We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Oak Grill

Oak Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 538 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Classic influences. Contemporary cuisine. Oak Grill is a true California original. This exciting dining destination appeals to the appetite and the aesthetic with an atmosphere of subtle and inviting elegance that extends from the light-filled interiors to the lush and extensive deck. A festive fire pit and two private dining rooms add to the ambiance and help create the perfect setting for breakfast, lunch, dinner or any special occasion. Our robust program of craft beers is mostly local, and all delicious. We also boast one of the most extensive and creative wine lists in the area, and with a broad selection of wines by the glass, we have the perfect pairing for every dish. The cozy, yet roomy Fireside patio area is the perfect place to take in beautiful Newport Beach sunsets and crisp ocean breeze, not to mention gorgeous views of the Resort-style pool, Oak Grill's tree-lined deck and Fashion Island. Enjoy live acoustic music nightly at Fireside from 6 - 9 p.m.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

You consistently get a very good meal, professional servers and a peaceful setting. When the weather is pleasant (which it is most of the time in Newport Beach), sit outside under the trees—day or night. This is an ideal location for a business lunch, and yet it can also be great for a romantic dinner under the stars. The food presentations and the décor have a sense of elegance that makes your experience just a bit more noteworthy. The staff has always been extremely personable.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adalbert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2018

We stayed at the hotel this restaurant is in for a week. We ate here often. Breakfast is delicious with yummy and different choices. The cinnamon french toast and the eggs benedict are great. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. For lunch I highly recommend the pizza with figs on it. It is different and fabulous. The menu is not huge but it has great choices. Lots of fun drinks too. Ernesto deserves a mention. He was so nice.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 230AnnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

My husband and I took my mother and cousin to the Oak Grill after first trying to dine at the nearby Fig & Olive--which had air con problems and at which was way too warm and uncomfortable for us to eat. We'd had brunch and breakfast at the Oak Grill on a few occasions and always enjoyed it.

The air con was superb inside, though there also were plenty of other people dining outside on the terrace (yikes at 80 F!).

The menu was surprisingly simple and limited, considering the Island Hotel is supposed to be a 4/5 star hotel. It had regular items you'd expect, but its one page offerings were a bit underwhelming to us. That being said, the specials the server described sounded amazing (scallops), so 3 of the 4 of us got them. My husband got the sea bass. Some of us also ordered beef tartare and soup appetizers. All the apps and especially the entrees were extremely good!

Service was very friendly and always extremely well intentioned, but there were plenty of times when we couldn't get anyone's attention--not so good. The bar drinks originally served were quite weak and watered down, but the manager eventually apologized and made them right. Those drinks were wonderful.

All in all, it was a very nice meal. The limited menu makes me a bit reluctant to return, but the food and service ultimately were very good.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BillR2390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

It's located in the lobby of the Island Hotel but don't let that influence you - the food land service are first-rate - - there is a server there by the name of Valentina - if I owned a competing restaurant I would hire her in a second - - ask for her. Fabulous service!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Five sisters, we met a cousin here whom we had not seen for years. Perfect place to catch up, have brunch with bottomless Mimosa’s. The wait staff was wonderful, bathrooms are clean and very lovely. The patio does not disappoint. Valet parking was effortless. Front desk staff was great and took our pictures in the lobby.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oak Grill also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Oak Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing