We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of things to see!”

Ironstone Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.00*
and up
Reserve Tasting
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Murphys
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "Where history and wine meet." Ironstone Vineyards is a premier destination winery located in Murphys, California. Amenities include our Tasting Room & Gold Leaf Deli, Heritage Museum (home to our 44-pound crystalline gold piece) & Jewelry Shoppe, Amphitheater, plush gardens featuring a lakeside park, and complimentary tours of our facilities. Our wines reflect the diversity of offerings from the Lodi and Sierra Foothills Appellations of Northern California. Through emphasizing the practice of Sustainable Viticulture, Ironstone Vineyards conserves water use, builds healthy soil, and maintains our surrounding wildlife habitat. Please Note: We are closed on Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
Reviewed March 30, 2018

The flowers are beautiful and plentiful here! The large golden nugget is awesome in the vault inside the museum. We tasted wine, which was very good. The employees were very helpful and nice. This is a wonderful place to visit and stay for a good while.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Paula O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Paula,

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! As you can see, we have a little bit of everything and something for everyone!

Please return anytime you are in the are.With a rotating tasting lineup, seasonal gardens, and year-round events, there is always something new to explore. The one thing that never changes is our hospitality.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gold nugget"
in 32 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 20 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 53 reviews
"sandwich"
in 11 reviews
"tasting room"
in 27 reviews
"concert venue"
in 7 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 6 reviews
"on site"
in 9 reviews
"special events"
in 5 reviews
"gold country"
in 11 reviews
"outdoor amphitheater"
in 7 reviews
"big name"
in 4 reviews
"free parking"
in 4 reviews
"willie nelson"
in 3 reviews
"pleasant place"
in 3 reviews
"lovely winery"
in 3 reviews
"first rate"
in 3 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Set back in the town of Murphys is this jewel of a winery. Walking the road to it, leads you to its gates as you cross a beautiful creek. Historic cabin, vintage machinery, gold rush items, a museum with the largest nugget (44 lbs) ever found, are just a few points of interest. On site restaurant, cooking classes, restored Wurlitzer organ, event center, pond- this place has it all with class. Huge fireplace and expansive windows from the dining area give way to beautiful ground views. Incredible wines finish off the visit. Don’t miss this winery if in the area

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank cwiltens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, Social Media Manager at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! You describe our home in such great detail, we think you have a future as our next Tour Guide.

When breaking ground in 1989, the Kautz family envisioned a destination winery unlike any other. We strive to honor the history and beauty of Gold Country, and our grounds are always open to the public!

Please return anytime you are in the area. Our Tasting Room list and Gold Leaf Deli menu change with the seasons, as do our extensive gardens. If you are a music lover, our Summer Concert Series is a must! Or you can always catch our pipe organ in action during one of our silent movie nights!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2018

The wine tasting at ironstonewas enjoyable. What seems to be left off the reviews was the history associated with this vineyard. Their museum has some fantastic acrological finds, like a cave bear Skelton that is over 20000 years old. A gold nugget worth overv3.5 million dollars and many other things. The cafe there is first rate, the sandwiches and soups were excellent.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank stephenwN4327RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2018

Stephen,

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! We appreciate the kind words about our Heritage Museum.

Our goal when building Ironstone was to create a destination that honors the beauty and history of Gold Country. In addition to our historical collection, other pieces (such as the skeleton) have been amassed by our founder, John Kautz. It's not unusual to spot a new addition to the Heritage Museum with every visit!

Please return anytime you are in the area. With a rotating tasting lineup, seasonal deli menu, and year-round events, there is always something new to explore.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevienyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Large lawns, many trees, a lake, restful place for picnicing, short trails for walking. Large amphitheater and concerts, museum with one of the largest gold flake nuggets in a vault for viewing only, and antiques for sale. The Half barrels are filled with flowers of the season, ie: tulips overflowing in the spring, etc. Have returned several times, the daffodils poking through the snow is gorgeous on the winding drive through vineyards. Attended the Phantom of the Opera black and white 1925 silent movie. The pipe organist is absolutely amazing, explains and demonstrates before the show. An opera singer also performed. The buffet dinner was delicious, the table and decorations were so fitting for the evening. Can visit the underground storage caves with giant waterfall - sometimes there are tours. Near historid town of Murphys.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 704Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thank you for visiting Ironstone Vineyards! The Kautz family vision was to create a destination unlike any other in Northern California. We are happy to see this come to fruition through the eyes of our guests!

Please return anytime you are in the area. Our gardens change with the season, and we have year-round events for the whole family to enjoy. If you enjoy live music, our Summer Concert Series is not to be missed. Stay tuned, as our 2018 lineup should be announced soon.

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

Our group of 7 Ladies just had a wonderful day there. We did a cooking seminar that lasted over 5 hours.There were 18 of Us in a very fun group. Chef Chip and all his staff were fantastic. We got demos, a recipe book, prepared dishes, drank wine and learned alot. Then we got to eat all the delicious food paired with the correct wines.
We then went upstairs and did some more tasting in their beautiful tasting room, and shopped a bit and bought wine.
The grounds are beautiful, and there is a huge outdoor amphitheater they do concerts in, a museum and shops. Lots to do. Cannot say enough good about Ironstone. Even Dave in the tasting room was friendly and very knowledgeable as well.
GO AND HAVE FUN !!! A must do when in the area.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank trra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronstoneVineyards, other at Ironstone Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2018

Thank you for spending the day at Ironstone Vineyards! We especially appreciate the kind words about our staff, including Chef Chip and Dave.

Sounds like you ladies joined us during our "Bites for the Big Game" cooking class. We can't wait for you to impress your Super Bowl guests with your newfound culinary skills! More importantly, we are glad you could make memories to cherish during your visit.

Please return anytime you are in the area! We love seeing familiar faces, and always have a fun event in the lineup. Gather the ladies and return for the Summer Concert Series. There is nothing more memorable than a night filled with great music, great wine, and great company under the stars. The lineup should be announced soon!

Cheers,

Jessica H.
Social Media Manager
Ironstone Vineyards
jessica@ironstonevineyards.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ironstone Vineyards also viewed

Murphys, Calaveras County
Murphys, Calaveras County
 
Murphys, Calaveras County
 

Been to Ironstone Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing