We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We got a very good deal on the web for a small room and so we didn't overpay. The hotel is in an excellent location for walking around Monterey - it's worth being aware that they charge you for parking though. Despite other reviews I really liked this hotel, perhaps because I mainly stayed in motels on this trip so a hotel made a nice change, but I thought the room was large, had everything we might need, it was very clean, I liked the style and decor, especially the wooden shutters on the windows. We stayed room only so I can't comment on food or services.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Portola for 8 nights during the Pebble Beach Concours. The room was lovely and the staff was most helpful. We loved the location. The PROBLEM is the NOISE... It was impossible to get a full nights sleep due to the noise and we were in the best location in the hotel, right off of the courtyard.
The rooms lack air conditioning and so you have to leave the windows or sliding glass door open.
The gulls begin squawking at 4 or 4:30 AM and party goers stumble in and say good nights at all hours with little regard for others.
The location is great and rooms lovely just don't expect to sleep much, even with ear plugs...

Room Tip: The courtyard is as good as it gets if you need the rest. Great cookies at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kloklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Rented a suite and separate room for a family of four. My elderly mother summed it up that the suite in particular, which featured very dim yellow lighting and ugly, old mustard walls and carpeting "resemble the morgues I've been in lately." While I think she meant "funeral homes," you get the drift. The lighting was horrible, furniture dark and heavy, and there are no views. In fact, our grand suite looked out onto a brick wall in the courtyard. Definitely NOT worth the money. The standard rooms are somewhat lighter, but this is a relative term. Think: lighting not good enough for reading. Location was good for our disabled family member, since ramps are abundant and its easy to get to the paved walking path, but the hotel is extremely tired, has terrible heavy-l950's ambiance, and an overpriced restaurant (Jacks) and room service. Front desk staff were chilly at best. If you can get a killer deal ($125/night), you need to use a scooter or wheelchair, and you plan to spend ALL time out of the room, plus you aren't at all impacted by being in tired dark old rooms with horrible lighting---or perhaps you're already blind-- then it might be OK. Never again for us - this was intended to be a cheery weekend, but was made depressing by the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade - standard rooms are as good as anything, which isn't saying much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate all feedback of your experieince from the quality of your stay to the staff.

We do hope you will return and give the Portola Hotel & Spa another stay. As a Silver LEED-EB Property we are always aware of the products we have in our rooms and the materials we use when we upgrade choosing green friendly products.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Let me start my review by the time we got there. Arrived at 4pm to check in, and room was not available. One of the front desk person said they are still cleaning the room and will give us a call when it is ready. They said probablyin 10mins, and would waive the parking fee for us ( i think $15). That was nice! So we waited, and waited! About an hour of waiting, we went to check again and see if the room is available, and it was! Nobody called as promised, and we basically waited for them to let us know.

On our way to the room, we saw a lot of dirty dishes outside the door of every room. They are sitting outside the rooms. Why is that? Maybe they need to hire more people. Tha was unexpected!

So, our room was okay, comfortable bed. We got a good deal with the Acquarium tickets. Breakfast buffet at Jack's for $17.99was okay. So there, not great! But not bad either.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Nitzel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Hotel was close to The fisher mans wharf and all the downtown action. The views of the ocean were spectacular. We woke up to the sounds of the ocean life. We were surprised when their was air conditioning but opening the sliding glass was better at cooling us off than the AC could have provided. We woke up to breakfast brunch with memossias that was excellent. Atmosphere is serene, we would highly recommend Portola Hotel.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Gerfman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A truly wonderful hotel. slightly costly parking, but secure. Fabulous spacious lobby area with comfortable furniture. Huge bedrooms (ask for an external balcony) A very comfortable hote after a long day's driving
The bar is great with a huge tv for a nice relaxing drink. we ate out at a brilliant italian down the main road, and again for breakfast - within the village itself.

Room Tip: walk down tot he Harbour area-plenty of places to try various wonderful Seafood, Steaks, etc. Cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliedog190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Portolplaza Hotel, Monteray California. Really lovely hotel in a quant little town.
Massive Lobby with soft furnishings everywehre. A good sized bar and restaurant-really comfortable. The bedrooms are huge with ample bathrooms, a real treat after hours driving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliedog190773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.8 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.1 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
3.3 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $198 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing