We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Excellent property, very good service, excellent bungalow rooms with fire place. The clubhouse restaurant is very good. Perfect for a romantic getaway, definitely would recommend, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, some although pointed to the ocean have garden view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,547)
There are newer reviews for The Resort at Pelican Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

OMG I was blown away at this resort. The staff was great. The views were as if I haved died and gone to heaven. Thank you for the wonderful expierence. Staff was amazingly friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmtravelinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In 2008, the luxe Pelican Hill resort opened, setting the bar (believe it or not) higher for southern California luxury resorts. This lovely hotel, resort, golf paradise and spa is situated in the foothills between Newport Beach and Laguna Beach.

PALLADIAN PERFECTION

I have classified Pelican Hill as an ultra-luxurious hotel for several reasons. First, the resort takes incredible pride in its design and in particular, the intricate detail in the design. Pelican Hill pays homage to Andrea Palladio, an Italian Renaissance master of architectural design, born in 1508 in Padua, Italy. Palladio’s name at birth was Andrea Di Pietro della Gondola; it was changed by scholar Gian Giorgio Trissino to mimic the name of the Greek goddess of war and wisdom, Pallas Athene, often simply called Athena. This name change was undoubtedly a sign of respect and awe at the incredible skill the architect possessed. Pelican Hill further honors Palladio by following his style and dedication to perfection.

Inside, the open lobby is very large, but still maintains intimacy. The hearth here, as well as in all public areas and accommodations, is made from limestone imported from Italy. If you’ll look closely, you can see it was hand-carved. The tapestries decorating the walls are originals from the Renaissance period. Their whimsical princess, castle and unicorn themes are charming. The color palette of the entire resort is neutral in order to draw the eye to the details and natural color outside.

ROOMS

It is in accommodation design that Pelican Hill reveals its pledge to the privacy of its guests. All accommodations are either bungalows or villas, each with a private entrance. Bungalows include almost all of the items on my personal comforts of home checklist. Their cashmere robes are exquisite – the best I have personally experienced. Each bungalow has a gas fireplace, double sinks and a marble soaking tub. The Bose sound system and private terraces go above and beyond my expectations.

Pelican Hill’s villas are gated –a resort within a resort. These are no-holds-barred luxury homes. The defining characteristics that set them apart are:

Gourmet kitchens with wine cabinets, Sub Zero refrigerators, Wolf ovens and cook-tops, and professional cookware from Cuisipro.

60-inch flatscreen HD TVs and Bose sound systems.

Private one- or two-car garages.

Fine table linens from Rivolta Carmignani and Fili D’Oro.

A 10,000-square-foot exclusive Villa Clubhouse.

DINING

Pelican Hill is ultra-luxurious not only for its design and quality finishes, but also for the meticulous attention to detail that continues in their dining experiences. Pelican Hill has two fine dining choices, restaurants Andrea (named after Andrea Palladio) and Coliseum. The hotel also features two cafés, one of which offers handmade gelato in deliciously distinctive flavors created by the chefs of Andrea.

On a spectacular Thursday morning, I had the opportunity to enjoy brunch on the heated veranda of the Coliseum. The view of the beautifully groomed golf course, the intricately-hand tiled brilliant blue Coliseum pool, the pool cabanas arranged in leveled coliseum fashion, the already spring-green southern Californian hills and the vast Pacific Ocean was breathtaking, to say the least. My meal was up to the challenge of matching my view – I ate every bite of the huge Belgian waffle garnished with locally-picked berries.

Just as Palladio looked to his surroundings for inspiration for his architecture, Pelican Hill revels in the local treasury of ingredients the area has to offer. Ancient olive trees can be found around the property and, on occasion, olives from on-site are turned into olive oil for the hotel’s chefs and guests.

PAMPERING

As you would expect from a hotel in this class, the Spa at Pelican Hill is quintessential indulgence. It is no wonder that celebrities are drawn here. Celebrity or not, though, do not miss this treat. I recommend the Amber Gold Signature Massage. Like most, it uses Swedish massage techniques to relax the guest. Unlike most spa massages, extra steps are taken to insure the best possible experience. For example, the masseuse uses a soft brush to exfoliate the skin before an infusion of natural oils is applied to the body. This allows the skin to absorb the oils more efficiently for a lovely glow. Personalization is another way the spa caters to each guest.

MY RECOMMENDATION

Pelican Hill is an absolutely beautiful luxury resort. It still looks and feels brand new and yet manages to blend into the countryside as if it has been there for ages. The staff is quietly dedicated to guests and the concierge efforts are outstanding. This is the place for a private, calming vacation to relax and renew.

See our video review of Pelican Hill (and many other luxury resorts) at YouTube.com/TravelbyLori.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Having stayed here an abbreviated 2 days last year, I was aunable to fully understand the dynamics of this resort. I knew it was good but it took a 4-day weekend in March of 2012 to truly appreciate all the resort has to offer ... and I'm thinking that it likely offers even more than what I had the time to experience.

We were greeted warmly on Friday on arrival - nothing fake about it ... as we all felt there was a genuine appreciation for us visiting their establishment. We checked into our villas then made our way to the Spa to enjoy a massage as a warm-up to our weekend .. and what a start it was. After a quick stop in the hot tub, enjoyed an 80 minute massage under the attenting hands of one of the most expereinced masseuse's ever - she was wonderful ... almost fell asleep but ensured that I stayed awake to fully appreciate the total massage.

After the massage, back to the room to change and then a really nice dinner at the Pelican Grill - food and service was wonderful.

Saturday came ... hot tub in the morning, followed by breakfast on the patio and then a round of golf on the North course ... amazing (the course, not the way I played it ... haha). Followed this up by spending much of the afternoon in the Coliseum Pool and hot tub, enjoying some beverages and the company of many new friends .. even met some interesting ladies from back home .. what are the chances? Finished the day off by enjoying some fine dining at Andrea's .. not pretentious at all - very lively and we were well take care of. The meal was great - as was the wine of course and we all really enjoyed ourselves. Afterwards, decided to catch the live entertainment ... the music and the people that were there. Safe to say, it was an interesting evening.

Sunday ... another fine breakfast, a round of golf on the South Course (that's a challenging one) and then spent the afternoon again at the Coliseum Pool - enjoying the water and the fresh fries ... and of course a beverage or two. Followed this with a fine dinner at Mastro's Steakhouse in Costa Mesa.

Spent Monday morning enjoying the villa and watching the golfers prior to check-out. It was a wonderful extended weekend and I could not ask for more. I only have a single complaint and that was with the walking concierge (Elektra I think) at the Coliseum in that she arranged for 'Pelican' style transportation for us to dinner on Sunday evening at Mastro's - however she misunderstood which location and as such Pelican would not drive us to the steakhouse. Instead they called us cabs - and hence we arrived about a half hour late for our reservation - fortunately they held the table for us. I was quite specific with the concierge in advising we were going to the Mastro's in Costa Mesa. Obviously she misunderstood. However we didn't let that ruin our evening as it just delayed dinner and nothing more.

So end of the day ... Pelican treated us very well ... and I will be back hopefully this summer to enjoy all that Pelican has to offer again. Well done!

BP

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BadgerBear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay here on a business trip. We absolutely loved it here! The only negative was that we only had 3 days to spend there! The staff was super helpful and friendly, the room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The view was beautiful and the pool area was so serene.
Overall I enjoyed my spa experience also. I did the standard massage, I'd suggest trying a deeper tissue if you really like your massages to be "productive", as this was more of a relaxing oil rub, it didn't really get any kinks out, but it was certainly enjoyable and relaxing. The facial was really wonderful and I really enjoyed the esthetician (I think her name was Rebecca). The spa facility was perfect, modern, clean, and quiet.
I found the resort grounds to be perfectly groomed and manicured and my husband loved the golf course. We also had the opportunity to do a private cooking class with the Executive Chef of the resort, Jean Pierre Dubray. They escorted us to a private 4 bedroom villa with a gorgeous terrace, where we cooked and ate. Jean Pierre was absolutely wonderful, and a superb chef. We had the most amazing lunch and being a lover of cooking (and eating!), I learned a lot too. Overall we had a wonderful stay. We loved the resort, the staff, the views, and the calm environment. I really hope to get the opportunity to visit Pelican Hill again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here back in December of 2010 and visiting again this month. This place is simply spectacular. Rooms are gorgeous! Full of amenities. Great bathrooms. The service is first class. The place is spotless clean. Food is great. The meeting room facilities are awesome with great views and all the amenities one needs to conduct a great meeting. The view of Catalina island are stunning. Both golf courses are great. Newport is a great area. It's pricey but that is to be expected at a hotel of this caliber and when they deliver, it makes it that much easier to accept. Can't say enough good things about Pelican Hill!

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of the Pacific Ocean and Catalina island, do it!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andwrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Drove down for the weekend with my husband, 1.5 year old, parents, and sister's family (husband and 6 month old). By far, probably one of the most luxurious hotels. We stayed in a 3-bedroom villa, which was nice then most houses I have seen. The balcony/patio had a very nice view of the golf course and ocean. Both the Colliseum pool and the Villa pool were great. The Colliseum pool is overwhelmingly beautiful. I think my daughter had the best time of all. The villa had a large main area with a full kitchen, living area, and dining room. 2 of the bedrooms had King Bed and one of the bedrooms had 2 queens. Upon special request, they will bring a crib. Having stayed at a few hotels now with babies/toddlers, the crib was perfect, standard size. The biggest negative about the hotel was it was empty. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a villa!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
4.6 km away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,018 reviews
0.7 km away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
5.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,529 reviews
17.0 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
4.7 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $504 - $1,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing