We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best way to start our S.F. trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It was the best way to start our S.F. trip!”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We picked this Hotel for our first night of a San Francisco trip for being too close to OAK airport. Recently I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and I must admit that is partialy because I became a Priority Club member, but this Hotel is one of the best HIs we have stayed at.

Our plane landed at OAK at midnight, I called the Hotel and "TWO" minutes after, the complimentary shuttle was picking me up. Now, that is service! I learned that they have this free shuttle for destinations whithin one mile from the Hotel.
Checking in was smooth and that is something you want after a 5 hour flight. Front desk was corteous and helpful... and they even gave us some pizza delivery info in case we were hungry, we also received a complimentary bottle of water per priority club mermbership.

All the staff we meet was very professional and cared about the guests. Our room was decent clean, everything looks new, bed was comfortable as well as the pillow menu. Free internet was fast.

I was afraid that being so close to OAK airport there might be some planes noise, but that did not happen. I have read reviews about the walls being too thin, but I didn't hear a thing from the rooms next door, but I am a very heavy sleeper so I can not comment about that.
There is a Walmart nearby (is a 10-15 minute walk if you like to exercise or you can use the shuttle.) My only complaint would be that after doing some shopping at walmart I called the hotel requesting the shuttle to pick me up but it never showed up.

After check out we used the shuttle to drop-us-off to the BART station at Oakland Colisseum, where we took the train that took us to SF and by the way is a very cheap and convenient way to get there, thay have a lift and plenty of room for large suitcases.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for late night / early morning flights and for Raiders games.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J-L-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    105
    32
    9
    14
See reviews for
74
56
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I live in the central valley and whenever I stayed here twice whenever I am stay out late in Oakland or the Bay Area. The rooms are clean and modern. This is a very different Holiday Inn that we remember from the early 1990s. I was very impressed and the price is right. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. Definitely my go-to hotel when I am in Oakland.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I recently stayed in Oakland for my first RAIDERS game, and expected an OK hotel with a bunch of rowdy football fans in a bad area of town. I was pleasantly surprised when I got the complete opposite.

We arrived late to check in, arriving at 1am on Sunday morning. When we did arrive there were no more rooms with 2 king size beds available but the staff at the hotel took it upon themselves to upgrade me, my two brothers and 17 yr old nephew to a 1-bedroom king size bed suite and even had a roll away bed staged in the room.

Throughout our stay I bombarded the front desk staff with questions and requests, and EVERY QUESTION WAS ANSWERED AND EVERY REQUEST MET WITH TIMELY EFFICIENCY AND A SMILE!!! My stay was great but this made it ten times better!!

We had the Sunday morning breakfast buffet and were served by Maria, she was phenomenal!!!

I had a great experience at this hotel and look forward to returning someday soon!!

Room Tip: The front desk is so good its like having a concierge at a 5 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel to be an excellent place to stay. While it is near the Oakland Airport, airplane noise was not a problem. They have a restaurant/sports bar for lunch/dinner and offer breakfast meals.

Our room was very clean, the bed was just as comfortable as the one at home and they even offer two different pillows; soft or firm!! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Oakland/San Francisco area. We spent most of our time in San Francisco and Napa, but this was a wonderful place for a good nights' rest.

Room Tip: Hotel is just 3 minutes from the rental car drop-off. Quick and easy...no need to worry about missi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaBeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Overall good hotel experience. Be careful not to confuse this hotel with the other Holiday inn; they are within several blocks of one another. Rooms are spacious and generally clean. The decor stood out to me because it is very modern and stylish. I really enjoyed the roomy walk-in shower area. Walls are thin but that is the case with many hotels. Wi-fi is included and works very well. Rooms with microwave and refrigerator are available. No DVD Player combo on the TV so if you plan on watching movies, bring your laptop or a separate player. FREE parking in the hotel lot, which is hard to come by sometimes. There is ALOT of construction on the outside area (Hegenberger Rd) so noise may be a distraction, but it only seems they are working during the week. Housekeeping staff is very efficient and thorough. The hotel is also VERY close to the Oakland Airport (probably within about 1-2 miles) and there is a shuttle - so no excuses for missing your flight. I don't have many complaints about this place. If I had to stay in Oakland again, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Snsmith02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. I actually keep re-reading the reviews and checking to make sure I stayed in the right place, but sadly, we did stay at Holiday in at 77 Hegenberger Road.

My husband and I only needed 1 night, we were leaving on an early flight out of Oakland and this seemed like a great choice. Location wise this is close.

The location might be new but maybe they didn't clean the 2 different rooms we were in since they built this place. I was skeeved. I have traveled for years with work (although not anymore) and I can say this place needs a good cleaning. I am angry that I paid money to sleep there at all.

First, we checked in and were given the wrong room, we had paid for a 2 king room. The room we were put in was in front of an elevator next to an ice machine (loud, you don't want to be there, if you have to stay here at all). When we called the front desk they quickly moved us: Plus for them for the quick customer service, mistakes do happen. The first room was dirty though and I mentioned it to the desk and I asked her if they had any updated rooms. She informed me this was a new property. We were moved another room up the hall. We were on the 3rd floor.

There were stains on the sheets, stains on the furniture, white flaky dirt and dust build up against all of the walls, smudge marks on all of the walls and did I mention what looked like blood stains on the top sheet (and I didn't even pull the blanket off to see it so there is no way housekeeping missed this).

Walls were paper thin. I heard our neighbor talking, not loud, he was just talking, sounded like to someone on a phone. Heard every siren. I lived in NYC and it wasn't this loud in my apartment so I am someone that is used to noise.

PROS: Front desk moved us quickly. I did call for directions and they were helpful. the free shuttle to the airport was key. Cute little welcome pack.

Unfortunately not clean equals not sanitary. I took some pictures with my camera. The pictures are somewhat dim but the lighting was poor in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbuckl4, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our Hotel. I must apoligize for the condition of your room during your stay. We do pride ourselves in how we operate our Hotel although feedback from the guest is an important part of achieving award winning service. We do appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you again.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a very new Holiday Inn at the Oakland airport. It advertised being one of the first of its kind to offer two king beds and did not dissapoint. The rooms were clean and spacious. The resturant on the property was better than standard fare. We had a late arriving flight andwere headed out to the wine country the next morning, so this seemed a perfect fit.

Room Tip: As nice and new as this property is, it is very close to the Oakland Colesium, home of the Oakland R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
978 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.8 km away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
287 reviews
7.3 km away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Address: 77 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1405
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport is the Holiday Inn of the future! This newest Oakland Airport Hotel near San Francisco is just one mile from Oakland International Airport (OAK), and offers free shuttle to destinations within five miles of the hotel.In Oakland, you'll find a variety of attractions within close proximity of our hotel. We are one mile from the McAfee Coliseum-Home of the Oakland Raiders & Oakland Athletics, and Oracle Arena - Home of the Golden State Warriors, and just minutes away from Jack London Square and the Metropolitan Golf Course. Our hotel's location near San Francisco makes it easy to visit the 'City by the Bay.' Business travelers enjoy our close proximity to National Automotive, Unisys Corporation, Waste Management, FedEx, UPS, Rainin Instruments and other businesses in Oakland. Lodging in our hotel makes it easy to utilize the 24-hour business center as well as over 3,000 square feet of meeting space. With a heated, outdoor pool and a fitness center as well as an on-site convenience store and Diamonds Sports Bar & Grill, our guests receive excellent services from our new hotel in Oakland. All rooms feature triple-sheeted king beds, 32-inch flat panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and work spaces with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. For top-quality service in an ideal location, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Oakland Airport
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing