We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Anniversary Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

When we checked in, I had mentioned to the staff it was our anniversary the next morning. We went out for a few hours to the aquarium, and came back to our room to find a bottle of wine and a card for us! Now that is being treated like a very special guest. We were so happy! Now to the room. Beautiful spacious room with a view of the water. Can't ask for much more than that. Very comfortable king size bed. Beautiful bathroom and shower. The tv is a bit dated, but who's there to watch tv right? Also, there's a hot tub on the 4th floor which overlooks the bay and it's a perfect spot. We had continental breakfast delivered to our door in the morning. The staff was so attentive. Anytime they saw us they smiled and asked how our stay had been and if we needed anything. I'm so happy we chose the Monterey Bay Inn. You should too! Thanks again for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    108
    36
    25
See reviews for
233
1,001
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
239 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I booked this hotel for four and was disappointed at how small the room was for a king and a sofa bed. There don't appear to be an "doubles" rooms, so maybe they are marketing to couples and not families. I was also disappointed that we paid extra for a "water view" room. Yes, we could see the water, but IMO if you are over land and have to crane your head to the left, you shouldn't have to pay $10-15/night extra for that. That was my fault -- I should have realized that most rooms in Monterey would have some sort of ocean view. I will say the bathroom was incredible -- very large and had something unique -- the toilet was in its own "room" with a door so one person could use the facilities while someone else could use the sink area.

In order to get your complimentary breakfast, you leave an order hanging from your door. I did so and indicated it was for four people. In the morning, the maid came with one tray with fruit, 2 coffee cups with an extremely small carafe and 2 small yogurts. She looked at the order form, appeared confused and told me to wait. She came back 5 minutes later and thrust a plate (not a tray) at me with a few more pieces of fruit on it and 2 slices of banana bread. I realize this was a continental breakfast, but if they give an option for feeding four people, they should oblige and do so.

There are DVD players in the room -- a great idea if you have kids with you. And there is a "RedBox" rental machine on the floor of the hotel. Another great idea. Unfortunately, it was out of order during our visit.

On the way out, there is a large urn of coffee and "to go" cups. We decided to take a cup and saw the "cream" pitcher was empty. I mentioned it to the front desk who seem annoyed and it took a good 10 minutes to get it filled. Small things that start to add up.....

For anyone planning to stay in Monterey, be aware that while this hotel is on Cannery Row, it is at the end of it so there is a short walk to the main area of stores and restaurants. This hotel was fine, but not exceptional in any way. I would choose a different one on the next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

they are the best inn hands down.we have stayed probably 12 other hotelsin monterey and they are the best by far and right on the ocean.they bring breakfast to you and the paper. cookies and fruit in the evening is a plus.bed is so comfy andthe bath products ar supurb.cant say enough.i should be a spokesman have sent lots of people there

Room Tip: harbor room best of both worlds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

First time staying at this hotel, but it will not be our last. Staff is excellent and is ready to help immediately. We had a view of the Harbor and Bay and enjoyed it much more than an ocean view. There was always something going on at the beach to keep us entertained. Beds are comfortable and the breakfast, served to your room, is fresh and presented well.

Wasn't happy about having to pay for parking. For the price of the rooms, they could, at least, offer free parking to guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed here for one night a week ago. We have visited the area a great deal and this was our first time at Monterey Bay Inn. The rooms were large, the bathroom was fabulous...large, with the Aveda products, 2 sinks, separate water closet. The view of the wharf from our 2nd story balcony was wonderful. I loved having binoculars in the room for better viewing of the sea otters, harbor seals, bird life, divers, kayakers, boaters, and on and on.
Parking costs extra, but it's worth it and though we checked out, the hotel said we could park in the garage until 4pm.
We couldn't figure out how the cable tv worked, the maintenance people came within a few minutes of calling the front desk and got us all straightened out.
Continental breakfast arrived on time and with a smile. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msfetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My family and I had planned a quick retreat to Monterey. We initially had decided to stay at another hotel with a pool, and were very disappointed so we moved over the following day to the Monterey Bay Inn. We planned on only staying one night, and was upgraded to a partial ocean view by Jessica. She remembered my son from our visit a long time ago (who wasn't even in the lobby while I was checking in) which was very impressive and gave a personal touch to my visit. The weather ended up being fabulous, so the next morning I asked if we could extend ouf visit for one more night. Stacy said that a big group was coming in that day, but helped us out and upgraded us to a full ocean view room. Amazing! We had such a great time and will always have fond memories of our visit. The staff is incredible here; I've been coming here for years and it is nice to see the same familiar friendly faces when you walk in the lobby. I love that they use Aveda products in the bathroom, the rooms are always very clean, and the beds are so cozy. I will always recommend this place to others. Thank you Stacy and Jessica!

Room Tip: Try to get a partial or ocean view room. Cannery row room doesn't have a view and overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Spent a vacation weekend in Monterey after completing a business trip to Palo Alto, CA. My time at the Monterey Bay Inn was great starting with the reservation call and assistance selecting a room with a great view of the water. On the day of arrival I called and requested early check in and my request was accomodated cordially. The rooom itself has obviously been updated since this is an established hotel. The balcony overlooking the water was where i spent lots of time watching the waves crash, various types of boats pass by as well as the many scuba divers. The bathroom was huge and modern. One of the highlights of my stay was viewing Monterey Bay from the hot tub on the roof.

The king size bed was made with only 2 piilows but found 2 more in the closet which were so- so in terms of comfort.

The lobby is small and there is no restaraunt in the hotel but there are many close by and the walk along Cannery Row is very interesting. The room come with an OK (but not great)continental breakfast which is served in the room at the time you select.

Overall....had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Select a room as far out overlooking the bay as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
3.4 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
1.1 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Inn

Property: Monterey Bay Inn
Address: 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1437
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#4 Family Hotel in Monterey
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#8 Green Hotel in Monterey
#11 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Bay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inviting Monterey Bay Inn sits high above the tides at its magnificent site on the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary. Your private balcony provides a ringside seat to the ever-changing show-the delightful wonders of one of the world's richest marine regions. The Inn's 49 rooms, most with stunning ocean views, include a balcony, mini-refrigerator, king size bed, remote control TV, coffee maker, CD and DVD player, bath robes, hair dryer, and wireless internet connection. Two outdoor hot tubs, and a fire pit on the terrace compliment your stay, as does the convenient parking. Complimentary continental breakfast is delivered to your room each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing