We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pelican Hill is fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Resort at Pelican Hill
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We had 5 nights in a 2 bedroom Villa (521) and we totally loved it. We received outstanding service, particularly from Patrick in the Villa Clubhouse, Kylee in the Coliseum Pool and Grill and Deb and her team at the Villa pool who all made us feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. The Villas have everything a family would want, great kitchen with coffee machine, washing machine and dryer, enormous bathrooms with big baths and the Butler team pre ordered groceries for our family. We ate at a many of the resort restaurants and enjoyed all of our meals, particularly at the Villa Clubhouse. We spent a lot of time at the Villa pool and loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnalogueMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us! I’m so glad to read that your family enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Villas, and I’ll be sure to personally thank Patrick, Kylee and Deb for taking such great care of you. I truly appreciate your thoughtful insight, and we hope to welcome your family back for another memorable Pelican Hill getaway!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We just returned from a fabulous trip celebrating my sisters 50th birthday. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (705) with 3 couples. The large balcony with amazing views was breathtaking. Beautiful decor with well appointed bathrooms, nice kitchen, living and dining areas. Service was top notch. A private butler is provided to help with anything you desire. The staff was friendly and very helpful-always greeted you with a smile asking how they could help you. Maid service was great. The entire resort was beautiful. Would definitely return. Just a fabulous resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hello Kelly,

We were honored to be a part of your sister’s milestone birthday celebrations! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback with us and am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villas. Please know I’ve taken this opportunity to share your kind words with the rest of our team, and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Pelican Hill soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Didn't live here but went there for a lunch. It is a very beautiful hotel with the view of Pacific Ocean. The lobby is very quiet and clean. We are at the great room and the price is ok, about 60 dollars per person. During the weekend, there are also band and pianos in the great room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hello Lala,

Thank you for visiting Pelican Hill and taking the time to share your thoughtful review with us. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the live music and ambience of the Great Room Social Lounge, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another ocean-view dining experience soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

If you are in Southern California, this is the place to stay. They have amenities that most places don't have and the service staff are wonderful. The rooms are clean and well appointed with great beds. The grounds are beatufiul as well. Definite destination spot!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hello Lynne,

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at Pelican Hill! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback about your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

The Resort at Pelican Hill was a truly incredible and unparalleled establishment. It dominates that true meaning of a luxury experience with high caliber personable top-notch service. My husband and I stayed at the Villas for six days and five nights after Labor Day and were blown away by the magnificent and remarkable staff throughout the whole property. Every Pelican Hill team member we engaged with during our stay was positive and eager to ensure our experience and needs were met.

The property is magical and stunning at every level. Our villa was a top floor with a view of the Pacific Ocean and we sat outside every night to watch the stunning sunsets. Our two-bedroom villa beautiful and well appointed with every detail not overlooked. The fridge had been stocked with milk, creamer, five various bottled bears, bottled waters and a supply of items to cook with during our stay. We made breakfast a few mornings. The support staff kept the room clean and tidy and turndown service was a nice addition.

Twice we had the pleasure of renting cabanas for our stay at the incredible Coliseum pool. The attendants, especially Steven, were personable and hospitable. We enjoyed the experience and the extra pampering that came with the cabana rental such as complementary snacks and beverages, television and Bose system. We were upgraded both times to the Cabana Suite by the Pool Manager and he was excellent as well. The team is truly committed to its guests. We ordered some food which arrived very fresh and prompt. This pool is incredible and if you want to relax by the pool all day this is the hotel you want. The staff doesn’t push you to continuously buy items off the menu. They let you relax without constant interruptions. The only suggestion I would make would be to have complimentary sunscreen and after sun lotions available to guest. Other places such as the Ritz Carlton have it available to pool guests and it was a nice touch.

The restaurants at the Pelican Hill are also fantastic. We ate dinner at Andrea and the service was absolutely perfect. The wait staff is attentive, accommodating and respectful. I have a food allergy and they took extra care to ensure I wouldn’t have exposure or issues which I appreciated very much. They had a wide variety of entrees to serve the likes of many. We enjoyed the live entertainment of a singer who sang music from the era of the forties and seem to channel Frank Sinatra at times. A very classy restaurant with a great attitude/vibe that wasn’t pretentious. We also ate lunch at the Coliseum pool and enjoyed a great wrap and club sandwich which was tasty and fresh. The cocktails seem a little bit expensive but strong. The staff again was so attentive and took time to talk with us which we very much enjoyed. Everyone seemed to enjoy working at Pelican Hill and many people had been working there for years.

The facilities here for golfing and special events such as wedding were ideal. You couldn’t ask for a better setting than this place. You feel like you’ve been transported to Italy and you’ve completely left the United States. If it’s elegance and refinery that you seek, than you’ve found it right here at Pelican Hill. It’s the perfect location for an adventure, a special event or a weekend getaway. We’ve stayed at other luxury facilities but this one is our new favorite location. It’s impeccable in every way. Pelican Hill is truly a “one of a kind” resort and we thank you for making it a memorable event for us. Bravo!

Room Tip: The villas were top notch and kitchen was well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hello Karren,

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughtful review on our Yelp and TripAdvisor pages. I’m so glad that you and your husband had the opportunity to experience all that Pelican Hill has to offer, and I’m proud to read that the attentive service from our team made your stay truly memorable. I appreciate you choosing the Villas for your Orange County getaway, and I’ll be sure to personally share your kind feedback with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Pelican Hill very soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Don't miss dining here. Come Mon-Thurs for happy hour. All wines are 1/2 off and the choices are top notch. Rombauer chardonnay, BV Tapestry Meritage, Cakebread, Newton, etc. appetizers are good as are the entrees. Service was outstanding and the view is gorgeous!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank milsie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello Milsie,

Thank you for visiting Coliseum Pool & Grill for happy hour! I’m so glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you back for another sunset evening soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Just spent 4 spectacular days at Pelican Hill. Grounds are beautiful and service is superb. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Room is super clean and comfortable. Look forward to going back. Just 2 comments to raise the experience one notch.
First, ask to see your room before you move in. Often there is more than one room available at your price level and they will allow you to see a couple of them before choosing yours. This is important for two reasons. Not all rooms have the same view. Although listed as "Ocean View" some have only partial ocean views because of obstructions or the ocean can be viewed only looking to the side. If you see it first, you can get the view you really like. Also, the degree of privacy that you get on your terrace varies. Although there is good separation from the next door neighbor, the front of the terrace is glass and there can be a clear view from the ground below. There are many terraces with great privacy, because of elevation due to topography or plantings in front. Again, if you see it first, you can get what you desire.
Second, the pool may be very busy during the day, especially on weekends. However, it empties out around 4PM. In the summer, that leaves you with a least 3 hours to enjoy the pool in relative quiet. The magnificent sunsets to be witnessed from the pool area is an added bonus.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JF4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for visiting Pelican Hill! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful insight with us, and I’m so glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and friendly service you experienced at the Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay in the Bungalows very soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
0.7 km away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
4.6 km away
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach
4.6 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
5.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,772 reviews
7.2 km away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Pelican Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Pelican Hill

Address: 22701 Pelican Hill Road South, Newport Beach, CA 92657-2008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range: $508 - $2,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resort at Pelican Hill 5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 504 acres by the Pacific Ocean in Newport Beach, The Resort at Pelican Hill(R) features: 128 two-, three- and four-bedroom villas with magnificent coastal views and an unparalleled array of appointments, immersing guests in the absolute finest of everything; 204 luxuriously appointed bungalow guest rooms and suites with private terraces; a rejuvenating Five-Star spa with a menu of the world's most celebrated therapies; world-class restaurants, including Andrea serving authentic Northern Italian cuisine; an iconic "Coliseum Pool," one of the largest circular pools anywhere with tiered decks and luxurious cabanas; and Pelican Hill Golf Club with 36 dramatic holes by Tom Fazio, nearly all with ocean panoramas. A Five-Star, Five-Diamond destination, Pelican Hill has earned acclaim as the 2012 Grand Resort selected by Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report; as Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards Top Southern California Resort (2013 & 2012), Top U.S. Resort (2011), Top-Rated Golf Resort Worldwide (2012) and Top-Rated California Resort Spa (2012); in Travel + Leisure's "Top 100" World's Best Hotels (2011 Readers' Poll), and with two courses ranked among Golf Digest's America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses (2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Resort at Pelican Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hill Hotel Newport Beach
Hotel At Pelican Hill
At Pelican Hill Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing