We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fireside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Morro Bay(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$174
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masterpiece Hotel(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western San Marcos Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Tradewinds(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western El Rancho(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Serena Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundown Inn(Morro Bay)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estero Inn(Morro Bay)
US$259
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
33
56
43
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
56
43
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleantypical hotelparked our carwaterfront shopssliding glass doortwo blockslocation is excellentstayed one nightwater frontstay there againeasy accessmorro rockcoffee makerhearst castlebaymotornorman
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 172 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017

When I motor to Morro Bay, I stay at the “Fireside Inn.” A quick get-away from the City , I can luxuriate in the spacious, unpretentious accommodation of the Inn, within my budget during the week; on weekends I stay there anyway. I like the view. I like the cleanliness. I like the balcony and, I like the fireplace. The proprietors are fab.

Room Tip: ask for what you want, i.e.balcony;fireplace;view
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideInnMorroBay, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Dear Neva A,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities that are included. The staff works very hard to make guests feel at home and to make sure the rooms are clean. We hope to see you again soon. Please don't hesitate to call the hotel directly at (805) 772-2244 to make reservations.

Best regards,
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2017

The hotel location is very convenient to the restaurants/shops. We were only 2 blocks off the main road and we did not have to drive to get to the activity region of the town. The rooms were very clean and we had a very good night sleep. We meet the owner and he went out of his way to make sure we had a pleasant stay.
We would stay at this hotel again.
DF- Texas

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfeltmann2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideInnMorroBay, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Dear dfeltmann2017,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We are also glad you found our location to be convenient, it helps to be located near many shops in restaurants in downtown Morro Bay. We hope to see you again soon, and are able to enjoy the many activities this town has to offer. We hope the rest of your trip went well. Please do not hesitate to call the hotel to make reservations for you next visit at (805)772-2244.

Best regards,
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

We decided to stay here without first reading previous reviews and solely basing the decision on the motel's website, which painted it as a picture of idyllic. I will start by saying that the ONLY reason I'm not giving it 1 star is due to the perfect location just a block away from the marina with its great selection of shops and restaurants. Just two minutes walk away. The only positive (oh, and that the towels were also really new and fluffy)!

Ok, so where to begin? On arrival the room smelled musty and I noticed there were hairs stuck to the wall above the wash basin. The wifi was very flakey and kept losing connection every few minutes. The hair dryer weirdly only worked when holding down the On button with one hand and operating with the other, leaving no hands spare. There was only one working light bulb in the main bedroom area.

Moving on now to the main problems. Every time anyone neighbouring ran their water there was a huge noise in the room. The ice machine outside made noises constantly throughout the night, and we could here EVERYTHING our neighbours next door were doing - screaming kids, microwave being used, walking around the room. The walls were literally paper thin! And due to the horseshoe shape of the motel, any outside noise just bounced around and amplified in the room. This is seriously the most noisy place we've ever stayed!

And finally, this brings me to the 'complimentary breakfast'. Seriously... beyond a joke! The offering was coffee, juice and some cheap and nasty Danish pastries. This really was the poorest excuse for 'breakfast' I've ever experienced. Why even bother?

Apparently we only paid half price for this room via Bookings.com at $97 including tax. I find this appalling, but how this place can seriously charge nearly $200 per night is beyond a joke! Please, don't waste your money staying here!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideInnMorroBay, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Dear Jane P,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback into consideration to help better the hotel and our guests experience. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we apologize for the inconvenience and will make sure our maintenance staff attends to these problems. We will also continue to train housekeeping on proper reporting and cleaning procedures so that instances like these are taken care of before a guest occupies the room. While this is an older facility, we do our best to minimize any disturbances. We enforce quiet hours between 10PM and 8AM, and our staff would have been able to help resolve any issues with noisy neighbors if notified. Our continental breakfast includes three different types of danishes and muffins, orange juice, and coffee. It is not a full breakfast, but rather something quick to help you get your day started, but we do understand there are areas of our breakfast in which we can improve. Prices displayed on booking.com display the highest rate a particular room has been sold for in the month and does not necessarily display any discounts you may have received. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and fluffy towels. We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Best regards,
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I stayed 3 nights at the Fireside Inn recently. On the plus side, it is located just two blocks from the Embarcadero area (by the bay) and is close to many restaurants and the various shops in the townsite. There is a little hill to walk down but it is not lengthy. The room was clean and the plumbing, electricity, and heating worked fine. Each room has a tiny balcony off a sliding glass door. On the not so plus side, the bed was too firm for me, the flat screen TV was rather small to be seen adequately from across the room, the shower head was placed too high in the stall (there is only a shower), I could hear people talking in the adjacent room, and the breakfast was limited to coffee, some pastries, and what tasted like Tang. But for under $100 a night, it is a reasonable deal, and Morro Bay is a delightful place to explore. The staff were helpful when I asked questions.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank WStaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideInnMorroBay, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Dear WStaso,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback into consideration to help better the hotel and our guests experience. As a hotel we are always updating to make sure our guests are happy. While we can't change the height of the shower heads, we take into serious consideration the quality of bedding, breakfast options, etc. that we offer. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location, clean rooms, and found the staff to be friendly. These things are very important when traveling. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with excellent customer service.

Best regards,
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2017

We have stayed here two other times, and have always enjoyed our stays. It seems like this time the Inn is getting a bit run down. The location is excellent (just a block from the main drag). The rooms are still clean, and the price we paid for a two night stay was good, it just feels like the owners are letting things go. They provide the cheapest coffee and toiletries. There was no outside lighting so when it was dark I had a hard time going up ad down the stairs without almost tripping. I think for or two nights this place would be OK, but go somewhere else for longer stays.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideInnMorroBay, Manager at Fireside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2017

Dear Judy,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations during your stay at the hotel. We take all feedback into consideration to help better the hotel and our guests experience. As a hotel we are always updating to make sure our guests are happy, and are in the process of sourcing better amenities for our guests. While we have installed bright LED exterior lighting, we apologize that it was difficult to see the steps, and will make sure the timers are correctly set. We are glad you found the hotel to be clean and in a convenient location. These things are very important when traveling. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with excellent customer service.

Best regards,
Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews