We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
A fine afternoon

We visited the winery we local friends. It's a very pleasant place..a great tasting room and a nice... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
William C
via mobile
Gold flake

The wines and grounds are worth the trip. But the gold flake on display is the cherry on top... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Fred C
via mobile
Read all 281 reviews
  
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
180
78
16
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
78
16
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold nugget beautiful grounds wine tasting tasting room concert venue on site special events beautiful venue outdoor amphitheater porta potties big name gold rush interesting museum willie nelson for sale lovely winery first rate
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 281 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Set back in the town of Murphys is this jewel of a winery. Walking the road to it, leads you to its gates as you cross a beautiful creek. Historic cabin, vintage machinery, gold rush items, a museum with the largest nugget (44 lbs) ever found, are just a few points of interest. On site restaurant, cooking classes, restored Wurlitzer organ, event center, pond- this place has it all with class. Huge fireplace and expansive windows from the dining area give way to beautiful ground views. Incredible wines finish off the visit. Don’t miss this winery if in the area

Thank cwiltens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! You describe our home in such great detail, we think you have a future as our next Tour Guide.

When breaking ground in 1989, the Kautz family envisioned a destination winery unlike any other. We strive to honor the history and beauty of Gold Country, and our grounds are always open to the public!

Please return anytime you are in the area. Our Tasting Room list and Gold Leaf Deli menu change with the seasons, as do our extensive gardens. If you are a music lover, our Summer Concert Series is a must! Or you can always catch our pipe organ in action during one of our silent movie nights!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018

The wine tasting at ironstonewas enjoyable. What seems to be left off the reviews was the history associated with this vineyard. Their museum has some fantastic acrological finds, like a cave bear Skelton that is over 20000 years old. A gold nugget worth overv3.5 million dollars and many other things. The cafe there is first rate, the sandwiches and soups were excellent.

Thank stephenwN4327RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Stephen,

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! We appreciate the kind words about our Heritage Museum.

Our goal when building Ironstone was to create a destination that honors the beauty and history of Gold Country. In addition to our historical collection, other pieces (such as the skeleton) have been amassed by our founder, John Kautz. It's not unusual to spot a new addition to the Heritage Museum with every visit!

Please return anytime you are in the area. With a rotating tasting lineup, seasonal deli menu, and year-round events, there is always something new to explore.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevienyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Large lawns, many trees, a lake, restful place for picnicing, short trails for walking. Large amphitheater and concerts, museum with one of the largest gold flake nuggets in a vault for viewing only, and antiques for sale. The Half barrels are filled with flowers of the season, ie: tulips overflowing in the spring, etc. Have returned several times, the daffodils poking through the snow is gorgeous on the winding drive through vineyards. Attended the Phantom of the Opera black and white 1925 silent movie. The pipe organist is absolutely amazing, explains and demonstrates before the show. An opera singer also performed. The buffet dinner was delicious, the table and decorations were so fitting for the evening. Can visit the underground storage caves with giant waterfall - sometimes there are tours. Near historid town of Murphys.

Thank 704Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! The Kautz family vision was to create a destination unlike any other in Northern California. We are happy to see this come to fruition through the eyes of our guests!

Please return anytime you are in the area. Our gardens change with the season, and we have year-round events for the whole family to enjoy. If you enjoy live music, our Summer Concert Series is not to be missed. Stay tuned, as our 2018 lineup should be announced soon.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Our group of 7 Ladies just had a wonderful day there. We did a cooking seminar that lasted over 5 hours.There were 18 of Us in a very fun group. Chef Chip and all his staff were fantastic. We got demos, a recipe book, prepared dishes, drank wine and learned alot. Then we got to eat all the delicious food paired with the correct wines.
We then went upstairs and did some more tasting in their beautiful tasting room, and shopped a bit and bought wine.
The grounds are beautiful, and there is a huge outdoor amphitheater they do concerts in, a museum and shops. Lots to do. Cannot say enough good about Ironstone. Even Dave in the tasting room was friendly and very knowledgeable as well.
GO AND HAVE FUN !!! A must do when in the area.

Thank trra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you for spending the day at Ironstone Vineyards! We especially appreciate the kind words about our staff, including Chef Chip and Dave.

Sounds like you ladies joined us during our "Bites for the Big Game" cooking class. We can't wait for you to impress your Super Bowl guests with your newfound culinary skills! More importantly, we are glad you could make memories to cherish during your visit.

Please return anytime you are in the area! We love seeing familiar faces, and always have a fun event in the lineup. Gather the ladies and return for the Summer Concert Series. There is nothing more memorable than a night filled with great music, great wine, and great company under the stars. The lineup should be announced soon!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2018

We had a lovely tasting experience at Ironstone! Our server, Jeff, was knowledgeable about the wines, friendly, and attentive. The wines were really yummy - the chenin blanc, the Sympony (white and red), the merlot, the old vine zins....lots of delicious wines for lots of different palates. This was our favorite winery and best experience tasting in Murphys.
The winery is beautiful - lovely artifacts from estate sales. The on-site cafe also looked tasty. They also offer cooking classes. Wish we could have come back for the "silent movie" night with buffet -- next time!

Thank Cauliflower81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thank you for stopping by Ironstone Vineyards! We will pass the kind words along to Jeff.

You can keep up to date on our events by visiting our website. We have several silent movie showings throughout the year (Phantom of the Opera is always a favorite). If you are a fan of live music, our Summer Concert Series is a must-see (the 2018 line-up will be revealed soon)!

With an evolving wine list, seasonal deli items, and year-round events, there is something new to explore with every visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews