We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near OAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near OAK”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Nice prices, good breakfast and super rooms, all in close proximity to OAK. Really enjoyed this stay on Christmas night. Nice tree in the lobby and the staff was hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    207
    84
    30
    27
See reviews for
192
147
32
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Pros- Good price of $85/n plus tax, spotless hallway,room very clean, newish carpet and wall coverings, large bathroom, Strong water pressure-hence shower excellent, slept well with firm mattress and quiet room. Fast WiFi, microwave and frig in room, Heat/AC that YOU can actually control

Cons- Ugly,industrial location,Common areas not well heated, room mislabeled as a suite--it was actually a huge room with sofa alcove, older TV with analog, beat up furniture, dark low wattage lighting, free breakfast overpriced. Bring your dinner as totally isolated from food. Scary area at night.

I would stay here again to catch a flight but not look forward to it. The overnight price was great in an area of $120-160/n hotels

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This is a typical Best Western conveniently close to Oakland Interantional Airport. The location is a long block off the main drag (Hegenberger) in the middle of an industrial area. Rooms are large and very spacious. Bathroom is enormous, which is not the most convenient things one can imagine. There is an indoor pool and a well equiped exercise facility. Complementary breakfast is better than most.

Room Tip: There are a large number of hotels/motels in the immediate area that have slightly better exterior a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djsilversmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern05603, General Manager at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Mr Smith,

I am glad you enjoyed our facility, and our large and spacious room. Our location is not directly located on the busy Hegenberger road. However, I would like to note that this is the reason why you got such a good night’s sleep. We are tucked away behind Hegenberger loop creating a quite atmosphere. We are also only seconds away from the main Hegenberger road. One thing you might have missed out on is that, we offer free shuttle service whenever you want to go in a 3 mile radius. We apologize for the miscommunication, in not letting you know about this service. I hope next time you can take advantage of the expanded shuttle service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night due to a 6 a.m. flight out of Oakland. Our room was clean and relatively modern. We greatly appreciated the shuttle that picked us up after we dropped off our car at the rental car facility and also took us to the airport at 4:30 in the morning. Like another reviewer mentioned, the bathroom door, which slams shut, was kind of annoying because you couldn't leave it open, but other than that minor inconvenience, everything was great. As we left too early in the morning, we didn't get to try to the breakfast but the free wifi was nice. I would definitely stay here again if flying out of OAK.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We came in without a booking and by luck got the last room at 12 noon.. Check in was fast and friendly..parking handy to the door..Room met our expectations.Clean and nice touches.
Best was the Free shuttle to the BART to take us in to San Francisco..and a call on our return and they picked us up..

Breakfast was more than Continental..we sampled it 2 mornings.. Rooms were cleaned and tidied while we toured San Francisco. Also, was quiet..little effect from the Airport.

Everyone was friendly..driver, maids, food server, desk..

It has nice lobby too.

Room Tip: Book ahead..we were lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanashirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I suppose this a good enough hotel, it is very clean.
But there are a few things that are really irritating: First, the room lights operate automatically. So if you're laying around at night watching TV in the dark, or you happen to get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, the lights sense your movement and automatically switch on - full brightness, 1000 Watts, just like broad daylight! It's very 'awakening', to say the least.
Second thing is the bathroom fan is on automatically, 24/7. There's no way to switch it off. It's a low, rumbling noise, annoying like a water drip, all night long.
Third thing is the bathroom door automatically slams shut after opening. Just don't let go of the door and you'll be OK.
Other than that, the hotel is very convenient to OAK, which makes it almost worthwhile.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs and sleeping eye mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzyzxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestwestern05603, General Manager at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review. On behalf of the staff and myself, I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We will take the feedback that you have provided, to help implement improvements to all future guests staying at our establishment. The reason we have motion sensor lights, is to be more energy efficient. We are one of the very few hotels in the Oakland area that are Green certified. However, I can understand why this can be frustrating to you as a guest. The sensitivity setting on the motion sensor lights in your room may have needed to be re adjusted. The lighting in our rooms is not usually that sensitive to slight movement. As for the fan in your bathroom, we have resolved the noise issue by simply replacing it. Lastly our bathroom doors have a spring mechanism that is standard for most hotels. We inspected the bathroom door, and did not see anything out of the norm. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact me at the hotel directly. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Jay Patel
Best Western Plus Oakland Airport
General Manager
510-633-0500 ext 421
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England USA
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel is not far from the airport, and is tucked away near the shopping area, but near warehouses for the airport. This is not a full featured hotel, so across the main road is a few restaurants and fast food to select. Don't drop off your car to the car rental until you have eaten. You don't want to walk around from this place. Many flight crews stay here so you will get your shuttle to the airport in a timely way. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarmVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
7.2 km away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.0 km away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
933 reviews
7.1 km away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing