We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Murphys Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphys Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Clean and helpful staff. Quiet and far enough off the highway but still in the center of everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roywasilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    106
    25
    3
    10
See reviews for
58
104
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I have stayed at the Murphys Inn numerous times with my wife and other times with my brother. Each time we have found the accomodations to be great. The rooms as well as the lobby and front desk are very clean. The staff is extremely helpful. My wife and I were there last on our anniversary and the desk staff took care of our dinner reservations at a wonderful place, the Alchemy (great food, live entertainment). For those that complained about no breakfast, Grounds in town serves a great breakfast. As far as dinners, there are several places in town that serve wonderful meals. The price of the rooms can't be beat, especially if you ask for the 15% internet discount.
I almost hate to write a good review as we would like to the Murphys Inn and the town of Murphys our secret.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocknsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We have stayed here a couple of other times and being that it was a Sunday evening we thought we would not have to pay weekend rates. Not only that no breakfast is offered as there was a cafe next door. It would have been a better deal to go down the street to a B&B. There is not much of a choice in Murphys and probably would have been better to go down to Angels Camp.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2iks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunbun1, Guest Relations Manager at Murphys Inn Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Murphys Inn Motel has changed policy to include Sunday as a mid-week day and Mid-week prices are the same year round. No increase for peak season as of June 2010. All rates and pricing schedules are subject to change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Seriously, are the walls made of paper here? If you are a light sleeper or have a hard time staying asleep, bring your ear plugs! We could hear the neighbors having a normal conversation through the walls. I hate that. Big pet peeve of mine.
Pros: walking distance to everything in Murphys; clean; coffee maker.
Cons: no hotel designated parking (if you're paying $139/night, you really should have parking spaces designated for your guests only, not the entire town); bad pillows (picky, I know).
We were here for Irish Day which is a major event in Murphys. That's why we were cranky when there was no one controlling who parked in the hotel parking lot. We're paying to stay here, we should have a parking spot. For the price we paid for this particular weekend, I would NOT recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

My husband and I (and another couple) stayed at the Murphys Inn when visiting friends who live in the area. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We had previously stayed in the Murphys Suites which is fine, but seems very unfriendly to me. The Murphys Inn was much cozier, the front desk employee was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, nice bed and soft sheets. And it was very clean. We will probably stay there again on our next visit with our friends.

  • Liked — It was very clean - bathroom looked new
  • Disliked — Needs some other room redecorating
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2008

I have been staying here off & on through the summer working at ironstone winery on business & there is nothing wrong with this hotel, The location is within walking distance of down town, A super market is right behind it and there is a great pizza place called Pizza Plus witch dose not suck, Rooms are clean shower works fine and there is Free Wi-Fi the only complaint I would have is the beds are a little hard but I have had worse for more money.

  • Liked — Truck Parking, Near Food And Stores, Friendly People.
  • Disliked — Beds Are A Little Hard For Me.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkmil10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little concerned about staying there, but I was pleasantly suprised. Is it a Marriott resort? No, but it is clean, comfortable, and close to downtown Murphys, which is a great old gold rush town. We only stayed there overnight, but it was a great home base for a number of business/pleasure trips to local wineries and other local businesses. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice, quiet place to stay for a few days while exploring that part of the world. Also, they have free internet in the lobby which was good for checking e-mail while we were away.

  • Liked — Convenience to downtown, quiet, decent room
  • Disliked — A little dated, not immediately adjacent to much in the way of food or drink.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rudymaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.4 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
204 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
20.7 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort
18.5 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
395 reviews
11.3 km away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphys Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphys Inn Motel

Property: Murphys Inn Motel
Address: 76 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9464
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphys Inn Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Murphys Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphys Hotel Murphys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing