We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn Marin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn Marin
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
GreenLeadersSilver level
vacaville, ca
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Noisey, paper thin walls. At check in the clerk seemed to not pay attention to a single word I said. When checking out, i was asked how my stay was. I stated not very good, refrigerator in room would make loud popping noises when running, mentioned I could hear the guest next door coughing. She had no response. As I walked away she said she would have the frig checked. Bed linen had holes in it, this from an expensive motel. My advice, stay away!

Room Tip: My tip is, DO NOT stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGM_11, Owner at Inn Marin, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. As a family owned business, we strive hard to exceed client expectations. We sincerely apologize that your experience was less than what we would have hoped it to be. Your comments to the Front Desk were noted in our guest concern log and we had maintenance check the refrigerator to find it turned up to its highest level which is why it ran all night. By adjusting it back, the condenser shut right off.

It’s unfortunate that the guest in the room next to you was ill. It is possible your window or skylight was open. Our building is constructed of slump stone and the walls are 6 inches thick. In 2008 when we renovated we covered all the walls with sheet rock, making the walls an additional 1 ¼” inches think and increasing the sound deadening factor. I truly apologize for the disturbance.

I have met with my Front Desk staff to review their handling of guest concerns to make sure they are very attentive and responsive to our guests.
Thank you for your comments, so we are able to better our service for other guests.

Owner
Inn Marin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    81
    31
    10
    19
See reviews for
64
71
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

The organic shampoo and conditioner in the shower turned my hair into pure silk. This little treat is one example of the tiny comforts that adorn this place. The location was easy to find which is important for clueless out of Towners. The grounds were quite inviting. They have the most comfortable hammock chairs in the courtyard that provided a relaxing place to sit, read and enjoy the perfect weather. The low point was the resturant. The resturant located on the premise wasn't fabulous. The service was slow and the food was mediocre.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackjack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent two days and nights here in a jacuzi suite in late March. After a long day's drive, the Inn and its staff was welcoming on our arrival about 10:30 p.m. As we are drove in and opened the car door, we could smell jasmine. A great start.

The facility is single floor spread out over 3 buildings. The inn is sort of an endearing old style with iron casement windows and room doors that open onto cover walkways and, for most, onto a well-landscaped central common area. Our suite was set far in the back and quiet. The room had been tastefuly updated with bamboo floors, quality bed and linens, and a designer feel for pieces and parts. The jacuzi tub was in the bedroom, with a standard shower/toilet/sink in a separate room. The front area contained a nice sitting area.

A decent continental breakfast at adjoining Rickey's (dinner restaurant) is set out for guests and was sufficient for its guests heading out to see the sites. We didn't get far. While the Inn probably once stood alone, it is now surrounded by residential housing which remained calm and quiet. There are several nearby lunch and dinner offerings within a few blocks and entry/exit from the freeway is quick and easy. If I find myself heading this way, this would be on my list.

For gathering of friends or family, I would expect this location to be special and if you get the kind of care we did, you'd look forward to being there.

Room Tip: If you have any special requests, just let them know. Our back of the lot room was quiet and free of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

... but this hotel was perfect for us. Even though it is just off the highway, the tree-covered hill next to it blocks the noise and all the green space/courtyard gives the place such a restful feel. We slept so well! This has the ease of a motel (free parking) and the room of a suite (we stayed in a suite but the other rooms were large and furnished) with the amenities of a luxury hotel. I'm not exaggerating.
If you stay here, you definitely want to eat at Rickey's. This is a classy restaurant with a very friendly bar and unbelievable food! We at there twice and would have come back if we hadn't left the area.
We don't have pets and were concerned about it being "pet friendly," but our room was spotless. This is American- and family-owned and they take pride in their business.

Room Tip: Their suite isn't cheap but is so roomy, especially for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed for five nights during the Bioneers Conference in mid-October. The staff was very friendly and even offered to drive me to restaurants around the area when requested. The place is very clean and I experienced no big hassle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Chirapon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
857 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Rooms in a row, with cars parked in front. An old fashioned roadside motel with rooms in an asphalt lake. Really can't open your shades or windows as people are walking to their rooms, or parking their cars, right in front of your room. Inadequate lighting in the rooms, very low voltage bulbs, and our ceiling light did not work. Very small bathroom. We had a suite. The entrance door led into the sleeping quarters rather than the sitting room. Breakfast is humble, so much so that we skipped it and ate elsewhere. At breakfast they had no eggs, ran out of pancake mix, and had inadequate space to sit down, refusing to open the adjacent restaurant room that had plenty of tables.

At the wedding we attended that was held there, though food was good, and lawn setting was wonderful, they ran out of food before two entire tables were served. Waitstaff was non- existent. Water was never refilled. Set up for the event was way behind promised schedule.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGM_11, General Manager at Inn Marin, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
While we always strive to exceed client expectations, it is unfortunate that this occasion of misunderstanding did not allow us to respond to a guest directly.

There are many points in this guest’s review that are inaccurate and do not give a completely true picture of the Inn Marin.

Our guest rooms do not have ceiling lights and we can only guess this guest must have thought the A/C unit motion sensor was the ceiling light. As a boutique Inn built in the 50’s we have spent over $6 million in renovations to update our property. It is unfortunate this guest missed the charm of the Mission style architecture and décor. Additionally, we do not offer pancakes in our continental breakfast, however we do have waffles which are replenished with waffle mix whenever it gets low and we also serve hard boiled eggs. It is surprising this guest did not feel welcome to use our additional seating as it is always available for guest use and our staff would never refuse a request to sit in this area.

The wedding buffet never ran out of food but only had periods of brief delay while items were replenished. At the end of dinner, when the buffet was broken down, my Director of Catering personally oversaw the removal of the buffet items and there was a substantial amount of food left over and no one went without eating.

There are many reasons why at any given point during a wedding a timeline may be altered. To the best of my knowledge the poster of this review was not a decision maker at the wedding. The response we received from the bride and groom as well as many guests was overflowing joy and appreciation for a wonderful event.

If clarification of any detail is needed, please feel free to contact the Inn Marin hotel directly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

My wife and I were traveling from Marin to Lake Tahoe and needed a place to stop over for the night after a long day of mountain biking near Fairfax. We found Inn Marine online and it looked great from the photos. When we called, they had two rooms available. Great! We said we'd take one. What they failed to tell us before we arrived was that there was a wedding with 200+ guests going on outside our bedroom in the courtyard. The reception was 10 feet from our bedroom window. Fair enough. They were just giving toasts over the microphone when got into our room. We can handle this, we thought. But then the music started. Bad DJ wedding music at that. Our windows were rattling from the bass of "Can't touch this" and "Living on a prayer." After an hour of being in the room, we realized the wedding probably wouldn't be over until 10:30pm. It was 8:00pm. We wanted to go to sleep, so we decided to pack up, check out and get our money back. When I stepped inside to the checkout desk, the wedding was already starting to pour over into the lobby. The clerk had his hands full and was on the phone with a manager named Wendy. Wendy told the clerk that we would be charged $50 for a half day stay. Unbelievable. We were there for an hour and they lied by not telling us the truth that a wedding was in the works before we got there. This a matter of principal. They should have said, "You know, you're right. We're really sorry about that. And sorry about the noise. Here's you refund. We do hope you'll consider staying with us on your next visit." Learn some customer service. I'm sure this place is a nice place to stay when Tone Loc and Bobby Brown aren't blasting through your window. Make sure you ask if there is an event taking place before you check in. Otherwise, they may lie by not telling you, and then try to charge you $50 when you decide to check out because of the noise.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere near the courtyard if there is an event (wedding) during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JustinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novato
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
1.3 km away
Courtyard Novato Marin/Sonoma
7.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
15.4 km away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
7.3 km away
Days Inn Novato/San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Marin

Property: Inn Marin
Address: 250 Entrada Dr, Novato, CA 94949-5574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Novato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Novato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Marin 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We care about the comfort of our guests and the environment! Newly designed rooms include state of the art amenities and sustainable materials that make us cutting edge . . . Sustainable bamboo flooring, flat screen TVs in every room, . We have Wifi in our guests rooms of 50+Mbps and 85Mbps wired in all our guest rooms for free. "FREE NO CHARGE" We have also installed Voice over IP allowing us to offer "FREE" phone calls in the continental United States, rainfall showerheads, radios with MP3/I-Pod dock, refrigerators in every room. Garden room - 1200 sq. ft. Garden Patio with beautiful fountain, Inn Marin has 423 Mbps up and down (symmetrical) in its Meeting room and Business Center. Five acre garden setting with large lawn perfect for weddings and company events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Marin Hotel Novato
Marin Hotel Novato
Inn Marin Novato, Marin County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing