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The girl at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Check in was quick. Room was nice but had a mildewy smell to it. The room was clean but could have been cleaner. The
traffic noise from inside the room was loud but we left the fan on at night to help mask some of it. I thought the beds to be a bit on the hard side and the pillows were just awful. Not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
1.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Address: 700 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3104
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia Hotel Monrovia
Courtyard Monrovia
Monrovia Courtyard
Monrovia Marriott
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing