We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Beautiful Resort!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Most Beautiful Resort!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a magnificent place to stay. We loved it! We were blown away by the view from our villa! It was spectacular...fire place in the living room and the bedroom. Terrific bathroom off the master, as well as a second full bath with shower off the living room. I would have given this 5 stars, had it not been for the food. We thought it was a little lacking for such a nice resort. The last morning there, a simple pancake breakfast with coffee was $35 with tip. Our business dinner was

Room Tip: FANTASTIC ROOM! Great service throughout the property! Restaurants,House Keeping, and the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    190
    126
    56
    61
See reviews for
447
481
37
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a weekend here. The suite was lovely. There was a problem with the heat not working in the livingroom area, but they fixed it for us. The food was excellent in all the restaurants, including room service. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The beds are a delight! The massage therapist was amazing. Perfection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikitaseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Overall Property: Lacking only a beachfront location, Pelican Hill is expansive, private, well-manicured and kept with an exceptional attention to detail. An experience of a weekend at this segment-leading property can only leave the well-informed travelled wanting more.

Rooms: At a generous 1.5x size any comparable property, the well-appointed rooms are a pleasure to be in. Combining the expansiveness of the property with the comfort of home, the bathrooms, beds, private patios and overall space exceeds the local alternatives so completely that to find fault would be almost unfair.

Spa: Vegas sizing + Italian motifs, but one hour from LA. Go figure. Gender specific jacuzzi, sauna and steam, along with fully appointed staffed lockers and regular schedule of exercise and yoga classes.

Food: Terrific and equivalent to best local options for formal and casual eating.

Pool: The reviews speak volumes, but the massive, artistically tiled and perspective engaging circular heated pool, surrounded by a half circle colonnade of multi-tiered Roman public space is both enthralling and oddly comfortable.

It is valid to suggest that the overall expansiveness of the property means that, depending on the location of ones room a guest will be walking a fair amount. It is also valid to suggest that as a result of said expansiveness, management has attempted to address the issue with frequent golf-cart shuttles which can be a bit distracting. Do note that in no way is the property located on a beach. You can hop a shuttle and enjoy a beautiful beach five minutes away. you may also view the distant ocean from your room.

Suffice it to say, we will return at our earliest convergence of availability and deserve-ability. Importantly, the staff has created a sense of space and resort specific experience that distinguishes the property and leaves a guest wanting more. Read my related reviews of nearby properties for a full contextualization of the property.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for 9 nights in early April at Pelican Hill in an ocean view (king bed) bungalow. We live in the heart of Phoenix-Scottsdale-Paradise Valley, Arizona - - home to some of the country's most celebrated and gorgeous resorts, spas and golf courses. We travel to SoCal, especially the Newport Coast-Laguna Beach vicinity, several times each year. Having previously stayed at each of the Montage, the St. Regis and the Ritz (each of which are lovely properties), we decided to try Pelican Hill.

Pelican Hill more than lived up to its reputation. It eclipses each of its competitor resorts in terms of beauty, elegance, service and, perhaps most importantly, overall karma. This is not just another scenic hotel resort. Instead, when you stay at Pelican Hill you truly "reside" at the property, including the ability to drive "home" each day to your residence on your own street. The ambience is a lovely blend of SoCal coastline and Tuscany.

The bungalows are spacious and well-appointed, with beautiful views of the sprawling resort property and the Newport (Crystal Cove beach) coastline below. Andrea and the Pelican Grill (at the neighboring golf club) offer delicious and diverse cuisine in warm, yet vibrant, settings. Even on chilly SoCal evenings (and there were a few as is typical on the SoCal coast in April, May and June), you'll be quite comfortable on the veranda/patio at each restaurant watching the marine sunset under heat lamps and on the heated tile floor. Breakfast at the Colisseum was very good and, of course, there's always room service on your own private bungalow terrace.

You can easily spend an entire day relaxing in a chaise lounge at the Colisseum pool, a stunning focal point on the huge resort property. The Spa offers the full complement of services that you would expect at a high-end resort and is modern and fresh with experienced professionals. We never made it to the gym (most unfortunate, given our many days of caloric overindulgence at Andrea and Pelican Grill).

The Pelica Hill staff - - from valet, to check-in/registration, to the bellman, to the concierge, to the waiters, waitresses and bartenders, to the masseuse, to housekeeping, etc. - - was extremely accomodating, attentive, informed, friendly and responsive - - kudos to the resort general manager and the entire staff!

All-in-all it was a wonderful vacation experience (notwithstanding a few days of work tossed in because of my inability to completely escape from my blackberry, conference calls and a few fed ex packages and faxes :-)) ).

Pelican Hill is a keeper and when we next return to Newport Coast we will stay at Pelican Hill.

C & L

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffLIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
122 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

From the weather to the service, this hotel is amazing. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The outside balcony is private and ours had an amazing view. Each room has it's own fireplace for those evenings that get chilly and beds must be made out of clouds because you float on them. Anyone that says a hotel room is just for sleeping has not stayed here. The service is impeccable from the check-in to the restaurants. I will say the prices are quite high, even for 5 star hotels, but well worth the extra. If you prefer simple, there's a nice Marriott down the street. I don't golf, but it's also worth getting a golf cart and just take a drive of the course. Enjoy your stay and you won't forget it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Pelican Hill is easily our favorite destination to date and will be an experience we will never forget. The staff provided us a 5 star experience from our ocean view bungalow, poolside cabana and the most amazing spa day. And the dining?  Wow!  Andrea, Pelican Grill, Coliseum - all highly recommended.  A heartfelt thank you to the Pelican Hill team for making our 10 year anniversary extra special. We have already booked a return stay for no special occasion other than to return to our home away from home!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ISUFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Pelican Hill resort in Newport Beach, California is one of the most beautiful and relaxing resorts I have ever visited. My family has made annual trips to Newport coast since leaving California to live in Las Vegas some 13 years ago : That being said, the past two visits have been spent at the best of all resorts in the are. Having stayed at both the St Regis and the Ritz Carlton several times I can tell you that Pelican Hill offers the most family friendly, upscale and relaxing stay of the three. The resort is laid out among acres of sprawling terraced landscapes, many with views of the ocean and or the golf course. You will never feel crowded due to the resort's casita bungalow style of accomodations , which allow guests to drive-up to their room. The main building houses a lounge style bar and restaurants which offer the most beautiful views of the Pacific ocean in the area.
That being said, the main attraction at Pelican Hill is clearly the vast Oasis Pool which has to be the best pool at any resort in north America : It is surrounded by upper level luxury cabanas which offer full-service food and beverage services in addition to televisions, stereos and a butler. From your chaise lounge your view includes the pool- in the foreground- framed by the golf course and , behind it, the ocean glistening with sailboats and all, into infinity.I promise you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view if you have the means! And be sure to dine on your terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.7 km away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.6 km away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
4.7 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
5.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
7.9 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Property: The Resort at Pelican Hill
Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing