We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Fall vacation in San Diego, Ca.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in National City
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Our Fall vacation in San Diego, Ca.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We arrived in San Diego on Veterian Day week end. The hotel we had pre- arrangements with was
not to our approval, but due to all the holiday extracurricular activies, we were told, all the hotels were
filled. We contacted the Clarion Hotel (CAC96) 700 National City Blvd. National City , Ca. and they
were able to accommidate us. The Hotel is in a great location, mountians view on one side and Ocean view on the other. The rooms are spacious and cleaned each day unless requested not to.
fantastic room services including Breakfast, and Dinner, and a host off uther amenities. We had a
great stay. One day I spent the entire day around the hotel.

Room Tip: East side moring Sun, but West side best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Larry D,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are glad that we were able to accomadate you on such a busy holiday weekend. We are pleased to know you loved our spacious rooms as well as our room service for breakfast and dinner. We take great pride knowing that you were so pleased with our hotel and please come by and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    40
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
57
63
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is pleasant. My husband was given advice to stay at this hotel. We had a packet deal with yahoo, but the hotel we were suppose to stay at, in the Hotel Circle South, was unsafe. The congiere, was helpful, check-in was no problem and we were advised of the price and ajustment rates. Rooms are neat, cleaning services, great and ultimate services was their shuttle plus suggestion on tour trips.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear Regina D,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay love hearing that our complimentary shuttle was able to provide transportation during your stay. It is also wonderful to hear that our staff was able to assist you with check-in and providing great cleaning services. Thank you again for the comment and please do not hesitate to come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were very clean. On my 2nd day the housekeeping staff designed my new towels to look like an elephant, and left us (2) toothbrushes as the tusks. Very creative and made our return to the room a pleasant surprise. Ask for a room facing the water and on a high floor - Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC_RC_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear AC_RC_03,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay always try to do something a little extra for our guests, such as the elephant towels, and we will inform housekeeping you liked them. Thank you again for such a wonderful comment and we are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel is great staring from check-in to check out.
Check-in: Fast and efficient
During Stay: Great Housekeeping, room condition in top shape
Breakfast: Excellent (fee)
Lunch: I had sandwich, was nice
Check-out: Fast and efficient
We also used their meeting room, great facility and services.

Tips: Ask for the room facing the ocean, enjoy the sunset view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCWang1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear JohnWang1688,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are pleased to know that you were able to experience great service from beginning to end. We are also pleased that you were able to make use of our banquet space and restaurant. Thank you again for the review and come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Clarion Hotel was worth every penny. The rooms are really nice and always clean. I had a view of the Naval Base and that was really great. It was also nice having a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and an iron in the room. I also had to wash some clothes and they have a washer and dryer for $1.25 each, and they sell laundry detergent at the front desk for .50 cents. Needless to say that was awesome to have available. Thank you for the staff and everyone who made my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicoleh79, General Manager at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear OscarDN,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay love that you feel so strongly towards our hotel and that you got to make use of the all the amenities that we have to offer. Our managers will inform our staff that you found their assistance to be so pleasing. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and please come by and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed there 4 nights.Free airport shuttle,clean rooms,and helpful staff.About an 8 minute walk to the san diego blue line trolley.$5.00 for a daily pass for all trains and buses.They offer the shuttle to shopping centers but we walked,only about 12 minutes.A chinese restaurant across the street,not fancy but good fair priced food.
The pool and hot tub were nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheapgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breefee, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Dear cheapgreek,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and attentive staff. Also, we are glad you had the opportunity to use our complimentary shuttle service. Thank you for your positive comments on our service, pool, and rooms and please come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Room looked good and it was clean. Paid about $100 per nite. Big desk and nice TV in room. Also had a refrigerator and microwave. And there were no bed bugs :) I checked under mattress and under bed. Over all good room. Pizza place near by. Ocean view from upper rooms. Not far from anything. Parking was free. Keep up the good work Clarion Management!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the 18th floor. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefftd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breefee, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear jefftd202,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to read of your wonderful experience at our hotel. We at the Clarion Hotel South Bay are ecstatic to hear you found our hotel affordable and convenient for your stay and that you got to enjoy our bay view. I will pass your positive comment to our management team. Thank you again and come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
0.2 km away
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South-National City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
12.4 km away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#220 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
5.3 km away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South

Property: Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South
Address: 700 National City Blvd, National City, CA 91950 (Formerly Clarion Hotel South Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in National City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel(R) National City San Diego South is located near all the best attractions in San Diego. Navy Base San Diego, Balboa Park and San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld San Diego, Downtown Gaslamp District, Convention Center, Petco Park and San Diego Airport are only 10 minutes away. Entertainment venues, restaurants and shopping centers are nearby. Tijuana, Mexico is just a short 15 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel National City San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn National City
National City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing