We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Picked this place based solely on Trip Advisor. Very clean for an older property. Excellent customer service. Nice amenities for the beach at no extra cost. Great continental breakfast in the morning, more than just the bagels, yogurt, and fruit most boutique hotels have. The staff really seemed to want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Walking distance to everything near the Newport Pier. Parking at the property is a little tight. If you want a good view, ask for the third floor.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
So glad you came down the Coast to spend some time with us - thank you for the review and the recommendations for future guests. I really appreciate you mentioning our service and amenities as that is what Bay Shores is all about, value and hospitality. Hope you come to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
111
293
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I grew up in Newport Beach and enjoy returning for my high school reunions. The last three visits we have stayed at the BayShores Peninsula Hotel and it has been great each time. This is not a luxury hotel but a small boutique hotel, with nicely-decorated surf-themed rooms and a very friendly staff. The free breakfast is light but all you need, and some food is available all day ( they put fresh-baked cookies out in the afternoon). The rooms are stocked with fresh fruit and free water in the fridge. They also provide beach equipment---towels, boogie boards, etc.) and we make good use of that. the location is just right, a block off the ocean beach and only a half-block from the bay. The Newport Pier commercial area is A short walk away. Welike to go and watch the surfers at the Pier in the morning, and have often seen dolphins out beyond the surfers as well.
And then there's the roof terrace, a great place to sit in the early evening.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We love our repeat guests and look forward to the next time we can extend our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a fantastic find!! I was a little nervous about the Bay Shore hotel as we typically stay in 4-5 star hotels but our time at Bay Shores was fabulous. It is very California cool with fantastic ocean/Cali decor. There is a free breakfast every morning and the staff is fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and thank you for taking a chance on us! Love to have you back one day - we'll be here ready to offer you a terrific boutique hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic staycation with my 3 little ones. This really exceeded my expectations! The location was perfect. The staff did everything to make us feel comfortable and feel welcome.They have all the beach equipment so we didn't need to drag anything with us.The continental breakfast was not the average they have hot sandwiches, fresh fruit, croissants, yogurt, hot and cold cereal and more.The fresh cookies every afternoon is also a sweet touch along with a wide celection of movies was a great way to relax after a long day at the beach.This was by far the best hotel stay we've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaOrtega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I am so glad that you and your young family had a 'fantastic stayation'; we love hosting our local visitors as well as those from further afield. Sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities from beach toys to movies - it makes me very pleased to know that the things we have on hand are the items that our guests enjoy. Come stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The greeting was professional and friendly. I left pleased to have stayed there.

This is an older building, but don’t let that scare you away. It is highly maintained and clean. The location is only one block from the ocean and one block from the bay. The patio on top of the building gives a great view of both. Thankfully it is located just a bit past the noisier areas of town. There is no nickel and diming here. Beach towels and beach toys are ready for you to use. The newspaper is placed in from of your door each morning. If you need to wash something, they provide the soap. Breakfast had a nice variety of the things you would expect. This is a class operation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you the review and for commenting on our value and customer service. Glad you enjoyed our little extras - we're always happy to receive suggestions on other services we might provide so if you have ideas, please send them along. Next time you're ready to take a break from the Lone Star State, we'll be here ready to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

we stayed two nights at this throw back in time. it may not be much to look at on the outside, but the quality of service and accommodation take a back seat to no place. from the moment we walked in and were greeted by warren and another gentleman, we were treated like long lost kin. the entire staff was warm, efficient and made our stay one to remember.
the 3 p.m. cookies didn't hurt either, nor did the rooftop deck.
one small admonition, if you have a room on balboa blvd, don't try to sleep with the window open. between the cars and the drunks across the street, it was very loud. much better to close the windows and turn on the air

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Glad we could make your stay one to remember and that you had the chance to enjoy our rooftop deck and fresh baked cookies. Sorry you had some disturbance from across the street; some things we just can't control :( On behalf of the staff and myself, thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Right from the minute you walk in the door you are made to feel right at home. It's no wonder this little gem has won some great awards. The rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated. It's an easy walk to the town center and only 75 steps to the beach. The best part is all the extras. Free to guest are boogie boards, bikes, all sorts of beach toys, towels you name it they'll have it. Breakfast is great too and the cookies at 3 are a nice touch. The staff are great too. Warren even sent us a thank you note for staying. Now that's what I call service.

Room Tip: If booking well in advance ask for a room at the back of the hotel the main street is always busy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
We're very proud of our "little gem" and we're glad we were able to make you feel right at home. Great customer service is our stock in trade so thank you letting potential customers know about your wonderful experience. Hope you come back down the Pacific Coast to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
4.8 km away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
4.3 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
7.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
8.2 km away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing