We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must give it a try!”
Review of Hotel Aria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aria
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must give it a try!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was first skeptical about staying at this hotel by reading the reviews, but I am so glad I took a chance!

Rooms are very clean! confy bed and everything so nice and tidy!
Service is great! all my requests were taken care of ASAP!
Front desk staff was always asking if I needed anything!
Although it is on El Camino Rd the hotel itself is very quiet! pool area very nice to just relax and work!
Breakfast is very decent! not just bagels and cereal but hot breakfast too!
Rate is very decent as well for what you get!
WI-FI works great!
Will deffinately be coming back! makes you feel very welcomed

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    46
    24
    19
See reviews for
23
20
20
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado springs
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

a few thoughts...
room is clean but dated, stained carpet, manky looking chair. bed was comfy but horrible pillows and not great linens. shower hasnt been hot since we arrived; lukewarm at best. tv reception looks like we are running off old school rabbit ears. dont count on the continental breakfast unless you like microwave eggs, rubbery sausage and stale bagels. yuk! the hotel is super quiet-ask for a room in the back. for the outrageous silicon valley prices of hotels i guess this isnt bad but if you have the money to spend go to the westin!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here with our two kids. You cannot beat the price for a hotel in this location, and the room came with free breakfast with a choice of cereals, muffins, eggs, sausages, toast, juices, and coffee. The hotel also offers free Internet, which I thought was on the slower side but still very usable and a nice plus. The room and beds were comfortable and clean, although of basic style. The hotel has an inner court with a pool and hot tub, which seemed pleasant but which we didn't use.

Room Tip: We had a room on the parking lot left side of the building, which was quiet. The rooms on the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lt3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2011

From out of town, I was unfamiliar with the area surrounding Stanford University Hospital. Hotel Aria is relatively affordable in a good, modern area about four (4) miles from the hospital. There are many places to eat nearby. You need to know, other hotels on the same street, El Camino Real, but in the opposite direction from the hospital, are in much older neighborhoods.

The manager and staff were very kind and accommodating and extended my stay another 2 nights on short notice when my son's hospital stay was extended. I did not have to change rooms, and the manager gave me the same discounted room rate even though area hotels were full due to a soccer tournament. I sensed it gave him joy to help me and my son through a difficult time.

The room was comfortable, roomy and quiet. I would definitely go back. I learned the street, El Camino Real, was the original road connecting the missions in California.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in November 11 on business in the area. Check-in was fine, staff helpful and explained the set up of the hotel. Given a room on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel (earlier advisor recommended this... thank you!) It was a long walk from reception to the room, but later if you had a car you could park and gain access with no problems.

I had a standard room, the size of the room was fine, it had a king-size bed, separate large chair, desk, plenty of power points, bathroom and sink area. The television had many channels, movie channels, the tv was an old style one (could do with newer flat screen ones)
the room was spotlessly clean, the housekeepers do a good job, the only real problems were: The room could do with a modern TV, the air/con could do with working, the bathrooms although clean had a one-piece moulded plastic framework around the shower although again clean it felt cheap and old-fashioned.

The biggest negative and its one that really lets the hotel down is the breakfast.... the food is all processed, it is not exactly what you want to wake up to and sit and enjoy, the coffee was fine, the muffins and pastries were ok, but the processed omelette looking cheese filled "things" were just horrible and that was complimented by some mini sausage looking "things" .... and to finish it off... it was all plastic cups, cutlery and throw away plates...these alone let the hotel down in my opinion.

I also agree on previous comments on the worn carpets...but I decided not to spend my time taking pictures!....if its being used its going to get worn....

The location was fine, the main el camino real that takes you into San Jose or up into other parts of silicon Valley was directly outside and could be noisy for some guests.

The area should be explored by car, its not for those without cars... if you don't have a car, maybe stay in Palo Alto - at least there are local stores and a high street to walk down.

I'm over in the bay area often, I stayed in Milpitas previously and in Palo Alto the first time, if given a choice, i'm going to look elsewhere next time, but please dont let this review put you off. In short, its clean, it does the job, the hotel can only go "up" in terms of adding the new features etc.. so you never know in 12-18 months improvments may be made.....

I do recommend the Stanford Shopping Mall, the creamary for breakfasts... LOL real cutlery.. what a treat! ;-) and this time I explored plenty of restaurants in the area... all good.

Room Tip: High Floor - at the back of the hotel.... and pack a metal knife, fork and spoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Good, inexpensive hotel to stay for a couple of nights. Rooms in the back are comfortable, quiet and clean. Parking is close. The continental breakfast is good with a variety of pastries, cereals, eggs and waffles. Outdoor pool and spa are fun. Staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We were slightly taken aback when we arrived at this hotel. The exterior is not very attractive and could use some flower pots at the entry (and get rid of the ugly ash tray with cigarette butts outside the front door.) The rugs on the staircase and in the halls are worn and should be replaced.

But these flaws were quickly forgotten because of the comfortable room and great service we received at this hotel. Every staff person we came into contact with (we stayed seven nights) was friendly, helpful and professional. They truly made our stay enjoyable and are the reason we will book here again.

We had a standard king room on the second floor and it was clean and quiet. There was a slightly larger-than normal mini-fridge and a microwave. I liked the sink and large counter, which were outside the shower-tub and toilet room. The complimentary wireless connection was fast and reliable.

The breakfast room was cheerful and a staff member was always nearby cleaning-up spills and washing the tables between guests during the breakfast hours. There was hot food (scrambled eggs and cheese omelets on alternating days, biscuits and gravy, sausage and bacon) and cereal, pastries, fruit, English muffins and bagels with a toaster. No waffle-maker, though.

The pool area was in an interior courtyard and was very pleasant. There were patio tables with umbrellas and chairs and lounge chairs with small side tables. It was never noisy or crowded at the pool and I think the hotel was quite full during our stay.

This hotel was a very good value (we had a rate negotiated by the event we were attending.) We had numerous friends in nearby hotels that were not as pleased as we were with our accommodations and staff.

If you can overlook a few first impressions and like exceptional service, this hotel will be a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face El Camino Real - it is a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaGal_Seattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountain View
1.2 km away
Mountain View Inn
Mountain View Inn
#10 of 18 in Mountain View
216 reviews
5.9 km away
Hotel Avante, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
4.6 km away
Hotel Vue
Hotel Vue
#6 of 18 in Mountain View
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
943 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Zico
Hotel Zico
#4 of 18 in Mountain View
478 reviews
2.3 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aria

Property: Hotel Aria
Address: 2700 W El Camino Real, Mountain View, CA 94040-1118 (Formerly Varkins Hotel)
Region: United States > California > Mountain View
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aria 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Google Inc, Hewlet Packard Corporation, Stanford University, California’s Great Adventure, Aqua Adventure Waterpark, San Jose Convention Center and Shoreline Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Aria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mountain View
Mountain View Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mountain View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing