We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!!”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
antioch, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“OMG!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have to say this was one of the two worst nights I ever spent at a hotel. Our cell phones did not work in the hotel, so we had to go downstairs to use the phone. We had lunch at the sports bar in the hotel and the service was...well terrible. The waitress spent most of her time watching the Giants game. We were in room 390. Room 390 is across the hall from the vending/ice machine and the housekeeping room. The windows faced a busy street and you could hear everyone coming up and down the hall. It was the noisest room I had ever slept in. You could hear the loud noise from the traffic and people partying at different locations in the area. The bathroom had a pocket door and everyone below and above us had one also because you could hear noise all night. We had to leave the hotel to get some peace! We finally couldn't take the noise any longer, so we left our room at 10:00. When we returned to the hotel around 12:30 a.m. after being out when we really didn't want to be out, we had to stay up because of the noise from the screaming patrons at a nearby bar. The only thing that kept me from going ballistic was that the staff were exceptional, so I felt bad about complaining to them, so I waited to complain in this forum. I will never stay at that hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 390 or any rooms adjacent to that room or rooms that face the street !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    527
    227
    72
    28
See reviews for
384
399
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great views and nice to be downtown. Lobby nicely done. Staff very professional. Marriott burgers are the best.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joncab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had the best time ever at this hotel! The room was spectacular with a view of the bay right from our bed. The staff was top notch. Valet parking was pretty affordable (considering what other cities will charge) and they were so helpful getting us directions to and fro.

The only eating we did there was at the coffee shop, so I cant' comment on the restaurant. But the coffee shop was good.

Which brings me to the only odd part of the hotel.... there was no coffee maker in the room. Most places have that as standard equipment, so I was a little surprised. But I paid for my daily coffee and went on my way ...

Room Tip: Make sure you join the Marriott Members club to get their "Elite" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ski_n_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Typical consistantly good (not great) quality Marriott hotel. Excellent staff though. Always asking what they can do to help. The hotel manager is doing a great job of training.
The hotel is located in "downtown" Monterey, easy walking distance to shops, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. It appears to be an older hotel that was recently renovated.
Valet parking ($20/day) is the only hotel choice but there is a city parking structure 2 blocks away at 1/3 the cost, or look for on-street parking (problematic on weekends).
Breakfast buffett ($20/person) is expensive but convenient & good quality.
There's a fun sport bar on the first floor.
I would return when I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms in the north facing wing have a view of Monterey Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garaoucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a stay at the Monterey Marriott. It was a beautiful property, recently renovated, and right in the middle of downtown. The staff, however, were the best. Very helpful and attentive. Before this stay, I had only seen service this good in the movies. The gentleman behind the desk with the Australian accent was espicially helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brake76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Marriot is a great hotel in a very good location, but add $20 to your room rate for parking - which is only choice other than street - and is too much. I guess it's $20 because there were at least nine people standing there to open car door, help with luggage, open hotel door, and welcome us.

They have a great breakfast, but plan to go out for dinner - sports bar is only place in hotel for dinner.

Room was comfortable - typical Marriott. We had a good view of the bay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great location that's close to shops, restaurants, and the wharf. The service was friendly, and consistent. The food was great every single time beginning with the breakfast, and ending with the sports bar. The bartender (EJ) was outstanding. I'd like to pack him up and move him to my area!! It's a very easy walk to all the historic adobes. I am looking forward to going back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMCHATF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.9 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,360 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
593 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing