We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay!”
Review of Victoria Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphys
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Murphys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Victoria Inn is perfectly centered in Murphy's downtown district within walking distance to all the wine tasting and dining options that Murphy's has to offer. Wife and I have only stayed here during the weekdays and has been very quiet. Can say how the weekends would be. Staff very helpful and enjoyable. Nice continental type of breakfast included the following morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    47
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
119
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I spent two nights in the Sycamore Room. The room was simple and charming. Located above the courtyard, our room had a nice small balcony, which opened above the fountain. The staff were pleasant and the downtown location was superior. The dining area is quite small, and it only has a continental style breakfast. Next door there is a very good breakfast restaurant if you want a full breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLG_074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A quintessential B&B in a charming town. From the cottage style decor (ncluding clawfoot tub) to the continental breakfast, this place delivers on charm! The only concern is the noise you hear from the main street. A popular bar, Cactus Jack's, is located directly across the street and if there are bands playing, you will definitely hear it!

Room Tip: away from the street to avoid main street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverenoughtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Loved our time in Murphys... great wine, picnic and stay at the inn. We picnicked at Ironstone next to the lake (need to purchase picnic supplies there), then tasted exceptional wines at Newsome Harlow and Twisted Oak. We spent one night at the Victorian Inn. The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed and small balcony overlooking a lovely fountain and patio. Used their wifi connection with some difficulty but they're upgrading that. My husband was disappointed that there was no TV. That would have made our stay exceptional.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if you enjoy relaxing outside at the end of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiperfind
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife & I love this place. We first stayed here on our wedding night in January 2007, we've been back a couple times since, and simply love the room layouts. Some have tubs in-room, some separate, and each has so much character. Always very clean & in good working order, the Victoria Inn is where we stay up in and around Murphys. By the way, the restaurant downstairs is also very very good. Parking can be a bear, but otherwise it is very easy to get to, in the heart of downtown.

Room Tip: Go there, view the ones that are avaialble & choose! You can also go online & look over lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiperfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My sister, nieces and I took a road trip from San Francisco to Murphys and had a very pleasant one night stay at Victoria Inn. The rooms are furnished in a comfortable, lovely Victorian style with large private baths and excellent amenities. Nice sitting room off the lobby where a generous continental breakfast is served daily is also a good spot to enjoy anytime of the day. Try the inn's excellent V restaurant, too. And since the inn sits off the street (it has a Main Street address, but is tucked behind another building that faces Main Street), it's very quiet and yet perfectly accessible to all the shops, cafes and winery outposts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midcenturyantique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Well done for a recently-built place. Less expensive ($150) rooms have just enough room to squeak around in. Many good restaurants (one attached) nearby. The "but" is this: advertised as a B & B; it is not. It is a hotel w/ continental breakfast - about the same as for most modern hotels. So, as a B & B, I give it zero stars. As a pleasant hotel, I give it 3 stars only, again, 'cause the rooms are smaller than we usually get in a standard motel. Noise level is about the same as in modern hotels, but voices carried more loudly room to room. The ambiance is the draw here. Even rooms w/ big beds were on the small side. Our room did have a nice little deck, but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Plan that your room is just a place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelmates07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphys
0.8 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
196 reviews
10.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
21.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.0 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
215 reviews
0.6 km away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 402 Main St, Murphys, CA 95247-9695 (Formerly Rebud Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Murphys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Murphys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
During your stay with us at Victoria Inn in Murphys, in the heart of Calaveras in California, you can explore Yosemite National Park or Bear Valley Ski Area. If you prefer, stay local and stroll Main Street, enjoying the unique shops and restaurants. The area surrounding Murphys is the best rival to Napa Valley and noted for our vineyards and wineries. Whatever you choose to do, your day will end in a beautiful room in an elegant and comfortable home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing