We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Babette's

Babette's
Reserve with OpenTable
Babette's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 538 Restaurants in Newport Beach
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Babette’s may be known to the locals but for visitors like me Babette’s is a hidden gem. We were a group of five with varying food tastes and everyone found something that they really enjoyed. Babette’s almost seems like one of those “healthy” places that can be pretentious. But the staff was sincere and approachable and the food was simply spectacular.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Babette’s or to go back!

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank mike60521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2018

Babette's is an exception in Newport Beach. It's relatively small and the menu (both food and wine) is relatively short. What they serve, however, is excellent. They rely on fresh ingredients and do an excellent job drawing out the flavors.

The setting is very pretty with both an indoor and outdoor area. The bar area is also quite nice for a drink or if you are eating alone.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank too_few_trips_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was fabulous! The cauliflower soup was amazing, and everyone enjoyed their chicken, fish and scallops.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelbug29092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We arrived in Newport Beach and needed a place for a late dinner, Our first choice was filled beyond capacity and we just happened upon Babette's. We went in because of their gluten-free offerings. When I asked what was gluten-free I was told it was easier to tell me what was not. The menu was glorious! This is a farm-to-table restaurant and the vegetable pad thai was filled with lots of wonderful veggies. A few people were getting rather rowdy and because they were near us, the server offered us dessert "on us" and one piece of carrot cake would have served the four of us, but I didn't share. Neither did those with the cheesecake. They're open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and we can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Food
1  Thank karenskelton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

This is a very cute restaurant with a nice patio and a cool bar but the service is never good and extremely slow.

Plus when we were seated they said it would be a few minutes they just ran out of menus....

The drinks took 15 minutes to get and the appetizers were good with hummus and bread and the shisito peppers were good.

The entrees were dull and boring with very little flavor overall. The cheesecake was excellent and the chocolate moose was average.

The overall experience here is always just ok and the service is never very good.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Edunbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babette's also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
Corona del Mar, Newport Beach
 

Been to Babette's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing