We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I see why the line outside was long”
Review of Bakesale Betty

Bakesale Betty
Ranked #19 of 1,437 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 15, 2018

I had a chance to try the pumpkin bread, the banana bread, and a shortbread cookie... just outstanding. Check the hours - they close early on Sat. Don't miss it!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank catmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 169 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2018

I went to Bakesale Betty the first time, by mistake. I could not imagine what people stood in line for...I mean how good can something be? After dozens of lunches on the way to auction, I still think it is a good value.

The shop fries chicken cutlets and slathers them w a coleslaw containing jalapenos - to wonderful effect. They also have home made cookies. Eat outside on an ironing board or get take away. Locals eat here.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank professorthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Don't be alarmed by the line. In fact, you can feel encouraged. There are only two options: a tofu sandwich or a chicken sandwich, and the cooks are constantly churning them out such that when you step up to the register and let the cashier know which you want, it's already ready for you (and it's extremely fresh.) I got the chicken sandwich. The bun was great, the coleslaw was great, and the chicken was amazing. It's one of the very best sandwiches of any kind I've ever had. As if the world's best chicken sandwich isn't enough, there a number of pastries, including cookies and pies.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveL313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Small restaurant, serving great chicken and sandwiches. Pastries also good. Service is friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alicegrey2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Great chicken sandwich. Fried white meat on a bun with a jalapeno coleslaw.
This is a good sandwich! Does it meet all they hype? And is it worth standing in line for. It's certainly good enough that I recommend you try it and decide for yourself.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank philboyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bakesale Betty also viewed

 

Been to Bakesale Betty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing