We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Palm Desert, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Big, clean room with a fireplace. Good price. Good location. Quiet. Lots of free snacks. Staff was not warm but very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VentiCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    198
    88
    23
    27
See reviews for
166
200
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

A good hotel, short stroll to the main part of town and fishermans wharf, short drive to Cannery row etc. Room was comfortable and large. Free continental breakfast not the most exciting in the world, but enough to get you going. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely town to stay in (more affordable than Carmel).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have been visiting the Monterey area for the last 20 years and every time we stay at the Colton Inn. We like it because of the friendly and courteous staff and the fact that it is far enough away from downtown and the tourist areas but close enough to walk to anything you want to do. The rooms are very clean and modern with a very nice patio area if you want to sit and relax. If you are looking for a nice locally owned and run place to stay the Colton Inn is the place. We recently celbrated our 20th anniversary in Monterey and I have to say we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is AWSOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Updating info from my last review. This hotel is a pet-free hotel. (I do believe pets may be allowed, with advanced notice and I also believe there is a daily surcharge for this service.) I found the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean with slight room blemishes. Such as, the bathroom floor tiles were detaching from the wall. Just minor cosmetic things that didn't affect our stay. The hotel allows up to three DVD to be checked out at any one time. Be careful, they do place a $20 hold the credit card PER DVD. In our case, when we checked out, the DVD charge of $60 was "moved" to another section of our bill by accident. After charging our credit card, the staff member noticed the mistake immediately and she promptly fix the error. Examples of items served for breakfast: coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate, oatmeal, danish, bagels, muffins, etc. The cookies & hot chocolate available throughout the day was a treat my kids looked forward to when returning to the hotel. (Coffee & tea was also available for the adults!) From the hotel, the walk to the Wharf was approximately 0.70 miles, one way. Nice easy walk. Had no problems walking back and forth a few times during the day with the kids. Walking distance to Cannery Row is about 1.5 miles, one way. Our family stayed at the Colton Inn over Christmas in 2011. The hotel was quiet and had no problems with excessive noise from the street or from our hotel neighbors. This was our second stay at the hotel. We would stay at the Colton again.

Room Tip: If you want to use wifi, definitely request a room close to the lobby. From our previous stay, the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Colton inn is a sweet find and would come here again and again. Clean, comfortable, quiet perfect size rooms, great location, great service. We booked the room with Bill who was
very courteous and friendly. When we arrived we were treated like family. We booked a room with a hot tub which was so wonderful. The beds are very comfortable. Lots of movies to choose from. David, the owner was very pleasant and caring. We enjoyed every minute
being there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, Ca
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Older motel, no a/c, comforter looked dirty. Dvd's to use free of charge, but employee's have conflicting times of opperation when to rent them out. Affrordable, good location, close to down town.

Room Tip: Has a elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firecrew06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

The Colton Inn isn't much to look at, compared with the many fancier options available in Monterey, but it provided excellent value and a comfortable stay. While the rooms do not appear to have been updated in many years, they were clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful, and what I appreciated most was that they made the effort to put out the continental breakfast an hour early to accommodate the guests who were in town to run a race that started early on the Sunday morning.

The location is about five minutes walk from downtown, and maybe fifteen or twenty from Cannery Row. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColtonInn, General Manager at Colton Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thanks for your postive comments about our property. We hope to see you next year for the race, if not before....thanks again!

Dave
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
#23 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#27 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.5 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing