We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay for our spontaneous Napa weekend”
Review of The Napa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Napa Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The Napa Inn is and absolutely gorgeous and fantastic place to stay while you are in Napa. The Inn itself is tucked in a quiet little neighborhood not far from downtown Napa and I was enamored with the charm the minute I saw it. The prices were perhaps a little less expensive that some of the other B&Bs in the area, and the also allow you to stay only one night, which was perfect for two spontaneous travelers from the Bay Area (us). As you walk in, you're transported back in time by the beautiful decor and furniture in the main room. When we arrived, we were given an extremely friendly welcome by the innkeeper, who gave us a map, magazine, tour of the house and run-down of the next morning's breakfast, which just furthered my excitement for my choice of lodging.

The room - The Victorian - was also beautifully decorated. It was quite large, with a queen bed, desk, vanity and small TV. I was amazed the size of the private bath, which holds a full sized-tub and separate shower. The only issue that we had with room is that there was about an inch and a half of space from the door to the floor. You could easily lean over and peer under. But, it did have adequate locks, and we just put our bags in front of it if we needed to block out the noise or light. So, if privacy is your thing, I would probably look into another room on a higher floor. We were on the second floor, so there was a bit of traffic. The bed was also a bit hard, which my husband loved, but I was a bit restless on.

The breakfast was TO DIE FOR! Since they only have room for a certain amount of people, there are two breakfast times. We chose the later - 9:15-10:00 time. We rolled out of bed and down promptly at 9:15 and were greeted with cereal, fruit, juice and coffee as a first course, and then were brought out our main course, which included eggs florentine, peach bread pudding and home-style potatoes. Everyone at the table RAVED about the bread pudding, and it was delicious. The eggs florentine were perfectly cooked and the potatoes perfectly seasoned. It was a breakfast to remember.

I'm such a sucker for old-style B&Bs, so I loved every minute, but I think that anyone would consider this place money well spent. If you're looking for a great stay in Napa, I highly recommend giving the Napa Inn a try.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our first trip to the Napa Valley, so we made a few mistakes. The first was staying in the city of Napa. It lacks the charm of the valley, and is a ways from most of the vineyards: a bit of a ghost town. The second was staying at The Napa Inn when we really wanted the wine country experience. Napa (city) is sleepy, though appears to be improving. The Napa Inn wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great as expected from reading review. The Roman suite is in a second historic home on the property. The layout is awkward, the furniture thrown-together, and the finishes kitsch. The bed was comfortable, though. The furniture in the parlor of the main house is TIRED: yes it's period, but some pieces are threadbare and have broken springs. The gardens were nice. Breakfast was good, though you aren't able to "book" your breakfast time until the day before and they only take half of the guests per sitting, so keep that in mind if you have a full day planned or an early departure and want a specific time slot. Overall the staff was friendly and knowledgable. The property was in a nice neighborhood and was walkable to downtown. For our tastes, we'll aim for Yountville or St. Helena next time for the ambiance and proximity to nice restaurants and vineyards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I thought we'd try our first B&B and so glad I chose the Napa Inn to spend our Thanksgiving weekend last year. Hard to know where to start to describe staying in what could be called "gramma's house". The Parlor was warm and inviting with cheese, crackers and port set out late in the afternoon. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very knowledgeable about Napa and helping us get around.

Our breakfasts were served in the dining room, circa 1940 style, and the food was absolutely wonderful. Casseroles each morning - and all different. We spent 4 nights and never had the same main twice. Of course there was fresh cut fruit, and granola, but everything else, the hot dishes were lovingly made and wonderful.

We stayed in William's Hideaway located in the Buford House (built in 1877). Very private and separate from the main house and so cute. I'm a huge TV watcher, but there was something so quaint and peaceful about our room and the Inn, that when we weren't touring/tasting, we turned up the fire in the little fireplace in our room, cuddled in soft sheets and read. Our room was cleaned every day - no complaints about anything. Luckily our bathroom wasn't circa 1940. Shower was great!

If you stay there - pay attention to the sheets! Best ever. We even bought a set that were shipped to our home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great breakfast. homemade quiches and crumbles. The bed was oddly high off the ground. The music is coming from the clock radio by the bed; that's what you have to switch off. Didn't try the in room spa but the shower was nice. It is good that they continue the custom of soap with the hotel name on it. We weren't staying at l'Occitane, after all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked the garden room because of the hot tub. First: We had to fill it ourselves. Second: after heating it all afternoon it was not hot. Third: The next morning it was still NOT hot enough so we kept the heater on during the day while we were gone. Finally on arriving back to our room we checked to see if it was finally hot enough to use only to find that the water had been DRAINED out of the tub. Bedding and pillows poor. Pillows flat and blankets heavy. Decor a bit kitschy. Tub/shower old and worn out. Poor value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auklet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Owner at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

When this gentleman checked in we explained that he needed to fill the hot tub with HOT water - (just like he would a bathtub) and then plug it in and leave it plugged in so the water would remain hot. He did not fill it with hot water and we drained it for him the next day but he apparently did the same thing. This is a requirement by the County of Napa Health dept. that we drain the tub between guests and the only way the water can get hot is for the guest to fill it with hot water in the first place. It is unfortunate he did not understand the directions (which were also printed in the room directory) - it is also unfortunate he did not ASK us what to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

From the moment I arrived at the property I was made welcome with a complete orientation to the amenities, the available DVD's and the workings of the jacuzzi on my private patio. Both my dog and I felt at home in the cozy accommodations with comfy sheets and ample bath products. Quiet, quiet, quiet! So if you're a business traveler looking for a home away from home or a vacation traveler looking for a place to let your hair down after visiting the sites of the Napa Valley, this place is for you. Lovely neighborhood for walking my dog in the evening and morning, and close to the highway for wine tours as well as downtown for restaurants, shopping and general kicking back. My dog and I will definitely be staying here in the future!

Room Tip: Two cottage rooms are dog friendly and offer small private patio to buffer between the room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

With a warm cozy atmosphere greeting you the moment you pull up to the street and park, to the step back in time charm once you walk inside, The Napa Inn makes you forget any problems you might have. Beautiful classically decorated rooms with the most comfortable beds you'll ever sleep on remind you of simpler times yet you know you're in the 21st Century by the modern conveniences waiting for you including flat screen TV's, jacuzzi bath and more. Brooke and her staff were delightful and accommodating and the breakfasts were amazingly tasty. Located just a short walk to markets and downtown Napa, The Napa Inn is truly a destination, not just a place to stay. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Every room has its charm. It all depends on what hits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
1 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.2 km away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#14 of 30 in Napa
326 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
1 km away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
6.2 km away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Napa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Napa Inn

Address: 1137 Warren St, Napa, CA 94559-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $234 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Napa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Inn has 14 guestrooms in two historic homes. Each room has a private bath with spa tubs. Full breakfast each morning. Wine and cheese each evening. Walk to downtown shopping, dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Napa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Napa Hotel Napa
The Napa Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing