We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty..............” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dirty..............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

this hotel needs an overhaul...dirty dank carpets in the room, urine odors everywhere, cell block appearance to all the rooms, dingy dark and grotty hallways to the rooms (we were down stairs), and SUPER LOUD...from constant freeway noise and old plumbing....i know it is expensive here, but i will pay the extra 50/100 or whatever it is next time....this bedspread on my bed is disgusting....EWWwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    79
    64
    39
    27
See reviews for
91
76
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent one night at the BPH and it was fine. The staff were very good and helped us out with our onward travel but the room, although large, was nothing special.
The restaurant is very good. They talk a lot about their salad bar but it really is worth eating there for this as well as some reasonable proced main meals too.
Had a pretty quiet nights sleep considering the size and location. Not somewhere to stay for a long time but fine if you need a bed for the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StefRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a nice room in Building 3 on 3rd floor. We asked for a key to see the room (it was the last one they had) and they happily obliged. We were very impressed and they brought in a roll away at 10pm that night for our daughter! One of the cleanest and quietest stays we had in a while. Would stay here again and you cant beat the price in expensive Monterey. Total fluke finding it online late at night, but so glad we did!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandkathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family and I stayed here despite the poor reviews. Upon entering the room, I found it "nice", the decor was ok and it had a flat screen TV which I figured was a step above what I had read. After further inspection, I found a dead fly on the curtain and the bathroom did smell like urine. (as noted in previous reviews). When laying down, I could also smell a pine-sol and urine smell coming from the carpet. I know how expensive it can be in Monterey but next time I will be willing to spend a little extra cash on a room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemcemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

My wife and I spent one night at the BPH.

Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

We had a standard room on the 3rd floor in building 4. Room was a little dated and small, however it was comfy enough to make it feel spacious. Bed was good, had a good selection of channels on TV and there was complimentary Wi Fi internet. The bathroom was clean and tidy.

Parking is also complimentary.

We didn't use the gym but one is available. There is also a nice pool and spa area.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the BPH and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Not bad, not great but its what I expected. I recently stayed here with the family on our way south. The Bay Park Hotel is probably better described as a Inn rather than a hotel. Located very close to the freeway and shopping. Check-in was smooth. Room was a bit tight since there was 4 of us. Our 2 children needed to sleep on a sofa bed. The property is located about 10 minutes away from downtown and the aquarium.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWsalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast, australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

When we read the reviews before we left we were concerned...... but we were more than happy with the accommodation and have no complaints whatsoever. The hotel was clean, beds comfortable, dinner and breakfast was included and served in their restaurant........both meals were delicous. Staff polite, courteous and interested in hearing about where we had been and where we were going next.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#29 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.2 km away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.7 km away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.6 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing