We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!”

Ironstone Vineyards
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Where history and wine meet." Ironstone Vineyards is a premier destination winery located in Murphys, California. Amenities include our Tasting Room & Gold Leaf Deli, Heritage Museum (home to our 44-pound crystalline gold piece) & Jewelry Shoppe, Amphitheater, plush gardens featuring a lakeside park, and complimentary tours of our facilities. Our wines reflect the diversity of offerings from the Lodi and Sierra Foothills Appellations of Northern California. Through emphasizing the practice of Sustainable Viticulture, Ironstone Vineyards conserves water use, builds healthy soil, and maintains our surrounding wildlife habitat. Please Note: We are closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

Staff are friendly & interesting place. Any history buff should enjoy it, make sure you check out the gold nugget!

Thank joanstrassner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gold nugget"
in 31 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 19 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 48 reviews
"tasting room"
in 25 reviews
"concert venue"
in 6 reviews
"on site"
in 9 reviews
"special events"
in 5 reviews
"jewelry store"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 5 reviews
"outdoor amphitheater"
in 7 reviews
"big name"
in 4 reviews
"gold rush"
in 4 reviews
"interesting museum"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 6 reviews
"lovely winery"
in 3 reviews
"first rate"
in 3 reviews
"chenin blanc"
in 3 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Great place to wine taste with reasonable prices. You choose 6 to taste for $5, but it's free if you buy a bottle. The wine quality Definitely surprised us since this place looks more corporate and touristy. They have a museum on site with the largest gold nugget ever found. Worth the time to tour this place. The grounds are beautiful and well kept.

Thank RustyWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

Glad you could join us for a tasting! Despite that "corporate" feel, we are proudly family owned and operated since 1989. We strive to make approachable and affordable wines for all to enjoy.

Please visit us anytime you are in the area! Our wine list changes often, so there is always something new to please your palate! You can also find new additions to our grounds for exploring alongside our mainstays (like the 44-pound crystalline gold piece).

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Fabulous venue but can be hot, hot, hot until the sun goes down. Jason Mraz was FABULOUS! Use the restrooms to the left of the stage to avoid long lines elsewhere. They are kept amazingly clean. The event was well run with plenty of staff to help and I would recommend this venue for a nice relaxing (and romantic) evening.

Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2017

Nancy,

You picked the perfect night for a visit! Jason Mraz hosted a memorable evening for all in attendance. We have to give extra credit to the hardworking crew that ensures our restrooms are well maintained for every show.

Please join us again for a concert, or just to relax with a little wine tasting and lakeside picnic. You can always find relief from the summer heat in our wine caves.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

We went to a concert here. It was all good. As a person with a disability I would suggest a bit more attention to making the experience easier for those with mobility impairments. Standing in a long line and then a trudge through gravel was a challenge.

Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Glad you could join us for our Summer Concert Series. We hope you enjoyed the show!

We appreciate your feedback regarding accommodations for guests with disabilities. It's important to hear the guests perspective so we can continuously improve the experience. Should you return for a concert, or simply to enjoy our grounds, feel free to contact me at jessica@ironstonevineyards.com. I am happy to ensure we can accommodate you comfortably.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Our car club went there after lunch for a tour & wine tasting. The facility has a good bar for tasting, an interesting museum & outside grounds with trees & flowers that are like an arboretum. A good time was had by all & we went back to our condos with delicious wine.

Thank srashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2017

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ironstone Vineyards! Please return anytime you are in the area, as we always have a new wine to sample or a new addition to our grounds for exploring.

As a car enthusiast, we invite you to join us for our 21st Annual Concours d'Elegance. This event takes place on Saturday, September 23rd, and features a curated selection of vintage American and European automobiles throughout the grounds. It's a day of family fun you are sure to enjoy!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironstone Vineyards also viewed

Murphys, Calaveras County
Murphys, Calaveras County
 
Angels Camp, Calaveras County
 

Been to Ironstone Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing