We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricey and stuffy for me”
Review of Cafe Firenze

Cafe Firenze
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Firenze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Moorpark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Leta Yancy Road
Fillmore, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too pricey and stuffy for me”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I have been here a few times. the last time I went it was because I had a gift card. Thank goodness we did because for two dinners and two glasses of wine it was so expensive. And to me the food was okay. I guess because I am a more down-home kind of girl and not into gourmet.

Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    43
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Love Boat
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did not deliver.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was excited to go to Fabio's restaurant and after a very friendly greeting I was very disappointed.
Our server was ghost like and getting a new fork between each course was difficult. The appetizers of Buratta caprese salad and the tar tar were the best part of the meal. The entrees of pesto gnocchi (chewy) and the short ribs (dry) were not good, under seasoned and not worth complaining about. We left still hungry. Perhaps it was an off, over crowded Saturday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IsaacWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good experience, all around”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is the third visit, and best so far. The gnocchi was perfect, all in the party were pleased with their choices.
Only down side, our waitress was a little unknowledgeable about Grappa, not a big thing since Fabio came out and had a chat with us.
Very welcoming, nice setting.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food in Moorpark”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It is somewhat a surprise finding this oppulently designed restaurant in a strip mall shopping center on Los Angeles street in sleepy Moorpark. Once you get past the Big Lots and Pollo Locco signs, you will be transported into a lovely decorated interior with roomy booths and courtyard. The food is excellent. I ordered off the light menu and had savory califlower and dover sole. My husband had the ciopionno and he said it too was outstanding. We will be sure to go back. You need to make reservations because on weekends it does fill up. The owner was on Top Chef and does go table to table. I cannot recall his name but he was gracious. The was a soloist with guitar as well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bella Cucina”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Took my family there for birthday dinners. Outstanding. Delcious Calamari appetizer, I had Frutta di Mare or fish with linguine, other dishes were Chicken Marsdala, Shortbread Ravioi, Pork over Risotto. Everyone loved their dinners and we each tried the different varieties. The dessert was scrumptious, served in beautful glasses were Tiramisu, Chocolate Mousse, Strawberries and cream. The ambiance is beautiful and we sat in the Wine Room where it was quiet and the service was wonderful. We all thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and I'm anxious to return in December when I visit my family again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjmalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Firenze also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing