We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel room was very good with comfy beds. Our checkin time was printed as 3 pm but hotel staff said the real check in is at 4 pm but in a few minutes got us a room at 1 pm itself. Staff is very friendly and you can ask them about local attractions. Heated pool and sauna is great but we did not had time to enjoy it. Hotel offers free coffee in the morning and cookies in the evening.

Room Tip: Check on hotel website with AAA discounts if you get a good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donmhighland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

We were glad to read how much you liked HGI Monterey and that our friendly staff was able to get you in your room early and provide good local tips...and that you liked our comfy beds! Please return soon and spend some time in our heated pool and whirlpool...before or after the free cookies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

From the first 5 minutes until the last, this place boasted cleanliness and friendliness! The ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful and their dinner recommendation was fantastic!!
The rooms were quite big, clean, and had quite a few extras- large bathroom, microwave, small fridge and a bed where you can choose how soft or hard you want each side to be.

It is on walking distance to fisherman's wharf as well!! Will definitely stay here again if we come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooki5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thanks for your enthusiastic review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our clean and friendly hotel as well as the guest room amenities and location. Please return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Hotel is conveniently located (5-10 minute drive) to all the attractions in Monterey like the Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Its also relatively affordable. The first time we entered the room, there was a stale smell, which went away after opening the windows for an hour or so. Another problem is the noisy air conditioning. The thermostat doesnt allow you to set anything lower than 65F, however the room was relatively hotter than that and our only option was to open the balcony door which let a bit of noise in. Given all that, its location convenience and relatively affordable price are good reasons to return.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the car turnaround and the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingWhileTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the stale smell and A/C nuances you encountered and are glad they will not prevent you from returning in the future. It is terrific to hear you will return for our convenient location and good value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Monterey is expensive and this hotel can offer a decent value for the money, but disabled visitors beware: access is awkward at best. The lobby is upstairs, there are no ground floor rooms, and the only direct elevator access is from the underground parking lot, but those elevators require a room key. There are ramps, but the ramps lead to stairs! If you're just checking in, or couldn't get underground parking, you have to go up a ramp, ring a bell and wait, then ride in a tiny box of a lift (not a normal elevator) to reach the lobby. Now imagine you want to eat on site--the hotel is laid out in a horseshoe shape and the restaurant is on one end. You want to eat and you're at the wrong end? You have to go down the stairs or around the entire loop.

The first floor is directly over the underground parking lot and the floors are FREEZING! Our heater worked just fine, but it didn't touch the floor chill.

Room Tip: In the summer, the cool floors on the first floor might be good, but in the winter, ask for the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review HGI Monterey. You are correct, it is awkward for guests with special needs staying at our hotel upon arrival. When you return, please let us know in advance so we can block a room very close to the lobby on the first floor during the summer and 2nd floor during the winter to make things easier for you. We will assign a staff person to help you with the lift to get you to and from the restaurant and parking check-in easily and quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Great hotel.. Exceptionally good for one of Hilton's "Garden Inn" brand hotels...

It's got the usual Hilton brand service quality (which I find is, usually, excellent, market leading), the usual "Garden Inn" facilities, whilst, at the same time, it's not one of the typical "clone" hotels..

I stayed here many years ago when it was a "Hilton", Hilton and I don't recall it being any better then than it is now as a "Garden Inn"....

The rooms are well appointed and have the usual Garden Inn facilities (fridge, microwave oven etc) as well as the usual stuff you would expect in a hotel.. I, personally, like the beds in Garden Inns particularly, find them very comfortable..

Staff are approachable and try to help..

The layout of the hotel is such that car parking can be an issue, especially when there are events on nearby and the hotel is full.. But, to be fair, I always managed to park somewhere around the hotel.

Also, if you are working at the nearby Laguna Seca racetrack, and need to be up there early, you might find that the breakfast room does not open early enough for you..

The hotel is pretty well located for the track, being close to Highway 1 ramps and the links off it..

Value is OK, but then I am judging this on an 'event" weekend where the rates were not as cheap as they can be.. If you got a good rate on a quieter time this hotel would be great value..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juninho_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2011

Thank you for this favorable review as a "Great Hotel." We appreciated hearing your comments about your experience here while working at the Mazda Laguna Seca race track! We invite you to return for vacation soon so you can enjoy even more of the Monterey Peninsula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night whilst on a road trip through California. It is a lovely hotel and couldnt believe we got the hotel so cheap!
You could get free cookies from 6pm-7pm and free flavoured water through out the day!
Used the fitness room which had great equipment.
Pool, spa and fire pit were lovely.
The breakfast and food to purchase for the room was expensive but did not spoil our time. Monterey is a lovely fishing village and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenski-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay at HGI Monterey. So glad to hear you had a fabulous road trip of California while visiting from England! The cookies and infused water will be waiting for you on your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This property has plenty of positive reviews. What I wanted to add is that you can get rooms at this location for around $100 if you choose the nonrefundable rate through Hilton Honors. If you know for sure you need a place in Monterey, you won't go wrong here. You can pay $250/night if you want the ocean view, but if you want convenient location (across from the mall) and an easy drive down to the waterfront, you cannot beat this place.

Room Tip: Top floor, patio facing west (the inner courtyard/pool area) would give you the most privacy and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moojazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for your positive comments and for validating the other recent positive reviews. Your suggestion is a good one about using our "Advanced Purchase" discounts for getting the most absolute rock bottom rates! Although no changes or cancellations are allowed, there are also no less expensive rates available! We look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,540 reviews
3.3 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.0 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 km away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $196 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing