We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,710 results
Traveller rating
1,197
234
144
69
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
234
144
69
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoliseum poolvilla poolgolf courseocean view bungalowbutler servicenorth villasround poolcoliseum grillandrea restaurantgolf clubgelatogas fireplaceprivate patiothe ritzpool servicehuge bathroomfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,710 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

We just returned from a fabulous trip celebrating my sisters 50th birthday. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (705) with 3 couples. The large balcony with amazing views was breathtaking. Beautiful decor with well appointed bathrooms, nice kitchen, living and dining areas. Service was top notch. A private butler is provided to help with anything you desire. The staff was friendly and very helpful-always greeted you with a smile asking how they could help you. Maid service was great. The entire resort was beautiful. Would definitely return. Just a fabulous resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Hello Kelly,

We were honored to be a part of your sister’s milestone birthday celebrations! I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughtful feedback with us and am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villas. Please know I’ve taken this opportunity to share your kind words with the rest of our team, and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Pelican Hill soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

Didn't live here but went there for a lunch. It is a very beautiful hotel with the view of Pacific Ocean. The lobby is very quiet and clean. We are at the great room and the price is ok, about 60 dollars per person. During the weekend, there are also band and pianos in the great room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hello Lala,

Thank you for visiting Pelican Hill and taking the time to share your thoughtful review with us. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed the live music and ambience of the Great Room Social Lounge, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another ocean-view dining experience soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

If you are in Southern California, this is the place to stay. They have amenities that most places don't have and the service staff are wonderful. The rooms are clean and well appointed with great beds. The grounds are beatufiul as well. Definite destination spot!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Hello Lynne,

I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at Pelican Hill! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback about your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2017

The Resort at Pelican Hill was a truly incredible and unparalleled establishment. It dominates that true meaning of a luxury experience with high caliber personable top-notch service. My husband and I stayed at the Villas for six days and five nights after Labor Day and were blown away by the magnificent and remarkable staff throughout the whole property. Every Pelican Hill team member we engaged with during our stay was positive and eager to ensure our experience and needs were met.

The property is magical and stunning at every level. Our villa was a top floor with a view of the Pacific Ocean and we sat outside every night to watch the stunning sunsets. Our two-bedroom villa beautiful and well appointed with every detail not overlooked. The fridge had been stocked with milk, creamer, five various bottled bears, bottled waters and a supply of items to cook with during our stay. We made breakfast a few mornings. The support staff kept the room clean and tidy and turndown service was a nice addition.

Twice we had the pleasure of renting cabanas for our stay at the incredible Coliseum pool. The attendants, especially Steven, were personable and hospitable. We enjoyed the experience and the extra pampering that came with the cabana rental such as complementary snacks and beverages, television and Bose system. We were upgraded both times to the Cabana Suite by the Pool Manager and he was excellent as well. The team is truly committed to its guests. We ordered some food which arrived very fresh and prompt. This pool is incredible and if you want to relax by the pool all day this is the hotel you want. The staff doesn’t push you to continuously buy items off the menu. They let you relax without constant interruptions. The only suggestion I would make would be to have complimentary sunscreen and after sun lotions available to guest. Other places such as the Ritz Carlton have it available to pool guests and it was a nice touch.

The restaurants at the Pelican Hill are also fantastic. We ate dinner at Andrea and the service was absolutely perfect. The wait staff is attentive, accommodating and respectful. I have a food allergy and they took extra care to ensure I wouldn’t have exposure or issues which I appreciated very much. They had a wide variety of entrees to serve the likes of many. We enjoyed the live entertainment of a singer who sang music from the era of the forties and seem to channel Frank Sinatra at times. A very classy restaurant with a great attitude/vibe that wasn’t pretentious. We also ate lunch at the Coliseum pool and enjoyed a great wrap and club sandwich which was tasty and fresh. The cocktails seem a little bit expensive but strong. The staff again was so attentive and took time to talk with us which we very much enjoyed. Everyone seemed to enjoy working at Pelican Hill and many people had been working there for years.

The facilities here for golfing and special events such as wedding were ideal. You couldn’t ask for a better setting than this place. You feel like you’ve been transported to Italy and you’ve completely left the United States. If it’s elegance and refinery that you seek, than you’ve found it right here at Pelican Hill. It’s the perfect location for an adventure, a special event or a weekend getaway. We’ve stayed at other luxury facilities but this one is our new favorite location. It’s impeccable in every way. Pelican Hill is truly a “one of a kind” resort and we thank you for making it a memorable event for us. Bravo!

Room Tip: The villas were top notch and kitchen was well appointed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Hello Karren,

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughtful review on our Yelp and TripAdvisor pages. I’m so glad that you and your husband had the opportunity to experience all that Pelican Hill has to offer, and I’m proud to read that the attentive service from our team made your stay truly memorable. I appreciate you choosing the Villas for your Orange County getaway, and I’ll be sure to personally share your kind feedback with the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Pelican Hill very soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Don't miss dining here. Come Mon-Thurs for happy hour. All wines are 1/2 off and the choices are top notch. Rombauer chardonnay, BV Tapestry Meritage, Cakebread, Newton, etc. appetizers are good as are the entrees. Service was outstanding and the view is gorgeous!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank milsie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at The Resort at Pelican Hill, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hello Milsie,

Thank you for visiting Coliseum Pool & Grill for happy hour! I’m so glad that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you back for another sunset evening soon!

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews