We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
38
22
18
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
22
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk free breakfast is parking charge easy drive the breakfast area convenient location very nice hotel comfortable beds a great stay great room each morning within walking distance minute walk fashion island hie tatiana newport
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 87 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2018

This is a very nice Hotel, excellent staff, rooms are clean, a great breakfast and a very good rate for Newport Beach, California. This is a good location, it’s near restaurants and easy walk to the pier.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank parkm722018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Greetings Parkm722018!
Thank you so very much for your gracious review. It is so humbling to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as our team strives every day to make sure every guest has a pleasant stay. It brings it all home when we hear guests say they enjoyed themselves. Our team will be delighted to hear their hard work paid off and that we surpassed your expectations. We cannot thank you enough for your feedback, and we would be honored to host you on your return to Newport Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

This was our first time in Newport beach and the occasion was our 5 year anniversary. Lindsey made our experience the most memorable.... she went high and above to make it special for us. The room had very sweet treats just to put the icing in the cake. The rooms are clean, pool amazing and the staff is all awesome. The breakfast is so good, perfect way to start your day. Thanks to the staff and especially Lindsey... see you guys soon.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennw444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Greetings Jennw44!
Thank you for your appreciation regarding your special stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach. Thank you for letting us be a part of such a special occasion and congratulations on the milestone. Lindsey will be delighted to hear your shout out to her. It is very pleasing to hear that we were able to surpass your expectations with our excellent service and hotel amenities. We hope you were able to enjoy all that Newport Beach has to offer for your visit, and we hope to see you on your next visit in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018

The staff were as friendly and personable as you would ever ask for. Kind, generous, friendly truly made this stay at this hotel a wonderful experience. The breakfast was not a typical Holiday Inn Express one...yes as far as the menu may go but whomever is putting it out and putting it together has gone above and beyond. It was the best ever. I loved this place more, just for the people and cleanliness than anything else.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello there Rodney!
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the excellent service from our staff. Our team is committed to providing all of our guests with a comfortable stay, and provide them with a home away from home. Our breakfast team especially will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as we recently revamped it just this past July. Thank you for letting us be a part of your visit to Newport Beach, it was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

I really wanted to like this hotel, and there were some positives, but they were outweighed by the negatives. The biggest problem was the smell of the rooms. The first room we were given had quite a strong, funky odor that was nauseating after awhile. I had to ask about a new room. The staff were very accommodating and offered a different room. Great! Unfortunately, this room only smelled a little bit better. Honestly I was relieved to leave because of this. On the bright side, the breakfast was appreciated, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was close to a lot of Newport Beach attractions. But the odor of not just one, but both rooms we were given, was enough to make me choose a different spot next time.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank psleavitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Greetings Psleavitt,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach. I would like to take this opportunity to restate our commitment to provide excellent service and accommodations to all of our guests. I deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I would like you to know that your opinion counts and proper steps are being taken to handle the issues you had. We work hard every day to maintain our standards through training and learning. Please accept my humble apologies, and please contact us directly and ask for the general manager or sales manager should you choose to stay with us again. Thank you again, and we hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Nice and clean room ,very friendly employees. There are charging for parking even you are guest $15Bath room clean but there is some smell when we flushed. Nice area easy to find the hotel on the coast highways.

Room tip: Nice and clean except bath room toilet having refluctuation of smell but if you have air freshener will be helpful.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lardnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynsey M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Greetings Lardnah!
Thank you very much for your awesome review about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and great service from our team members. Our team is committed to making sure every guest has a memorable stay by ensuring everyone feels welcomed and comfortable as if they were right at home. Please feel free to come back anytime, and our team will welcome you with open arms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews