We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn Marin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed for five nights during the Bioneers Conference in mid-October. The staff was very friendly and even offered to drive me to restaurants around the area when requested. The place is very clean and I experienced no big hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Chirapon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    81
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
64
71
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
857 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Rooms in a row, with cars parked in front. An old fashioned roadside motel with rooms in an asphalt lake. Really can't open your shades or windows as people are walking to their rooms, or parking their cars, right in front of your room. Inadequate lighting in the rooms, very low voltage bulbs, and our ceiling light did not work. Very small bathroom. We had a suite. The entrance door led into the sleeping quarters rather than the sitting room. Breakfast is humble, so much so that we skipped it and ate elsewhere. At breakfast they had no eggs, ran out of pancake mix, and had inadequate space to sit down, refusing to open the adjacent restaurant room that had plenty of tables.

At the wedding we attended that was held there, though food was good, and lawn setting was wonderful, they ran out of food before two entire tables were served. Waitstaff was non- existent. Water was never refilled. Set up for the event was way behind promised schedule.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
While we always strive to exceed client expectations, it is unfortunate that this occasion of misunderstanding did not allow us to respond to a guest directly.

There are many points in this guest’s review that are inaccurate and do not give a completely true picture of the Inn Marin.

Our guest rooms do not have ceiling lights and we can only guess this guest must have thought the A/C unit motion sensor was the ceiling light. As a boutique Inn built in the 50’s we have spent over $6 million in renovations to update our property. It is unfortunate this guest missed the charm of the Mission style architecture and décor. Additionally, we do not offer pancakes in our continental breakfast, however we do have waffles which are replenished with waffle mix whenever it gets low and we also serve hard boiled eggs. It is surprising this guest did not feel welcome to use our additional seating as it is always available for guest use and our staff would never refuse a request to sit in this area.

The wedding buffet never ran out of food but only had periods of brief delay while items were replenished. At the end of dinner, when the buffet was broken down, my Director of Catering personally oversaw the removal of the buffet items and there was a substantial amount of food left over and no one went without eating.

There are many reasons why at any given point during a wedding a timeline may be altered. To the best of my knowledge the poster of this review was not a decision maker at the wedding. The response we received from the bride and groom as well as many guests was overflowing joy and appreciation for a wonderful event.

If clarification of any detail is needed, please feel free to contact the Inn Marin hotel directly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I were traveling from Marin to Lake Tahoe and needed a place to stop over for the night after a long day of mountain biking near Fairfax. We found Inn Marine online and it looked great from the photos. When we called, they had two rooms available. Great! We said we'd take one. What they failed to tell us before we arrived was that there was a wedding with 200+ guests going on outside our bedroom in the courtyard. The reception was 10 feet from our bedroom window. Fair enough. They were just giving toasts over the microphone when got into our room. We can handle this, we thought. But then the music started. Bad DJ wedding music at that. Our windows were rattling from the bass of "Can't touch this" and "Living on a prayer." After an hour of being in the room, we realized the wedding probably wouldn't be over until 10:30pm. It was 8:00pm. We wanted to go to sleep, so we decided to pack up, check out and get our money back. When I stepped inside to the checkout desk, the wedding was already starting to pour over into the lobby. The clerk had his hands full and was on the phone with a manager named Wendy. Wendy told the clerk that we would be charged $50 for a half day stay. Unbelievable. We were there for an hour and they lied by not telling us the truth that a wedding was in the works before we got there. This a matter of principal. They should have said, "You know, you're right. We're really sorry about that. And sorry about the noise. Here's you refund. We do hope you'll consider staying with us on your next visit." Learn some customer service. I'm sure this place is a nice place to stay when Tone Loc and Bobby Brown aren't blasting through your window. Make sure you ask if there is an event taking place before you check in. Otherwise, they may lie by not telling you, and then try to charge you $50 when you decide to check out because of the noise.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the courtyard if there is an event (wedding) during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed two nights for a a wedding, overall experience was pretty good, clean rooms, with all the perks, friendly staff and very handy as you park your car in front of the room for free, I liked that !
The breakfast was OK, nothing spectacular, toast bagels, muffins, coffee juice, frijoles (beans) and waffles.
I would definitely go back if I could ! the town is such a beauty, and the golf even better !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranGalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We wanted to stay outside of San Francisco, but the first few places were solidly booked. We were referred here by one of the hotels. Avery was the front desk receptionist to whom we spoke prior to arriving. She was WONDERFUL! She helped us get the best rate (AAA) and told us about restaurants in the area, wineries in Sonoma/Napa, etc.
The room looks exactly as pictured on their website. We were unaware until our arrival that the hotel had recently renovated and are very eco-friendly. (The bathroom light turned on by itself, etc.) Beds were comfortable, shampoo/soap was great, coffee pot in room and available at lobby (as well as tea and hot chocolate), landscaping was nice, pool looked really nice (didn't have time to swim). The continental breakfast was included and was great--make your own belgian waffles, whole fruits, bread/muffins/bagels, oatmeal, cold cereal, hard-boiled eggs, juice milk, coffee, tea.
For dinner we could have eaten at their restaurant but we wanted to try the Mexican place around the corner (Maya Palenque) that was also suggested to us--it was excellent as well! Cancun Chicken was excellent!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed similar, but we were in the rear building furthest from the highway--not sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InternetBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solvang, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at the Inn Marin for the first time in early August, 2011 while traveling about in the Bay area looking at colleges. I found the Inn Marin online and based on a lot of positive reviews we stayed there. I want to confirm those great reviews by writing one myself.
The Inn Marin is a true GEM of an OASIS in Novata, CA. It is a charming, relaxing, boutique, Eco/Green Inn that makes you feel right at home. The room was very comfortable, and the bamboo floors made it extra special with a modern touch. We booked a King Suite so our daughter could have her own space. It was perfect and very roomy. The rain shower head was nice, the TV's brand new plasma screens, and all the in-room amenities were enjoyed.
The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. Loads of flowers! Swings from the trees - comfy enough to snuggle in and read a good book. They provide a gas grill which you can borrow and simply wheel to your patio to grill your own dinner. Otherwise, be sure and check out the Inn's restaurant, Rickey's. It was FABULOUS! The bar area is a lot of fun, inside, or pool-side. The Mai Tai was the best I've ever had --- better than any consumed in Hawaii. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the fountains on the properties grounds add a soothing touch. The Jacuzzi and pool were spotlessly clean and ideal temperatures. The website depicts this Inn honestly as far as the rooms are concerned, but the grounds are prettier in person. If you are in the area, the Inn Marin is a great location; far enough out of the big city, but close enough, and only about 30 minutes to nearby Sonoma/Napa wine country. A win-win!
One recommendation; call the Inn personally to make your reservation and ask for a room toward the back of the property. It is close to the freeway, but once on the property, and especially near the garden or the back of the property, you feel as if you are in your own world.
We can't wait to return, and this time for more than one night!

Room Tip: Call the Inn to make a reservation, ask for back or central area on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUVSYVCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My partner has a dog, and even though it is a service animal, we like to be considerate and stay where dogs or pets are welcome. Inn Marin bills itself as that, and insofar as that went, it was satisfactory, almost. We asked for a room with grass right outside, and that is what we got. We were staying for two nights. The first night was fine. I had to go see my daughter, so my partner had dinner with a friend at the on-premises restaurant. It was good, the drinks were good, and the service was ok.

Next day, it all fell apart. The next day was Sunday and just before 8 a.m RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR DOOR we heard loud voices and then the start of construction, breaking up the concrete walkway.

The hotel was not full, and there was no reason to suspect it would be more full the next day (Monday) when they could have done the work, perhaps starting a bit later in the day, without disturbing us.

If that were not enough, they blocked off the concrete path (where there was no construction) which prevented our taking the dog directly to the grass, negating the value of our room.

We did complain to the manager, but basically got lip service, telling us they were sorry and would make sure the workers stopped and removed the tape blocking the path. They did that, but it ruined our ability to have slept in that Sunday morning.

It is incomprehensible WHY any hotel manager with any brains at all would authorize such a loud and disruptive construction project on a Sunday morning before 8 a.m.

We then went to eat their "continental breakfast." I have had, no exaggeration, better breakfasts at Super 8 motels. The juice was tasteless, the fruit bottom of the barrel. You could make your own waffle so long as you didn't mind cold syrup. The coffee was ok.

Story not over. That night all three of us (my partner, our friend, and I) ate in the hotel's restaurant. It was much busier than the previous night and the service was atrocious. At one point, the couple who came in after us and was seated two tables away started to actually stand and wave their hands in order to attract a server. Believe it or not, it didn't happen and they just walked out. No one said anything to them on their way out either.

Our service was not much better. My partner ordered a second cocktail and it never ever arrived. My partner said it was as though they brought in a completely different (and inept) crew compared with the previous night. The service was extraordinarily slow. It was fortunate we were in no hurry, but we would never eat there again, given a choice.

The room was not very clean. There was part of a left over soap bar in the shower soap holder. The shelf above the sink had not been cleaned in quite a while. The bed was just ok. I would not have wanted to spend another night there.

The only thing I can say about the place was that the price was right. We got a good Internet discount by booking directly on their website, and got a weekend rate (about $100 a night plus $25 pet charge). Their posted "discount" rate for the same room DURING THE WEEK was $125 (plus pet charge), So, that was really one of the only two good points about the place.

There are a LOT of nice places to stay in the area. I would advise anyone, even people with pets, to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want the best room, ask for a corner unit. All one floor, so a corner unit will only have noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
1.3 km away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
7.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
15.4 km away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
7.3 km away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Property: Inn Marin
Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing