We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option near Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Hotel near to the Yosemite N.P. entrance, nice option to get accommodation close to the park.

Ubicated in Oakhurst, a small town with some hotels and restaurants along the main street.

The hotel has a main building, another with a restaurant, and some different additional buildings with the rooms.

They are very spacious and clean.

Car park in front of the door of your room.

Free wifi.

Great place where I would come back again.

We arrived to Oakhurst at 8:45 PM and, in order to have dinner, our two options were Mc Donald's and Burger King. You have been warned, hahaha!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PezFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,557 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Despite a fantastic location for access to the stunningly beautiful Yosemite National Park, this hotel is in an appalling state. The rooms are brown, the bathrooms are brown, the doors are brown. The sheets were old, scratchy and grey from excessive use and combined with a filthy manky blanket lead to two nights of very patchy sleep. The towels were hard and well-past sell-by date. This all combined to doom a shabby dirty hotel. Ants in the room and bathroom! Peeling dirty sealant and general dirtiness. The noisiest fridge in world and it leaked!! A non-smoking hotel yet why did my room smell of smoke? I worked that out pretty quickly when witnessing the cleaning staff chain-smoking their way from room to room. Free breakfast was good. The lobby is quite grand in a shabby chic kind of way but scratch the surface and you quickly realise this dump is all shabby and not chic at all. Best Western Plus??? No way - this is little more than a shabby motel. Best Western Minus!!

As an aside, El Cid is a fantastic Mexican Restaurant and the doughnut shop is well worth a visit!!

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank recordrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There was nothing wrong with this hotel, there was nothing great about this hotel, however the picture paintings on the walls are worth mentioning, wether they are your thing or not, all the rooms have great big murals on the walls painted by the owner. big vistas of yosemite behind the beds, they are most definitely different and I actually liked this personal touch.
Its an acceptable hotel with good access to Yosemite and compared to others in the area well priced. Nothing remarkable but would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get one with a new tv as this seems to be the only difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Good clean room in a well maintained site. Rooms split into several areas, some with verandahs.

There are good facilities including a swimming pool and jacuzzi but I didn't have time to try these out.

Very good breakfast area, plenty of seating. Breakfast was good.

Close enough to walk into town where there are some restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Room with verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1gruesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Clean room, nice property... building looks nice.
Price is good.
Breakfast is a little to be desired though.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scho18s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We went with my inlaws and some friends . We had rooms ontop of the hill on the 2nd floor with a great view . The free breakfast was the best I have had at any hotel. there was lots of choice.The place was nice and clean. We booked the AAA rate whitch was a great value for the money.We will return .They also have a large pool we didn"t use.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I just wanted to give a shot out to the GREAT hostess we had Leigh Goodman. My husband and I would like to say Thank You again for all the help you gave us on places to go and visit, and for the lovely conversation you gave our children. They are still talking about you. I would stay here again, just to be a able to chat with you again. Hope we see you again on our next visit to your lovely town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 72Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 km away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
32.5 km away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
181 reviews
15.3 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
39.6 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $113 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing