We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded My Expectations!”
Review of Lone Oak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lone Oak Lodge
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We spent the night at the Lone Oak Lodge during our California Coast Road trip. I reserved the room via the internet after researching on Trip Advisor. We stayed in room 29, a two room Queen suite available only on the internet. There was plenty of space for 3 adults and our baggage. There were 2 queen beds, a sitting area,microwave,refrigerator, table and chairs, flat screen tv with decent cable and a small patio. The bathroom was modern and roomy. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location of the Lone Oak Lodge is convenient to Monterey attractions and has easy highway access. There is plenty of parking in the courtyard outside of the room. It was very quiet despite there being no vacancy. It was a great stay at a great value.

Room Tip: Room 29 is a 2 room queen suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We have made a stop here during or trip from San Francisco to SLO . Booking and receptionist were very efficient, room are well equiped , quite and clean , so we recommend this hôtel for a short stay like 1 to 2 night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Segalas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We have stayed in both the King Suites and cabins. We have been very satisfied each time we have stayed. The staff is friendly and helpful. Parking is ample and well lighted. The tubs for two in the King Suites are a generous size. We didn't use the noisy Jacuzzi feature, as we enjoy a nice quiet soak at the end of the day. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonepoet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA S, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your awesome comments. We work as a team to satisfy our guests expectations to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We wish to see you again and again!. Once again thanks for time and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Based on reviews, we tried this lodge. We were not disappointed. It is well-maintained, clean, easy to access from the freeway, proximal to Monterey's must-see sights, affordable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room we had was very quiet, in part due to the excellent double-pane windows. The parking is convenient and spacious. What more can you ask? We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA S, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful comment. We will share with our staff. We at Lone Oak Lodge take that extra effort to present a satisfying and pleasant stay to our guests. Once again we would like to extend our thanks to you. We hope to see you again and again in future and make it a memorable one every time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I chose this motel as a stopover based on good reviews. Overall it met our needs well. The location is good for those with a car on a driving holiday. My kids loved the hot tub. The room was clean and quite spacious but hot at night (no AC though there was a fan).
The motel is very strict about check in times. We arrived at 2.50pm,tired after a four hour journey from Yosemite. I went into the reception and was told politely but firmly to return no earlier than 3pm. I couldn't even start filling in any paperwork! We had to just stand there in the car park until 3pm when everything suddenly kicked in and we were greeted warmly and settled in.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lucylewisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here.We arrived quite late at night due to a personal problem and the owner (I think) had stayed up to give us our keys.
The following morning we needed to know where we could get some things sorted and the owner was helpful in giving us directions and information and was lovely when we checked out.
It is a motel so cars do park right outside and can be a little noisy in the morning,and we had a little difficulty getting the shower to work,but overall our stay was very good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jgjg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This dump was terrible!! There was a ceiling fan, but it made an annoying ticking noise; no AC. If you left the windows open for cross-ventilation, little bugs crawled in the room. The fridge malfunctioned, and ruined the food I put inside. There were several cracked bathroom floor tiles. The room key malfunctioned. The bed was firm in the middle, but you kind of fell towards the floor if you lay near the edges. The dresser drawers completely fell out of the furniture (and onto your feet). There was car noise outside the door (Motel layout). The carpeting was so old the fibers were hard and brittle underfoot. The only room trash can was in the bathroom, not the main room. But worst of all was the Manager/Clerk. She had a really pushy manner, and a strident, sing-songy voice. Had to pay the entire bill at check-in, which was insulting. Don't you trust your guests to pay? If this was #3/56 hotels in Monterey, I dare not consider #4/56. Must've paid folks to write glowing reviews!

Room Tip: stay away from main road; car noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNA S, Manager at Lone Oak Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

The guests was unhappy as the payment was taken during check in, which has been the procedure since beginning. The rooms had been upgraded with new mattress, carpets linens, curtains. We found the fridge working perfect. The room keys are high quality RFID keys, which opens on scanning. All the complaints given indicate the guest was not happy paying upfront as she did not have a chance to payless or get away without paying, giving these excuses the next day. The guest was rude to the front desk clerk during check in, in spite of her comments and her irrelevant harsh words, the staff was polite and checked her in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
3 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
4.4 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
4.2 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
3.8 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Oak Lodge

Address: 2221 Fremont St, Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $96 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lone Oak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time with this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). So take a step back in time and come relax with us here in beautiful Monterey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lone Oak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Oak Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing