We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Carleton Place, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We were in Monterey for two days and arrived at the Travelodge at 9:30am. We are volunteers for the State Parks and the Receptionist gave us the State Rate. The room would be ready at 10am, so we went and sat by the heated outdoor pool and had their free breakfast. We only had muffins, coffee and fruit, but the following morning we had cereal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins and fruit...also juice and coffee. Our room had a balcony looking out at the pool. It had a fridge and microwave. WFi was free and we could skype our family back home. We were only a 10 minute drive to Cannery Row...so close enough to things to do. We would stay here again. Planes do fly over quite often, but not during the night....at least I never heard any.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyandRonAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    353
    283
    130
    105
See reviews for
430
287
65
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We walked in, had to wait 10 minutes to wait for him to finish up with the people ahead of us, then took a phone call for another reservation when it was our turn! Then as soon as he asked our last name he picked up the phone and started taking the other reservation!! We waited about 15 minutes to get the room we booked ONLINE. Saw a note behind the desk that a couple had checked out early because her boots her stolen, the blankets were so dirty we had to remove them, let's just say we decided not to stay a second night in the room! You get what you pay for!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kensey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The room itself was fine. No real problems. Like most motels we've seen in northern California the rooms in this one open directly to the outside, not to an indoor hallway.

The problems were with the clientele. About midnight 2 guys right outside our door started up a long conversation, and it wasn't about French metaphysical poetry. Because like most other motels in northern California, this one had no air conditioning, which is likely why the door had a louvered opening. It opened and closed like the slats of a venetian blind, so we weren't able to shut out the noise. Other people carried on outdoor conversations for hours into the night, while others played music. All the the 90+ rooms were occupied, which meant that cars were parked everywhere. When we came in from dinner around 10 pm, we had to park about 150 yards away. Finally, some pinheads parked straddling two parking spaces. The next day we found out the county fairgrounds were behind us, and this weekend they were having a big music festival. We should have guessed when we noted a gaggle of grey-haired, over-weight hippies running around trying to relive the summer of love, no doubt. That information accounted for most every nuisance we experienced.

Expensive by our standards, this was actually about the least expensive place we could find in Monterey. If you think you can find a better place at a lower price, be my guest.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in front; they face a busy highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2011

What a horrible hotel. The desk staff was not friendly at all. We arrived on a stuffy night. I couldn't get the thermostat to turn on. I called the front desk and asked about this. This response -- "we don't have air". To which I replied, "umm, ok, so what if we get warm". She said to open the sliding door (which by the way would be great if an axe murdered was staying in the next room -- there were two rooms on either side, and anyone could have walked into our room if they so chose if we kept the sliding door open). No apologies, or anything. I know, monterey isn't that hot normally, but in this day and age, every place should have air, AS A CONVENIENCE. So yeah, if you want to blow a hundred or so bucks on a crappy, uncomfortable, non-friendly staffed place, this hotel is awesome! Otherwise, I'd advise you to look around (Pacific Grove, other nearby towns for example) for a comparable price and a much better experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseK415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

First, the rooms are all right and clean, though rather outdated, and have balconies. There is also a rinse area for diving gear. Now for the bad: the outside of the hotel smelled like human urine. The thermostat didn't work. There was a whole list of advised security measures implying to us that there are a lot of break-ins. It looked like someone had actually tried to break in from the balcony at one point. There was a small metal S hook to help lock the sliding door. The hotel had a lot of aircraft flying low over it. Also, there was a Burning Man rave party going on which was extremely loud. Front desk said it would stop at 10:00PM but it went til midnight on Saturday and started up again by 5:30AM. Sunday night it ended at 10:00PM.
Also, I ended up booking the hotel through the 800 number. I phoned the hotel directly to ask about a diver rinse area and also mentioned dive gear when checking in. At no point did anyone mention a special rate for divers. We found out about it when we checked out on Monday morning and they did not offer to refund any of our money, just went ahead and charged us the full amount.

For all of the above reasons, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone except perhaps divers. We definitely will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Given security issues, I would request a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed here for two nights. It was one of the lower-priced hotels I could find. The carpet was dirty. The beds were pretty comfortable, but the blankets had old cigarette burns in them. The bathroom is really small, and we ran out of hot water. I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bntravelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is one of my Monterey hidden secrets, the Travelodge on Freemont. The rooms are big and comforable and they have little mini fridges. The price is dirt cheap for the area and the rooms are clean. It comes with a breakfest, which will get you going, but it is not the same quality as the Embassy Suites in any way. I always enjoys my stay here since when I am in the area I do not like to spend a lot of time in the hotel. It has mini fridges and microwaves in the rooms. They are clean. They are basic. I have been staying at this location for over 5 years and never had any huge problems. It is near the airport, but the planes do not fly after 10.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisygrrrl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
152 reviews
3.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Travelodge

Property: Monterey Bay Travelodge
Address: 2030 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5263
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Bay Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun at our Monterey Bay Travelodge hotel near Monterey Bay Aquarium. Our hotel in Monterey, CA is just five minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and Pebble Beach, and only two miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Get an early morning boost with free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Before you head out for the day, enjoy a workout in our fitness center, check your email with free high-speed Internet access or prepare meals using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. After a long day of sightseeing, go for a swim in our heated seasonal outdoor pool from May to November, and doze off on your pillow-top mattress. Our pet-friendly hotel offers express checkout, guest laundry services, 24-hour front desk service and ample parking for oversized vehicles. Balcony rooms and rooms with views of the pool and courtyard are available at our hotel in Monterey, CA. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Immerse yourself in the rich heritage on the Path of History tour, where you can walk through adobe homes. Peek into one of the largest aquarium windows in the world at Monterey Bay Aquarium, and explore the underwater world of penguins, white sharks and sea otters. Browse a unique array of stores, sail through the harbor and go on a whale watching cruise at nearby Fisherman's Wharf. Enjoy fresh seafood with a scenic view at one of the many waterfront restaurants. Spend an afternoon on the greens at Pebble Beach Golf Links, or visit Point Sur Lighthouse, which stands atop a volcanic rock. DINING OPTIONS Sit back and relax with a plate of fresh sushi at Oh! Sushi Japanese Restaurant, located on-site. Enjoy tasty dishes at Chef Lee's Mandarin House, next door to our hotel in Monterey, CA. Take your family for a hearty, homecooked meal at Rosine's Restaurant, just one mile away. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our Monterey, California, hotel offers a business center with fax and copy services. Meeting and banquet space are also available. HOTEL INFORMATION We allow one free parking space per occupied room for special events. Please ask our staff for details on additional parking fees for special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge
Travel Lodge Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing