We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delightful Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1801 First Luxury Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1801 First Luxury Inn
Ranked #3 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We traveled to Napa in September with another couple and stayed at 1801 First for four nights. It is a large, lovely old two-story house that has been beautifully maintained (or, perhaps restored--we didn't inquire.) Both couples took king bedded rooms. Ours was upstairs and a bit more expensive than theirs downstairs, but both rooms were large, charmingly decorated and had good beds and good sized, modern well appointed bathrooms with lots of outlets. I think there were about half a dozen rooms in the house. There were several additional rooms in one-story out buildings in the back of the house. They seemed equally nice but they only featured queen sized beds and we wanted kings so we stayed in the house.

The atmosphere here is very warm and welcoming. Breakfast is included with the room and is served in a pretty dining room. In order for the staff to serve breakfast in an efficient and timely fashion, they request that you let them know the night before what time you plan to eat and what you will be ordering from the menu. They were extremely accommodating about allergies and food preferences and gladly added or left things out on request. They asked if I wanted skim or regular milk with my cereal and when I said a prefererred soy milk, they offered to run out and pick some up for me. I declined but felt it was a very nice gesture. There's also pot of coffee available if you get up early and want to take a cup into the parlor or to your room.

There is only a small staff who share the tasks of answering the phone, manning the desk, providing concierge services and serving breakfast but they were all extremlely pleasant, helpful and efficient and they worked really hard to make us feel welcome and to make our visit to Napa enjoyable. They were very knowledgeable about things to do and places to go and were happy to make restaurant reservations for us. Every day around 5:00 or 6:00 they set up wine and cheese or other nibblies in the backyard area and guests could get together and socialize before going off to dinner. After we had checked out (and were already in Muir Woods) I realized I didn't have my diamond ring. As soon as I got somewhere with cell phone service, I went to call 1801 First and found there was already a message on my phone from Felice saying they had found my ring and were holding it for me. She held it for me until I got home and then Fedexed it to me so. I just loved this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grey_Haired_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    54
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
44
626
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I had a one night stay at 1801 First right before Thanksgiving. We'd purchased the stay through Jetsetter, and got a really good deal on our room. We originally booked one of the stand-alone rooms/cottages, and we were subsequently offered an upgrade to a suite in the main house, which we accepted. When we arrived in the afternoon, we were very impressed with the building - gorgeous Victorian in a nice neighborhood, but on a somewhat busy street. The entry and main floor public rooms were so lovely! The woman who checked us in was very nice, efficient, and offered us champagne before showing us to our room. The room, Amica Dolcetto, was cozy, immaculate and completely consistent with the photos we'd seen online. Big comfy bed, giant tub for two, nice amenities- it was definitely luxurious! Two things that surprised us, one major, one minor: first, the toilet in the bathroom was just out in the open, and not in a separate "water closet" and there's no door between the room and the bathroom - definitely not romantic! Second, and more minor, while the room has great skylights, my husband was a disappointed that there weren't any windows that you could actually look out of.

We had a great night's sleep, the busy street was not a bother at all. Breaksfast, which you schedule the evening before, was very nice- yummy little bakeds goods, coffee, juice, and our server was warm and friendly.

All in all, it was a very nice place to stay before the craziness of the long holiday weekend!

Room Tip: Make sure to inquire about the toilet situation in the room you're booking! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleS_dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

After searching and searching for a place to stay in Napa for our honeymoon, I came across a Jetsetter deal for 1801 First. We stayed in the carriage house, and boy are we missing it! This place truly could NOT have been more perfect for our honeymoon and first trip to Napa. Not only was the house perfect and way more than we expected, the customer service was A+++. Breakfast every morning was so yummy! Everyone who worked there was so nice and helpful, especially Tony. The first night we were there, he mapped out the best places he thought we should go to and see. We followed every piece of his advice and feel we had the perfect trip to Napa! If you stay here- take his restaurant recommendations!! In fact, take all of his recommendations! He sent us to the perfect spots and we could not be more thankful for his advice. We can't wait to come back to Napa and stay at 1801 First!! CAN NOT WAIT!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House and it was perfect for a honeymooning couple. Didn't see the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice B & B, that was homey. Set in a residential neighborhood, the B & B has multiple options for couples planning on staying a couple nights in wine country. The breakfast was great and the room was spacious and clean. I would definitley go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBlocal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was our first visit to Napa and we chose to stay at 1801 First Luxury Inn after reading so many positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a wonderful 3 night stay and really enjoyed the wine and appetizer hour, the delicious breakfasts and the helpful staff who make sure you have a great visit to Napa Valley. We made some wonderful friends with the other guests and can't wait to plan a return visit to Napa and 1801 First.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The 1801 Inn was a fabulous place to go for a long weekend to Napa. It was my first time to Napa County, and after some extensive online research - we settled on the 1801 Inn for the two nights we were visiting the area. The location was easily accessible to downtown Napa and walking distance (one mile) to the restaurants, and shopping.
The innkeeper made sure our visit with extra special since it was our anniversary with specially prepared chocolate truffles. On the first night the innkeeper's fiance did a first rated sommelier class with the inn's guests. This was a highlight because the following day we were wine touring with the Platypus Tour Groups (another top rated thing to do in Napa).

The breakfast's were amazing, well prepared with the chance to choose between two options the night before. The housekeepers made sure the rooms were spotless and cleaned not just spot wiped.

I cannot wait to return!!

Room Tip: There are rooms and there are cottages - you can choose to be in the main house or the guest houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Well the reviews are spot on... a beautiful house, perfectly and tastefully refurbished, every comfort and little luxury laid on. We had a suite off the main entrance which was beautiful and comfortable. We enjoyed the wine tasting and meeting some of the other guests in the garden. The only minor quibble was that the TV in our room was an ancient analog model - when we couldn't follow the instructions to turn it on, the staff couldn't have been kinder and offered fulsome apologies and a generous discount on our stay. It wouldn't take much to buy some new flat screen TVs - hopefully the owners will already have responded by doing so. I have to say, that for my own simple tastes, breakfast was a rather eclectic mixture of prettily presented sweet and savoury titbits but then I'm a Brit so may not be au fair with American tastes....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifermkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.3 km away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 km away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 23 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1801 First Luxury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1801 First Luxury Inn

Property: 1801 First Luxury Inn
Address: 1801 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1801 First Luxury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family operated Inn that has changed the mindset of the traditional bed and breakfast. 1801 First has been branded as a landmark property according to The Napa Landmarks Association and continues to be the curb appeal Inn for all tourists and locals alike! We have owned this beauty for 3 1/2 years and have loved being apart of its rich history. A true luxury Inn with graceful rounded bay windows, courtyard gardens and romantic fireplaced lodgings adorn this historic and newly revitalized Queen Anne Victorian. Designed in 1903 by prominent Napa architect William Corlett, 1801 First has been meticulously transformed into an inviting chic retreat, blending its stunning classic architecture with sophisticated styling and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your 1801 First Luxury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1801 1st Luxury Inn
1801 First Luxury Hotel Napa
1801 First Luxury Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing