We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cotati, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is key”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Great hotel for the price, location is perfect - a few blocks off of cannery row. Walking distance to cannery row, fisherman's wharf and only a block to the bike path. Hotel is a little outdated however for the price it is a great deal. Breakfast and Wine/Cheese are provided and they had provided wine/chocolate in the room to celebrate my husband's birthday. The Jacuzzi tub is a treat after a day out exploring.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFamilyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    623
    149
    47
    25
See reviews for
471
856
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband, our dog Sugar,and I have stayed here at the Victorian Inn many, many times and our visits just seem to get better and better. The locationis outstanding - convenient to all of Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf and all the great restaurants in between.
The staff, housekeeping, maintenance are all wonderful. Guests, including our furry companions, are greeted warmly at the front desk and repeat guests are surprised by a special "welcome back" bottle of wine in a bucket of ice accompanied by a small box of chocolates. How could it be any more special than that?! The rooms are constantly being updated so that each time we come we see improvements and updates so that the property never seems to get old. The breakfast is wonderful - great cinnamon French toast!
Thanks so much to our frieinds at Best Western Victorian Inn for making our stay exceptional as usual.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greathotelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for one night, the staff was very friendly and the hotel is in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This was our second visit to the Victorian. Front Desk Clerk welcomed us back. A gift bottle of Wine and chocolates were waiting in the room. Rooms are nice and clean with a working gas fireplace. Free wine tasting in the afternoon.
Skip the breakfast. Too many great restaurants in Monterey.

Don't forget the $13 parking fee in their garage.

Room Tip: Second floor lanais are more private that first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyd43ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This Is the first time we stayed we stayed in this hotel and we liked it. I have 3kids and a small baby but the room was enough for us. I rented two beds and we were fine. There was a heater in the room but we didn't use it only the central heater. The room also comes with small ref. and coffee maker. Our room was facing the cannery row so we have a peek a boo view of the ocean. Checking in was a breeze. The hotel is within walking distance to cannery row restaurants and aquarium. The hotel also offer free continental breakfast with quite a variety and you can ask for a tray and take the food with you in your room. They also have wine time in the afternoon which is a nice touch. Overall our stay was great. I had no prob with noises. Room was clean and comfy. The room decor may have need some update but it didn't bother me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maharlikah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, Ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We were looking for a clean, comfy, reasonably priced hotel within walking distance to the aquarium. We usually stay across town for a better value but the Best Western website had a good deal.
The breakfast wasn't fancy, but there was hot food and plenty of variety to start our day without stopping somewhere else for breakfast. The staff was pleasant. The grounds were nicely landscaped, we enjoyed the markers with the plant names in the garden. We also enjoyed the patio and the fireplace.
The one strange thing was that we couldn't figure how to get into the property with a stroller without going down the steep driveway into the parking garage and taking the elevator. We were always a little nervous someone would turn in off the street when we were using the driveway. There may be an entrance without stairs, but we couldn't find it.
We will definitely stay there next time we are in Monterey.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chico-teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-ManagerResponse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Most importantly, I want to thank this reviewer for taking the time to share their feedback, with us and with other travelers. As well as for their high rating of our hotel’s location; we agree, the close proximity to Cannery Row, the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and Fisherman’s Wharf are a huge part of what makes our hotel perfectly placed!

Regarding this reviewer’s question about how to access the hotel without stairs, I want to apologize that our staff on site where not able to help with that during their stay. There is a parking lot behind the lobby (for reference, just outside the window where the breakfast is served), from which the lobby and all of the elevators can be reached without having to use stairs. Guests with low slung, or taller than usual, cars are also welcome to use this lot, should they wish to avoid the driveway into the covered garage.

I want to thank this reviewer, again, for taking the time to share their feedback. We’re all looking forward to the opportunity to welcome them back!
Should any guest wish to speak with one of our managers directly about a question or concern, please don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Situated in the heart of Monterey within walking distance of the aquarium and the piers, this motel is an excellent value. The complementary breakfast is both hot and cold, with plenty of fresh fruit, and each evening there is a complementary wine and cheese hour, a perfect time to rest your feet after walking the city all day. The rooms are spacious, and there are balconies with gardens outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey-Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
2.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victorian Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Address: 487 Foam Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#5 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the tranquility of a seaside vacation when you stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn. Bike along scenic coastal shores, kayak in the bay, sample some of the world's best wines, go whale watching, or picnic and fly kites on sun drenched beaches. Explore the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the unique shops and restaurants along Cannery Row, all within walking distance of our intimate hotel. Rest in accommodations with in-room marble fireplaces, and private patios, balconies or window seats where you can soak up ocean breezes. Our charming Central Coast property offers oversized guestrooms and suites perfect for couples, families and other groups, with full-sized living rooms, and sleeper sofas. All guests enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception featuring award-winning wines, daily. Soak up the serenity of the sea and explore the best of California's Central Coast when you plan your next escape, from wine tastings, to bike rentals, pet pampering and beach side weekend getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Victorian Hotel Monterey
Best Western Victorian Hotel
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing