We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“so sweet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so sweet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This place is such a great take on a classic old motor lodge. The way the rooms have been redone are really lovely, elegant and very comfortable. The staff is uber pleasant, attentive and accommodating. Great for traveling with a pet. I have to look no further for lodging when ever I'm in Morro Bay. The only thing I would add would be a separate container for recycling. But for the price, it's a great find, really a treat.

Room Tip: The Pacific unit is great for a larger group, because of the 2 separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florafuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    136
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
140
315
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We loved this place!!

I've booked this place based on the tripadvisor reviews and I wasnt disappointed. We arrived at around 20.00 and as this is a family business there was nobody there to receive us, but they left the envelope with our names and the room keys there for us, so all was ok.

The rooms are really well decorated, very modern and stylish, you might not think that once you see the place from outside, as it looks as any ordinary hotel in America, but is very stylish and we loved that. Also, the rooms are very big, with lots of space and even a chimney, which we also enjoyed very much!!

They give you a voucher to have breakfast at a selection of local diners and cafes, we choose the one the owner recommended and we were more than happy with it.

At night you can hear the seals from Morro Bay, at the begining I didnt know what was that noise, then I realized it was the seals.

From the hotel you can easily walk a few blocks and you will be at the sea and will be able to see the seals, really nice.

I definetly will recommend this place to all the people I know that will visit Morro Bay, it was not expensive compared to other alternatives in the area and we got a great room.

Room Tip: any room would be a good choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pati-chueca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Very clean and affordable spot in Morro Bay. We enjoyed the charming tourist town and will be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k890290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My wife and I stayed in a Sand Dollar room in Nov 2011 for four nights. It's a charming, old fashioned motor hotel. The staff was fantastic and eager to please. The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. The problem was the size of our room--it was tiny. It was so small, it was hard to even move around. No closet--two hooks were provided to hang clothes. One desk chair is provided but the bed's the only other place to sit. The bathroom was small, too... very little space for your toiletries. Heat's provided by a gas fireplace--kinda cool but takes forever to warm the room on a cold night. If we visit Morro Bay again, we'll likely try to find something with larger rooms--a view would be nice, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave73y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picade, Managing Partner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I was sorry to read that the Sand Dollar room did not meet your needs while you stayed with us. The single queen configuration is cozy.

At the time you placed your reservation the Sand Dollar was the only room available for 4 consecutive nights. Please consider our single king rooms the Estero or Monarch which are both more than double the Sand Dollar in size and the Estuary or Sandspit which are nearly triple with the "top of the Rock" views for your future visits to Morro Bay. All 4 of the single king rooms have closets or armoires and slipper chairs or seating areas with either an activity table or coffee table, and plenty of room to relax by the fireplace and read a book or chat.

We do hope that you return.

Joan Solu - Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I have been coming to Morro Bay for years as a half way point between N, and S. California. This year I tried this 'boutique style motel' after reading the reviews
on Trip Advisor. What a find! The best feature is the bed/bedding. It may have been the best nights sleep I have ever had. Once you are in your bungalow room, you feel you are the only guest as it is very quiet and cozy. I was impressed with the details these thoughtful owners have included in your room, including a night light for the bathroom and quality shampoo, soap, lotion, etc. They have a visitors journal available in the room to write and share your experience in Morro Bay and the Inn. Most impressive is the complementary breakfast at one of three fantastic local restaurants. (Frankie and Lolas is the bomb!!! I had enough food for 3 which was delish!! I hated to leave after my stay, but had to get on to LA. I hope to stay here again over the Christmas holiday. Try it, you'll love it.

Room Tip: I think each room has something special to offer. It is so charming, you can't go wrong. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemergal320ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites mid-October. We needed a place to stay for one night along the route from Santa Barbara to Monterey, and Morro Bay was the right distance to nicely break up our drive. Research on TripAdvisor brought us to Beach Bungalow.

We found the room to be beautifully renovated, spotless, spacious and exactly as represented in photos.

Our room was equipped with a king bed, crisp white linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, wood floors, mini refrigerator, and gas fireplace. The room and bathroom was immaculate.

As previously mentioned, photos of the entrance/outside area don’t do it justice. The inn has a gas operated fire pit and Adirondack chairs for guests. A nice touch and a perfect place to watch the sun set.

Breakfast is included with your stay. The staff recommended we try Frankie & Lola’s which was a short walk away. The food was absolutely fantastic and the service was great.

The only head-scratchers were loud noises in the middle of the night: one was from a street sweeper and the other sounded similar to a fog horn but wasn't (I'm from the east coast and am familiar with what a fog horn sounds like).

Would recommend and would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed here in mid October on the last night of our West Coast road trip. The exterior is beach bungalow cute and our room was more luxiourious than we expected. The bed was very comfortable with lovely linens, and the bathroom was spotless and stocked with Neutrogena products. It's a very easy walk to the water front. After walking back from dinner, we enjoyed sitting outside in the Adirondack chairs in front of the cozy fire pit. Also, they gave us a coupon for breakfast (choice of three places). Our one caution is that our room was directly on the roadside so was pretty noisy. If we were to stay again, we would ask for a room off the street.

Room Tip: Our one caution is that our room was directly on the roadside so was pretty noisy. We suggest you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.7 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.9 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 km away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing