We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, amazing views!”
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My family and I had planned a quick retreat to Monterey. We initially had decided to stay at another hotel with a pool, and were very disappointed so we moved over the following day to the Monterey Bay Inn. We planned on only staying one night, and was upgraded to a partial ocean view by Jessica. She remembered my son from our visit a long time ago (who wasn't even in the lobby while I was checking in) which was very impressive and gave a personal touch to my visit. The weather ended up being fabulous, so the next morning I asked if we could extend ouf visit for one more night. Stacy said that a big group was coming in that day, but helped us out and upgraded us to a full ocean view room. Amazing! We had such a great time and will always have fond memories of our visit. The staff is incredible here; I've been coming here for years and it is nice to see the same familiar friendly faces when you walk in the lobby. I love that they use Aveda products in the bathroom, the rooms are always very clean, and the beds are so cozy. I will always recommend this place to others. Thank you Stacy and Jessica!

Room Tip: Try to get a partial or ocean view room. Cannery row room doesn't have a view and overlooks the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Spent a vacation weekend in Monterey after completing a business trip to Palo Alto, CA. My time at the Monterey Bay Inn was great starting with the reservation call and assistance selecting a room with a great view of the water. On the day of arrival I called and requested early check in and my request was accomodated cordially. The rooom itself has obviously been updated since this is an established hotel. The balcony overlooking the water was where i spent lots of time watching the waves crash, various types of boats pass by as well as the many scuba divers. The bathroom was huge and modern. One of the highlights of my stay was viewing Monterey Bay from the hot tub on the roof.

The king size bed was made with only 2 piilows but found 2 more in the closet which were so- so in terms of comfort.

The lobby is small and there is no restaraunt in the hotel but there are many close by and the walk along Cannery Row is very interesting. The room come with an OK (but not great)continental breakfast which is served in the room at the time you select.

Overall....had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Select a room as far out overlooking the bay as possible.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have been visiting the Monterey area for 30 years and have stayed at several hotels. About 15 years ago we discovered The Monterey Bay Inn. It is small, quiet and very relaxing with beautiful views of the bay. It's so peaceful to sit in your room or balcony and watch sea otter, seal, dolphin and many different birds. You can also see boats coming and going from Fisherman's Wharf. The in-room continental breakfast each morning is an added bonus. The rooms are cozy and very clean with a large bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping in Cannery Row, wine tasting, restaurants, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf Pier. There are walking/biking trails all along the peninsula, so once you park at the hotel you don't have to drive your vehicle. Hotel employees are very pleasant and friendly. It is hard to leave the hotel when it's time to check out, and we can't wait for a return visit!

Room Tip: Corner suites have amazing views of bay and Fisherman's Wharf.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

So many pluses: great location right on Cannery Row (but at the eastern edge so away from all of the noise), georgous views of the bay, centrally located to major attractions, and a great price! Breakfast is included. The rooms are exceptionally clean with a very large bathroom.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the bay.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Oh my God, I loved this hotel. We had harbour view and a balcony and the weather was beautiful. The hotel was possibly the best of our two week tour of California. I think we were on the third floor, but we had a great view. We were visited every morning by a giant seagull on our balcony who was very partial to muffins! The room was comfortable and well maintained and we wanted for nothing. Parking was available and we could rent bikes and canoes just across the road. My wife tried the hot tub and was very impressed, but I wandered up and down the seafront and wharf in absolute wonder at how clean and fresh it all was.
I could do a week here every year, truly great.

Room Tip: Harbour or sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Most importantly, I want to thank this guest for taking the time to share their feedback, with us and with other travelers.
Monterey is an absolutely beautiful area, and we are so glad that we were a part of this reviewer’s great experience. Our Peninsula has many wonderful features; miles of beaches, a world-renowned aquarium, over 30 golf course and wineries, and an endless ocean. Of course, we include the Monterey Bay Inn as a winning element as well!
We hope that anyone who has enjoyed their time with us, will take a moment to share with their friends – we would love the opportunity to help everyone have a wonderful Monterey experience.

Again, I want to thank this reviewer for sharing their comments. We look forward to the day we can welcome them back!

Thank you,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very friendly staff, extremely comfortable. It is at the quiet end of Cannery Bay so one can sleep to just the lapping of the waves and odd bark of a seal. a 10 minute walk to the Aquarium and all the restaurants one might want to try out. Complimentary Wifi worked fine for checking mail.
We will definetly come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GS-Ojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Monterey Bay Inn. Monterey is one of our most loved places to stay. This was our first time at the Monterey Bay Inn and it was perfect. The place is beautiful and the staff is wonderful, so warm and friendly. It was our 43rd anniversary and they made it such a special occasion. We will definitely stay here again and would hightly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 309.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fresnoiquana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Monterey Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

First and foremost, I would like to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their comments with us and with other travelers. Honest feedback is our hotel’s best tool for making changes, and we are always grateful for the opportunity to improve. I am also grateful for this guest’s comments regarding our staff and our rooms; we are very proud of both, and are thrilled that we were able to be a part of making their anniversary special!

Should anyone wish to speak with one of our managers directly about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you,
the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,989 reviews
0.7 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
3.4 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $227 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee maker, CD and DVD player, usb charging ports, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace complement your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing