We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,496)
Filter reviews
1,496 results
Traveller rating
411
414
283
225
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
414
283
225
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view beach access falling asleep sound of the waves rooms are small oceanfront room bike path hotel restaurant cannery row smores whales seaside pits bay coast california wharf
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 1,496 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

This hotel was advertised as completely tenovated. We anticipated great things with joi de Vie property. Highly disappointed with quality and service. Bathrooms were not renovated. Door locks didn’t work. Mildew smell in room - we left two days early it was so terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bodhidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal A, General Manager at Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Bodhidog,

I both regret and am disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. I apologize.

Should your travels bring you back to Monterey, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Sal L. Abaunza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Location was beautiful and hotel is convenient to other attractions. However room was noisey with a very loud mechanical sound (like something was cutting off and and on) kept occurring throughout entire stay. Made it difficult to sleep. Also understood other reviews that mention that patio area right outside ocentfront room was loud when other guests were talking and gathered just five feet from our door.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kbaker962050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal A, General Manager at Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Kbaker962050,

Thank you for your candid comments. I shall share them with the Team. We are in the process of replacing the AC units.

Best regards,

Sal L. Abaunza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

amazing view and wonderful location. full of children, but it was spring break! not very couple friendly at this time. Hotel a little tired outside, clean and welcoming inside. staff pleasant. room serviceable

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fgaske103154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal A, General Manager at Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Fgaske103154,

Thank you for your feedback. I shall share it with our Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sal L. Abaunza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The worst customer service and management. It started with waiting at least 15 min to check-in. Always a line to talk to front desk, therefore need more staff! Due to long check in we got to bar 5 min till happy hour was over, they were out of mint for mojito so my husband came to ask me what else I'd want. When he returned happy hour was over and back to full price. You would think they would honor Happy hour prices since they were out of product. No hair dryer in room. The worse thing that happened when we returned to our room after a day out, the house keeping left our door open!! The doors don't close well- you have to pull hard to lock. Well apparently the housekeeping is unaware of this. Our belonging we insecure the entire day! Then I call the front desk to complain and they don't answer the phone! Literally I called for 10 min. I walk up to desk and ask if she heard he phone ring? Brittany's response was" yes but I was busy."

Room Tip: Stay at Embassy suites down the street
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal A, General Manager at Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear D S,


I apologize that we did not provide the service you should have received.

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit with me directly at your convenience.

Best regards,

Sal L. Abaunza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Probably would not stay here again due to lack of room readiness, lack of room cleaning while we were gone ridiculous 6o dollar charge to stay per night for room service which should be left to the guest

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ize322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal A, General Manager at Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Ize322,

I apologize for your disappointing experience. Please contact me directly should your travels bring you back to Monterey.

Best regards,

Sal L. Abaunza
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews