We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price.”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Nice room. Easy access to highway and attractions. Quiet, even though it was on a busy street. Restaurants within walking distance. Great hot tub.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loneoaklodgemonterey, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2011

Thank you for your review about your recent stay in one of our Romance Package rooms. These rooms are a great way to relax during your stay in Monterey and a fantastic value.

We hope to see you in the future!

Lori Bauer
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Lone Oak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Spent two nights here on a recent trip to coastal CA. This place, for the money, was a fantastic value. I booked based on other reviews - and I have to say they were spot on. This is a quintessential motor lodge, but the staff go above and beyond to make it clean and comfortable. The room was ample size, bed comfy, and shower pressure was excellent. Good location on a main road makes it quick and easy to drive anywhere. Would highly recommend as a comfortable no frills place to rest your head at night. Free wi-fi is certainly a plus! My thanks to the inn-keepers and Enriquetta for a clean, great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_d555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My fiancee and I planned a weekend trip to Monterey and Carmel in October 2011, and we stayed at the Lone Oak. The motel is very much a typical motor lodge, and it is charming in it's own way. The rooms are clean, although dated. The price is great comparatively speaking and we didn't have any service problems. The location is pretty good, but not perfect. I would say that you have to take a short drive to any attraction, but there are convienience stores, grocery stores, restaurants and pharmacies within
walking distance. Overall, our stay was great because we weren't expecting the Four Seasons. This is a clean and comfy little place that I think was a great choice for us and hopefully for you!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwysL8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at the Lone Oak Lodge while visiting Monteray for the Moto GP racing at Laguna Seca Raceway. The decor could do with refreshing but saying that the rooms are a good size and clean. The town centre is a couple of miles away but there are couple of places nearby to get a drink and something to eat. The grill just down the road does excellent food and very nice cocktails. The staff were very friendly and helped with advice and printing our flight boarding passes. Overall a good value for money motel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CASTLEFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a nice place, quiet if you get a room far from the hoghway. It's just a ten dollar cab ride from the bay, so ok for a night out. Rooms a clean, large and nice - they have a coffee maker, fridge and large flatscreen. It's comfy and ok, but nothing over the top as it is a motel. It's only a ten minute drive from both Monterey Bay center and beautiful Carmel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flaatten79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife, two young sons (2 & 1), and I stayed here for Porsche Rennsport Reunion IV at Leguna Seca. We booked one of the stand-alone cottages four our four-day, three-night stay. The other reviews are accurate in saying that the facility/decor is dated, but immaculately kept. The staff is completely flexible, personable, and genuinely concerned that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. We asked for a microwave (hadn't booked the kitchen) for heating up the kids' bottles and got one in minutes. We also adjusted our original booking to depart without staying a fourth night, and with our 24 hours' notice they were happy to refund the associated charge. The ultimate touch, though, was the fact that they tracked down our son's blankie for us when it was mistakenly scooped up by housekeeping with the linens and UPS'd it to our home. Because of the care the staff takes with the property and with their guests, I'd easily recommend this hotel over a more recognized chain-type place.

One thing: there's no A/C, but in Monterey, California, do you really need it? Just open the windows!

Room Tip: Obviously the rooms that are further back from Fremont Street are quieter. The lower-numbered cotta...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is a great place to stay and very reasonable and clean. The rooms were some of the cleanest that I've seen at many other motels and very well kept. Sure some of the fixtures are retro (blue tub and sink! Awesome!), but in very good shape. We even saw the staff washing the windows and window screens. The location was safe and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and there were no bedbug concerns (we always check). They don't have a continental breakfast, but that's not a big deal with a Dennys and a donut shop nearby. You can also pay a little more and get access to a kitchen on the grounds if you are staying for a little while. There is also a spa area. With such a great price and a good value, why would you stay somewhere else?

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armandea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
4.4 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.8 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
3.1 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#7 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $108 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing