We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liberal use of bleach”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wine Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wine Valley Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Napa
United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Liberal use of bleach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed one night as planned, at this place. Yes, it's cheap but it's also kind of sad in a way. It's a property with so much potential if they put some effort and some $$ into it.

It looks like Stalag 13 as you're driving by on the highway.

We arrived to front desk staff person that really didn't seem to want to be at work that day. She gave us a room on the left side of the property, even though we were one of few people staying there. We arrived to an overpowering smell of bleach in the room upon arrival. The door was open, perhaps to air it out and you could smell the bleach before you even got in the room. I can see why they used so much bleach. There was mold in the shower. It took forever to get hot water in the bathroom sink. The windows in the bathroom were filthy and the screen even worse. (See photo)

Despite the dirt/mold in the bathroom, the rest of the room was clean, so I rated it average. One thing I've learned from my travels and especially my line of work is that photos often make a property look much better than it appears in "real life". Some of the photos you see here on Trip Advisor give the impression that it's a very nice place, where the reality is that i wasn't sure whether our room had been refurbished or not. I don't think so.

Pros: microwave and fridge in the room, less expensive than other places in the area, basic continental breakfast in the am, pool (we didn't use as it was too cool - December visit)

Cons: tired facility, like walking back into the 1950/60's with shower stalls and bathrooms that are really run down and showing their age, dirty screens, apathetic staff (on our visit), hair dryer not working

Would I stay here again? It depends on the price, and I certainly would ask for one of their newest rooms - if they have them.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the rooms that have most recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    274
    128
    23
    21
See reviews for
62
318
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Valley Lodge is a very good value in Napa. It's location is great, right off the highway. The grounds & rooms were very clean and basic. All you really need, a comfortable bed & a hot shower. The staff was very friendly. When we checked in we were given suggestions on restaurants and lots of discount coupons. The property has a pool and is just far enough from the highway that it's quiet. With all the expensive choices in Napa lodging this property is a great value. If you're looking for clean & basic this is a great choice. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JedNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The lodge is an average place to stay. The price was right and we just needed a place to sleep for an early departure the next morning. The room was nice with a microwave, mini-frig and coffee maker. The one thing missing was a hair dryer which did create a problem for me. When we were there a lot of construction workers were staying also. The breakfast was basic with just cold cereal, danish, and toast. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

While Wine Valley Lodge is not a 4 star hotel, it has some unique qualities about it. The setting is quite nice. We enjoyed the pool and surrounding area. The rooms are on the small side as are the bathrooms. The bathrooms could use some renovating. We have stayed here two times and enjoyed are stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delta2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights 10/25 - 10/27. It was a great choice. We were looking for something affordable, comfortable, and close to town. It was all of these plus. Normally we like to stay in places with some amenities and the usual bells and whistles but this time we decided the extra money would be better directed toward the purchase of wine.

We were a little worried about what we were going to get for the price but were not disappointed. This is a fairly basic place but it was clean and updated, with great space. The room had a fridge, with complimentary water, and a microwave. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was good sized, clean, and had good water pressure. The toiletries were basic but usable. All around a great value.

The exterior was well kept, had plenty of parking, and had nice areas to sit and enjoy the great weather.

The breakfast was limited, but we had read about this in previous reviews and expected that. We went in one morning to grab some cereal and coffee to get us through until our breakfast in town. Again, nothing special, just realize what you are getting and plan accordingly.

Overall this was a great place. It perfectly met our goal of saving on accommodations but still having a nice place to rest up for the next day's tastings. I would definitely recommend and will book again when we return to Napa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed for 1 night at the Lodge. The room was clean and pretty sound proof. There was crown molding that really added a nice touch. Water was complimentary and so was the basic continental breakfast. We only grabbed fruit and coffee on the way out. My only complaint was the very hard bed. Both my daughter and I woke up feeling quite sore.I don't know if all the beds are the same..... From the description of the location, we expected to be able to walk to town for the evening, but it actually was quite a distance and we decided not to. If it was Summertime, with longer days, we might have decided to walk through the neighborhoods to get to town. Overall, a nice stay and the fact that it was built in the early 50's added some ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gipsylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed one night while having a look around Napa. The room was clean and tidy with free wi-fi,fridge,coffe maker,tv. Breakfast was included, cereals,toast,fruit,coffe,tea and juice.Comfortable bed and clean bathroom, with quick check in and good recomendations from the Lady behind the counter with wine tastings and vouchers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.3 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
6.0 km away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#14 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
1.7 km away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#25 of 30 in Napa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.6 km away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Lodge

Property: Wine Valley Lodge
Address: 200 S Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-4529
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wine Valley Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wine Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Hotel Napa
Wine Valley Motel
Wine Valley Lodge Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing