We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Lovely situated BW near Yosemite. We enjoyed the quiet and the balcony. Perfect for those of us that travel with a dog. Found a great BBQ place across street and down about a block.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dashLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Chose BW Yosemite Gateway as our pitstop between Sequoia NP and Yosemite. This was different from other BW we have stayed at on our trip,as it has very individual decor. It seems the hotel is completely decorated by artworks, there was even a mural in our kids' bedroom in our family unit. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean and comfortable. Our room was right at the back of the large grounds, so very quiet. The wifi was useless.. We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was pretty good. The so called continental breakfast (off a menu) was huge. It was way more than continental, we had eggs, bacon, pancakes, toast and fruit! The staff were lovely, both at the restaurant and in. Reception. We didn't get a chance to use the other facilities, but would stay here again if we get back to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We, and another familty, stayed with our two kids (7 & 10) and found the hotel to be a pleasant surprise. We had hoped to go cross country skiing in Yosemite but opted for a hike instead since there was no snow. I was a little concerned that the kids would be disappointed with the trip since they couldn't play in the snow, however, they all had a blast in the indoor pool and jacuzzi. The staff was friendly and helpful. It's not your typical hotel, with hand painted murals from an overachieving artist in every room! Well, at least the two we saw. The rooms are quite large with a table we used for playing cards and desk for checking email.

We had a hearty breakfast in the restaurant, although, they said it was changing to continental style in 2012. It's about 40 minutes to the park's southern entrance and 1.5 hours to the valley floor. I could have paid more than double to stay in Fish Camp but there are very few amenties and you are still 40 minutes from the valley floor.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor way in the back near the indoor pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here for one night on our way to Yosemite with my two kids, my sister, and my husband. Check in was fast & the staff were friendly & helpful. We stayed in a family unit (Rm 408), and although the decour was dated, the room(s) & bathroom were very clean. We used the indoor pool & hot tub, which the kids loved, but make sure you get towels from the front desk before you go, as there are no towels in the pool area. The beds were comfortable & the view from our balcony was beautiful. I was very satified with our stay until the next morning when we tried to eat at the restaurant that is located on the property. We waited for 15 minutes for someone to acknowledge our presence even though it wasn't busy. We told the lady there was 5 in our party & she said it would take 5-10 mins to get a table ready. We were there at 10:30am & bfast service ended at 11am. We asked the lady if they will still serve us bfast if we were seated in 10 mins. She then said it would take 15-20 mins to get seated & no they will not serve us bfast if we didn't order by 11am. Needless to say we left. We ate at Katie's Country Kitchen on the other side of the Best Western & their food & service were EXCELLENT! We were seated & served our bfast by 11:15am!

Room Tip: DO NOT eat at the restaurant located on the property!!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Yosemite Gateway Inn is a short 20 minute drive from Yosemite National Park. Our room was over-sized with microwave and fridge and a huge bathroom. The restaurant gives a 20% discount on breakfast.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny. The view is not great but the roominess is worth the tradeoff. Rea...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamjarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way to Yosemite. Our room was large and comfortable. The room was quiet with no problems with noise from other parts of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and gave us some good tips on where to eat. Our kids loved having their photos taken with the carved wooden bear and the giant wooden Statue of Liberty.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed here during the Yosemite leg of our California road trip with my husband and my visiting (engaged!) Welsh friends. We booked a two bedroom family style unit, which was great. Each couple had their own bedroom and TV with a shared bathroom in the middle. It worked out well. The beds were comfortable and the unit decent and clean. We had a balcony on our side of the unit so it was nice to step out in the warm summer night and relax.

The front desk was very helpful and friendly.

The only bad thing I can say about the place was their restaurant. Really really mediocre to bad food, unfortunately. A shame since their servers were quite nice and made an effort to make sure we had as good an experience as possible. However, nothing could make the cooking better. We gave them the "three times the charm" chance, eating there for dinner twice and breakfast once and sadly, it was regrettable each time. We really should have made the effort to go out and find a much better place to eat. I felt bad for the international tourists patronizing the place. We all should have packed up the dining room and went out to snag some barbecue or something.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giveitagonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
32.5 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
177 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
39.6 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $126 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing