We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with a View!”

Coliseum Pool & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Coliseum Pool & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 538 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Newport Coast Drive
Description: An incomparably fun and intriguing place to dine, the Coliseum Pool & Grill overlooks the "scene" at the strikingly iconic Coliseum Pool, back-dropped by the Pacific Ocean. American favorites on the superbly prepared menu runs the gamut from pizzas, panini and sandwiches to seafood dishes, pastas, specialty salads and even smoothies.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Breakfast here is wonderful! The breakfast buffet is the way to go. There are a lot of items to choose from. The staff is wonderful. The manager Todd is great!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2018

Place to relax and have goof food at very reasonable prices for families to have good quality, enjoyable, in a very pleasant atmosphere.
Service is good but place is busy on weekends. reservation is highly recommended and make sure to exercise a choice: outside is mine

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Sam3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

A great place to bring the family if you happen to in Newport Coast and want to visit the Pelican resort. Food is very good and the prices are not that higher as compared to Newport Beach. Its just above the pool and the ocean views are amazing.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank NewportCoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We ate breakfast at the Coliseum Pool and Grill.
Really nice well rounded menu with good selections.
Healthy fare is featured.
Chose the waffle with fruit which I loved, ask for fruit on the side as it made the waffle soggy and took away the beautiful crisp as it was cooked perfectly. They also have these amazing round of hashbrowns, it is amazing. Next time we will each order one of our own. YUM! Overlooked the pool and ogled the beautiful owl on property.

Staff was friendly and attentive. They were very thoughtful and followed up immediately when I inadvertently left my purse at the table.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2018

After multiple lunches at this breathtaking venue over ther years, while staying in the nearby villas, we attempted to dine once again for lunch. After a consierge called for a spot on the list, and a half hour wait along with many other parties ( for an outside table, which we we willing to be patient for,) we noticed something different this visit.
Apparently the beautiful pool is public, which we did not realize, and it brought in a variety of ill-mannered sorts. ( We watched them parade in while waiting for a table.). One such couple in swimwear was told there was a table wait, which infuriated the male. He loudly and angrily complained, “There are plenty of empty tables!” He marched back to the sweet young woman at the desk, demanded to be seated immediately, which she quickly did. This left those of us who had been waiting a half hour to continue waiting. My husband checked with her, and another party was still ahead of us on the list. So we were looking at another possible 15 minutes or so to be seated... it was now 1:30. A different party also waiting were very upset that this had happened. ( Maybe it is resort policy to give priority seating to loud bullies?). After discussing our options, and realizing Fridays were apparently popular LA public days, we opted to leave. To his credit the manager was very kind and tried to convince us to stay. But between the rather unpleasant clientele drawn to the Coliseum and the probable slow service due to high pool crowds, we left. If you are a expecting a romantic, special atmosphere at the Coliseum, be aware it’s open to all who want to swim there. ( Quite a surprise for such an elegant environment.). I feel sorry for those staying on property in the bungalows for special events, anniversaries or honeymoons, expecting a truly elevated experience in all aspects. Otherwise we love Pelican Hill Resort. Thankfully we could use the Villa area dining and had a much nicer experience there. (Bonus:. well-known action movie star dined near us!) All persons working at the resort are always fantastic as well.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank COArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelican_Hill_Resort, Manager at Coliseum Pool & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Pelican Hill over the years and for so graciously sharing your feedback with us. I sincerely apologize that your recent visit to Coliseum Pool & Grill fell short of the many lunches you’ve enjoyed previously and have addressed your detailed concerns with our management team. Please know that access to the Coliseum Pool is exclusively available to Resort guests, and I’m disappointed that you were disrupted from enjoying the relaxing and attentive dining experience you were looking forward to. I’d also like to connect you with our General Manager and have shared his direct phone number with a private message. We appreciate your insight and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards,
Tom Donovan
Managing Director, The Resort at Pelican Hill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coliseum Pool & Grill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Coliseum Pool & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing