We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food/Service in an Older Home Setting”
Review of The Napa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Napa Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We enjoyed our two nights in the Napa Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the food (breakfast and "snacks") were plentiful and delicious and the room met our needs. The venue actually is two buildings joined by a parking area and is situated in an attractive neighborhood near downtown Napa. The exterior stairway to our room was steep, but we enjoyed a second story outdoor covered porch to eat two meals in absolutely beautiful weather. The room was not large, but adequate. The layout was a little peculiar -- the entrance hallway was also the kitchen/bathroom sink area and one has to brush their teeth (etc.) in front of the outside entrance door (there were blinds). Also, as people travel with so many electronics these days, it would have been nice if there were more electrical outlets (or an extension cord) accessible under/near the bed (we use our iPhones for alarm clocks and had to purchase an extension cord to run across the room). Overall, however, we enjoyed our stay at the Napa Inn and would not hesitate to return if we plan a future trip to Napa.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDavidE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Suzanne at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review! We really appreciate the feedback, and yes we do need more outlets, sorry you had to purchase your own cord, we do have some here for guests just in case. Some of the rooms do have a interesting layout which can make it challenging but we try our best to utilize the space as best as possible, thank you so much for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We stayed at this charming B&B, along with 4 other family members. We had 3 different rooms and each room was quite endearing. We were able to relax in the garden with homemade snacks & our wine before heading out for dinner. Breakfasts were indescribable delicious. Coffee and teas were available before and during the feast. Homemade breads and muffins were exquisite. Throughly enjoyed our 2 nights and would definitely return. Friendly & accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Public Relations Manager at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much Sharon for writing this review! We thoroughly enjoyed having you all stay with us! you have a wonderful family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

We stayed in William's hideaway and it was so cozy!!! It has a vaulted ceiling, so it seemed very open, with lots of great natural light. The bed was comfy. The coffee was not great at breakfast or in the room, but there are 2 great local coffee shops within walking distance. The breakfast was delicious. I was expecting better refreshments, though. I got the impression from the website that there would be complementary wine and refreshments. We only saw sherry sitting out one night, and there was cheese and crackers out one afternoon, but that was all we saw during our stay. Otherwise, it was a great place to stay. The room was definitely worth going back!

Room Tip: William's Hideaway was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msfm1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Public Relations Manager at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing this review. We do have Port and Sherry out always for our guests, we also put out fresh baked cookies along with a array of different cheeses and crackers everyday from 3-6pm, we also have wineries booked on selected Thursdays and Fridays to pour in our parlor, complimentary to our greats. So glad you enjoyed your room Williams Hideaway. That room was featured on the TV show Trading Spaces years ago alone with another B & B in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Pros:
The breakfast was varied, fresh, and delicious everyday. The presentation was very elegant. Our room was definitely large enough for four people to share and not be on top of each other which is what we needed.
The sheets were very comfortable and they came in and cleaned our room every day which was great.
The location is great, in a beautiful neighborhood with lots of flowers; close to downtown Napa and The Valley was easily accessible.

Cons:
We didn't receive a tour or really any sort of welcome when we arrived and there was hardly ever anyone working at the front.

We booked a spa party through the hotel and found that the website description was very misleading. The hotel stated that they had a spa room but they don't. Two traveling massage therapists came to our room and shoved all of our luggage and us into the smaller part of our room. There was no "spa atmosphere" just us sitting in a confined space with all of our stuff. While the services provided were great and the snack tray provided was good, this was not a spa experience by any means. We paid a high price for the spa party and expected to be treated to an entire spa experience-a more accurate description on the website would have helped us avoid this disappointment. I would not recommend getting spa services through the hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LPowers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Manager at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Good Afternoon,

We do appreciate your feedback, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I do have to say your comments confuse me. I was here and present when our innkeeper was checking the 4 of you ladies in, I was right there when she offered to give you all a tour but it was declined because your group wanted to go have lunch before come back at 3pm. Your room is large enough for the Spa Party because it is a 2 room suite, normally the guests wait downstairs in the parlor while the massage people set up. We do have a "spa room" which is large enough for 2 tables to be set up for a couples massage, but the Spa Party really only works in the room that was booked, which was talked about when it was booked. We are a small Bed & Breakfast, not a hotel and we do not have a front desk like a hotel would have, we do have a office located right off the kitchen. I saw and talked to the 4 of you ladies at the wine tasting in the parlor that evening and I was told it was great, I make sure to make my presences seen in case a guest needs anything, in fact I also saw you all at breakfast the next morning and nothing was said. We are sorry you felt disappointed, perhaps I could have done something had we known. your group was fun and we enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

My friend and I took our first trip to Napa and stayed at the Napa Inn from 4/21 to 4/24/17. It was my first time staying at a B&B and I would highly recommend this location if you are planning a trip to Napa. The location was ideal and convenient. The staff was incredible and very accommodating. They told us "treat this like your home, if you need anything, just let us know" and their words were very true. My friend wasn't feeling well and they went out of their way to make her a different breakfast and allowed us to take it to the room. Speaking of breakfast, the food was delicious! We stayed in Miss Tessa's room; the sheets were like butter. If you are looking for a B&B in Napa, this is the place!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank supshiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Director of Sales at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us! so happy you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

We had a truly fabulous time at The Napa Inn when we stayed in March of this year. It's a charming old house that's been converted into a Bed & Breakfast and located right in down town Napa. The house itself was beautiful, the staff were always on hand to help and I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking to take a trip to Napa. If you're searching for super high-end, 5 star luxury, this probably isn't your place but if you're looking for an affordable, well located B&B with tones of character, look no further. The breakfast that was included was also excellent and always on time. Hard to find any real fault with this place; if I was being picky I'd say the floorboards and bed were very creaky so if you're a light sleeper that could be an issue; I personally found it added to the charm of the place. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chrisatiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Guest Relations Manager at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! cant wait to host you again! thank you for writing this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

If you like fireplaces, this one has them everywhere! Very well decorated Victorian style B&B. Rooms are spacious and all have a theme. We stayed in the Chesney Suite in their main 3-story building which is probably the largest and it was on the second floor. It actually has a second Trundle-bed room where you can store your belongings and keep the massive bedroom clear of clutter. During winter, the heat comes from a gas fireplace you keep running at night in the bedroom. The other room and bath have electric heaters to help keep them warm.

The bathroom can get a little cold at night but the water gets plenty hot. In fact it's a bit tricky adjusting the shower head to not get burned. No lack of hot water in this place! Standing in the claw-foot tub takes some balance as well.

The bed was excellent, if not a little squeaky, but the sheets are the most comfortable ones we've ever experienced (by Comphy). We even bought a set for home. Sure, you can hear walking from the third floor above (especially when people are wearing shoes!). It's an old house. But it does quiet down early enough to fall asleep. You can smell breakfast cooking in the morning since this room is right above the kitchen, so you can try to guess what you'll be eating but I think you'd be wrong.

The breakfast room is large, though we saw people also eating in the great room that has the large fireplace. There's two seating times like 8:30 or 9:15 am when the place is full. You start with selections from a help-yourself area that always has granola cereal, fresh fruit bowl and a fresh-baked special selection. Plenty of coffee served, and fresh orange and grapefuit juice at the table. The breakfast is different everyday and is absolutely exceptional! I couldn't even pronounce what I was eating, but it was beyond words. I should have taken a picture!

The best part is after 3pm, you'll find cheeses and crackers and freshly baked cookies in the great room, which usually last into the night, or you can request more. It is a good place to relax after a long day and talk with the guests.

The location is in a quiet area, but very near central downtown Napa. It is not far to walk to Main street or the river area.

Room Tip: Top floor might be better to avoid footsteps at night or smells from the kitchen. Away from stairs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HT_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooke370, Guest Relations Manager at The Napa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

What a great review! thank you so much for taking the time to write it, I love hearing the feedback, and we loved having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.7 km away
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
1 km away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Napa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Napa Inn

Address: 1137 Warren St, Napa, CA 94559-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $238 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Napa Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Inn has 14 guestrooms in two historic homes. Each room has a private bath with spa tubs. Full breakfast each morning. Wine and cheese each evening. Walk to downtown shopping, dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Napa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Napa Hotel Napa
The Napa Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing