We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B with amazing gourmet breakfasts and a relaxing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Charming B&B with amazing gourmet breakfasts and a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This B&B is a great find! The innkeepers are friendly, helpful with recommendations to wineries, prepare great tasting food and the rooms are comfortable with nice decor. It's reasonably priced and I look forward to going back. Check it out if you're planning a trip to Napa.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACoastalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    91
    37
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
400
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We feel home to stay at old world inn , the owner prepare the breakfast for us and great everyone at the morning time . DVD , books, chocolate , coffee , tea anytime . These are not getting at even a 5 star hotel sometime. Beliave me , they really did a great job for your stay .

Room Tip: They have different theme for the room . Choose the one u like . We got the paris room . We love the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Good location, very kind and helpful staff and very nice and confortable room. I stayed there for 3 days in march/12 and I would come back for sure. I already miss this place. It seems like you are at home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinaMRecife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We absolutely loved the Old World Inn. The location is great for nights in downtown Napa. No, it does not have views of the wineries but I personally didn't need to see them at nighttime as you spend all your days touring them. The spa tubs are better than I expected and after a day of wine tasting, a night in bed complete with a fireplace and free movie rental in the room was just what we needed. Have the munchies? Just walk out your door for some free fresh baked chocolates or cookies. Don't feel like spending a fortune on dinner? Just walk across the street to Safeway for a snack. Only bummer was that you couldn't use the fire pit without notice in advance. The fire department needs to warrant permission. Excellent staff will help you with any questions if you need tips planning your day out.

Room Tip: Request a room away from check-in if you don't want the early risers grabbing coffee right outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iesimskriesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This old building is beautifully maintained, very charming and the overall service experience here is top notch.

Our hosts were gracious and knowledgeable about local things to see and do. Their recommendations all turned out to be fabulous. In particular, as guests of the Old World Inn, you get VIP status at Morimoto restaurant, which is an incredible perk.

Overall, I have to say, for a personal experience much nicer than staying at a hotel, a great location and excellent hospitality, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassionatePeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I am fairly new to the world of Bed and Breakfasts, Old World Inn being the second one I have been to. It was a wonderful experience. What really makes this place great is the people. They are so helpful, friendly, and make you feel right at home. They were eager to make dinner reservations for us and suggest wineries, anything to make our stay more comfortable. It's great for someone who is new to the area and not sure where to go out of all the many options. They also had wine-tasting on site in their cellar, which was complimentary. Wine Tasting passes were also available to many of the wineries. The breakfast was beautifully appointed--lots of attention to detail. The room was small, but cozy and romantic. We knew the room would be small when we were booking it. Everything was done nicely, well cleaned, and attention to detail was impeccable. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3lgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OP, KS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

A bit more than average a bit less than very good is what I would rate it.

This being my first B&B, I dont have a yard stick to measure this one up.

But this is what we loved:
Projector in room(Allegria), good dvd collection.
Nice spa tub in room.

What we liked
Good breakfast (healthy mac and cheese bake is good , but their strata is better). Strawberry soup was nice.
Great Salsa, but they mentioned it was store bought.
Wine pourings every evening.

What we did not like :(
Small bathroom - we knew from fellow reviewers about this, we thought we could live with it , but it is a bit inconvinient.
No head room for a tall person in the tub in bathroom. The spa tub is good though.
Knobs took a while to figure in the shower (really 1920's style)
Not much variety in breakfast (though it was hearty, we had some form of baked eggs both days and thats not very interesting)

Having said all the likes, dislikes, at the end of the day, the stay at the inn was memorable. It does feel like you are living in a different era.

Room Tip: We stayed at Allegria which was in the Original Inn. It was pretty roomy unlike others complaints ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lassaapso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.4 km away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
1.1 km away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Property: Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabernet House, an Old World Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing