We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel! Beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel! Beautiful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would love to stay in this hotel again. Reminded me of hotels where I had stayed in Italy. Beautifully done, more like a boutique hotel. Very reasonably priced (a shock!) and even found a discount by shopping on line. Staff was glad to fulfill my requests for room type. Deluxe king rooms were large and had gas fireplaces and great bathrooms, one with a big walk-in tile shower. The other had a tub and that room had a walk-out balcony. We enjoyed the made-to-order omelets, etc. at breakfast each morning--quick and an excellent value at $10. Also got great tips from staff on best restaurants in Monterey. Would go back to this beautiful, romantic hotel any time I was in the area.

Room Tip: Delux king room had fireplace and beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucybrown000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    745
    238
    77
    33
See reviews for
626
1,072
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hotel is nice and clean. Room is pleasant and quiet with good wireless reception.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I am a mom who travels with her 10 year old little girl so I really search for a decent place. I decided to give this a shot since I saw the other reviews.

I am a very satisfied client.

I stayed in a room with one queen bed.
The room was perfect size for us but if you have a large party to fit in one room you may want to ask for one of their larger rooms. If it's a party of 2 or three and you're pretty good here. It's about a 5 min drive to the aquarium or the wharf. I used Yelp to find good eats and WOW 2-3 mins to some good stuff.

The layout of the hotel is different sort of apartment style. They had three floors in the building I stayed in (the cheapest :). I walked downstairs and my room was right there. There's a CLEAN coin laundry mat in case you'd like to stay for a few days and needs to wash. I didn't use it but checked it out for a future extended stay.

The deco was new and it had a window length sofa where my daughter could play on the computer or relax. The bed was nice and comfy not too hard or soft. I asked for more pillows and blankets and the kind gentleman brought them in less than 5 mins at 11pm with a smile. The TV was updated, cute mini fridge and great coffee for the coffee pot. No desk but did have an end table we used to eat. It had TWO SINKS one inside the restroom and one outside and a TWO large full length mirrors so we could both brush our teeth and hair. They have pretty good toiletries in case you forget yours. The restroom was standard size.

If you are thinking about staying at a larger hotel because you're afraid of what you'll get at other places try this quaint boutique hotel with fair prices and an awesome stay. The next time I'm in Monterey this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: If you have a tons of luggage (which I didn't) you may want to ask for a room on the level floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location was great, staff were friendly and the room was nice..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula4168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Abrego for one night. The reception/staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we were greeted with a smile. The grounds were well groomed. The room was very clean, comfortable and excellent size for the price. The beds were extremely comfortable. Enjoyed the wide screen TV, and there was a refrigerator which is always nice to have. The bathroom was clean and good size with nice fluffy towels. Except for hearing the people above us walking around and hearing the pipes when they showered, we give the hotel very high marks. Will definitely request a room on the top floor next time. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel, but the price for the breakfast buffet was very reasonable. Hotel is an excellent value and choice for Monterey.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor because you can hear people walking around above you and hear the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I like the Abrego, the rooms are clean, new, and comfortable. The front desk people were nice. My son especially love the wide screen tv, huge bathroom, and chaise lounge to call his own. Best hotel out of three that I used in montery.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisaCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here during the off-season (mid-February) when Monterey was devoid of tourists. The property is as has been described by other posts: newly renovated and clean. Fresh fruits in a big bowl in the lobby.
We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds and a fire place in the main building. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom spacious. We didn't use the fireplace because it was an unseasonably warm week. There is a coffee/tea maker in the room and a small refrigerator which came in handy as we were traveling with a toddler. We asked for a travel crib at check in, it arrived within 10 minutes and was in tip-top condition. They also provided us with a microwave (to heat milk) for the duration of our stay.
The walls were a bit thin and we could hear the kids next door bouncing on the bed, but they settled down by 8pm so it wasn't a big deal.
Location is far from the aquarium (not walkable) but in a nice part of Monterey convenient to shopping and groceries and within walking distance to the Dennis the Menace park. There is a large mall 2 minutes away (lots of restaurant choices), a Trader Joe's 1.5 blocks away, and a street market (fresh fruits, local farm produce) on Tuesday afternoons/evenings about 2 block away. Public library is also 2 or so blocks away.
We ended up extending our trip an extra day to enjoy the ambience of the town. The front desk clerks on the 1st and 2nd days were wonderful - very helpful and friendly; a different lady was there on our last day, unfortunately she was quite arrogant and snarky.
Compared to the other hotels in Monterey we felt that we got great value for our money.

Room Tip: Photos on their website are from rooms in the main building (fully renovated rooms & bathrooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houstonturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.6 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing